Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

10 Books to Celebrate During Banned Books Week

SHARE

Each fall, we celebrate the books that have been banned or challenged, and remember why it’s important to read banned books. These books have been challenged for a number of reasons, but each book has so much more to it than just the reason that it’s banned. Many banned books deal with real issues, and in this case, issues that teenagers are faced with on a daily basis. So why shy away from these topics when authors have the ability to discuss them, to enlighten readers, to help readers cope? That’s just what these 10 banned books do.

 

 

1. Looking for Alaska by John Green

Why it’s banned: Take one page of sexually explicit content, and throw in a little offensive language, and you have the most challenged book of 2015.

Why you should read it anyway: Who better to tell you than John Green himself.

 

2. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Why it’s banned: This book was banned for references to suicide, sex, drugs, and alcohol.

Why you should read it anyway: Thirteen Reasons Why not only discusses real issues that teenagers are faced with, but it has helped a great number of teenagers cope with depression.  Over the years, thousands of teenagers have expressed what this book has meant to them.

 

3. Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson

Why it’s banned: Wintergirls has been said to be like a “guide” for teens who want to starve themselves, and possibly triggering for those who have suffered.

Why you should read it anyway: The book shows how horrifying and destructive eating disorders can be, and the way anorexia and bulimia are portrayed makes it much more of a cautionary tale than a guide.

 

4. Just Listen by Sarah Dessen

Why it’s banned: This book was banned for being “too intense,” namely for content including offensive language, sex, alcohol, and eating disorders.

Why you should read it anyway: High school is intense. Dessen explores a number of the subjects that are typical in the life of a teenager.

 

5. When It Happens by Susane Colasanti

Why it’s banned: When it Happens was challenged for being overtly sexual in content.

Why you should read it anyway: One aspect of the book cannot represent the entire read, and while there is sexual content, it is at its core a lighthearted teenage romance.

 

6. Fat Kid Rules the World by K.L. Going

Why it’s banned: This book was challenged for language, sexual references, and drug use.

Why you should read it anyway: Fat Kid Rules the World is a story of music, friendship, and self-discovery.

 

7. Twisted by Laurie Halse Anderson

Why it’s banned: Twisted was banned because its content included sex, child abuse, suicide, and drug abuse.

Why you should read it anyway: The novel is gritty and real. Anderson explores identity, while confronting many of the concerns of teenagers.

 

8. Hold Still by Nina LaCour

Why it’s banned: Hold Still is about a girl coping with her friend’s suicide, and also includes language and sex.

Why you should read it anyway: LaCour deals with a heavy topic, but does so gracefully, and in a way that leaves readers feeling hopeful.

 

9. Roll of Thunder Hear My Cry by Mildred D. Taylor

Why it’s banned: This book was challenged for insensitivity, racism, and offensive language.

Why you should read it anyway: Taylor aptly portrays the struggle of a black American family in Mississippi during the Depression.

 

10. The Witches by Roald Dahl

Why it’s banned: The Witches is one of the top 25 banned children’s books of all time, for its dealing in witchcraft. It was even called “Satanic.”

Why you should read it anyway: Many of Dahl’s books were banned or challenged, while at the same time being some of the most celebrated children’s books of all time.

#WhatsTrending

Cover Reveal: FURYSONG by Rosaria Munda

The finale is coming! Furysong is the third and final book in the Fireborne Trilogy. In this explosive conclusion to the epic story that began with Fireborne, Annie and Lee are fighting for their lives—and for each other—as invading dragonfire threatens to burn their home to the ground. A new revolution is underway, and nobody will emerge unscathed. In … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: BREAK THIS HOUSE by Candice Iloh

From Printz honoree and National Book Award Finalist Candice Iloh, a prose novel about a teenager reckoning with her family’s–and her home town’s–secrets. Coming to shelves May 24, 2022! Yaminah Okar left Obsidian and the wreckage of her family years ago. She and her father have made lives for themselves in Brooklyn. She thinks she’s … Continued
See More

8 YA books to preorder for your 2022 TBR!

2022 is almost here, and we’re here to make sure you’re ready to kick off that new year TBR! Here are just a few reads to make sure you have on that list.   The Bone Spindle by Leslie Vedder Sleeping Beauty meets Indiana Jones in this thrilling fairytale retelling for fans of Sorcery of Thorns and The … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: THE EDGE OF BEING by James Brandon

The Edge of Being by James Brandon is a tender and heartfelt queer YA novel about the multiplicities of grief, deeply held family secrets, and finding new love. Isaac Griffin has always felt something was missing from his life. And for good reason: he’s never met his dad. He’d started to believe he’d never belong in this … Continued
See More

YA books to read if you absolutely believe in fate and destiny

If you are an avid believer in fate and destiny, here are 9 YA reads that will absolutely fuel your faith in both!   Flirting with Fate by J.C. Cervantes As the title may imply, this gorgeous novel will definitely have you believing in the power of fate this April, 2022! In her swoony, heartwarming … Continued
See More

Read a sneak peek of THE BONE SPINDLE by Leslie Vedder!

Sleeping Beauty meets Indiana Jones in this thrilling fairytale retelling for fans of Sorcery of Thorns and The Cruel Prince. Fi is a bookish treasure hunter with a knack for ruins and riddles, who definitely doesn’t believe in true love. Shane is a tough-as-dirt girl warrior from the north who likes cracking skulls, pretty girls, and doing things her own … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: HOW TO SURVIVE YOUR MURDER by Danielle Valentine

Cover reveal time! Scream meets Happy Death Day in How to Survive Your Murder, coming to shelves August 30, 2022! Alice Lawrence is the sole witness in her sister’s murder trial. And in the year since Claire’s death, Alice’s life has completely fallen apart. Her parents have gotten divorced, she’s moved into an apartment that smells like bologna, and she … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: The 99 Boyfriends of Micah Summers

The 99 Boyfriends of Micah Summers by Adam Sass is a charming YA rom-com perfect for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue and What If It’s Us, coming September 20th, 2022! Micah Summers runs a popular Instagram full of drawings of his numerous imaginary boyfriends (ninety-nine so far)—though he’s never had a real boyfriend before. But when a meet-cute with … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: THE DEPTHS by Nicole Lesperance

A tropical island full of secrets. Two Victorian ghosts, trapped for eternity. And a seventeen-year-old girl determined not to be next. Prepare for Nicole Lesperance’s stunning novel, The Depths, coming to shelves October 4, 2022! Eulalie Island should be a paradise, but to Addie Spencer, it’s more like a prison. Forced to tag along to the … Continued
See More

8 Winter reads (and where to read them)

Winter is the best time to be a reader–it’s the perfect excuse to stay in, get cozy, and read! Here are some of our favorite wintery picks for your TBR this season (AND the perfect places to read them in!)   About the book: You go through life thinking there’s so much you need. . … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP