Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

10 Books To Help You Hold On To Summer

SHARE

If you looked at your planner this week and had a small-scale heart attack because THE END OF SUMMER IS ALMOST IN SIGHT, it’s going to be ok. Presenting 10 glorious books with the hot romance, breezy summer vibes, and heartwarming feels necessary to give you a summer extension!

 

Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen

Step 1: Get a whole mouthwatering pizza

Step 2: Locate optimally-placed hammock

Step 3: Proceed to read until entire pizza is gone and sun has set

 

Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

1. Queue up some Edith Piaf on your iPod

2. Consume this book in one sitting

3. Non, je ne regrette rien

 

The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

1. Ask friend’s cute older sibling for a ride to the beach

3. Windows down, music up

3. Let book steal heart, steal heart of present company

 

The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen

1. Embark on journey to the nearest shore

2. Apply lots of sunscreen for prolonged exposure

3. Read until the tide comes in; then relocate to higher ground till you get to the last page

 

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

1. Pick up some warm croissants from the bakery

2. Use a postcard of the Eiffel tower as bookmark

3. Say au revoir to reality until you’ve turned the last page

 

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

1. Get your beach chair out of the garage

2. Set up in yard in view of cute next door neighbor

3. Proceed to fall in love (with book, bonus if with neighbor)

 

Just Listen by Sarah Dessen

1. Queue your expertly-curated summer playlist

2. Set up camp under a tree (palm preferably, but any will do)

3. Indulge in summer reading bliss

 

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

1. Position poster of California sunset in line of sight

2. Locate the snuggliest beach towel in the vicinity

3. Turn the first page and commence California dreaming

 

What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick

1. Prepare ice cream cone for sustenance

2. Refine one-handed reading ability

3. Achieve enlightenment by reading and eating simultaneously

 

Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen

1. Prepare extra-large pitcher of lemonade

2. Relocate to the nearest porch swing

3. Initiate endless page turning

 

Ready to hold on to summer? Start reading here! 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to debut voices such as Patrice Caldwell, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic. … Continued
See More

14 Books to Read During Mental Health Awareness Month

May is Mental Health Awareness Month and we find that books can not only help us understand or sympathize, but can often help us talk about difficult topics. Here are 15 books to read this month to help start a conversation and #endthestigma.   Turtles All the Way Down by John Green Aza is trying. She is trying … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

The 2020/2021 books you need to add to your TBR ASAP

Did you join us for Penguin Teen’s 2020/2021 preview show? Here are the books we talked about! Scroll down to read about some of our most anticipated reads!   They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman – July 21, 2020 Gossip Girl meets One of Us Is Lying with a dash of The Secret History in this slick, taut murder mystery … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of THIS COVEN WON’T BREAK

This Coven Won’t Break is hitting shelves next month! We are so excited for the thrilling sequel to These Witches Don’t Burn and are sharing an excerpt in anticipation of book 2. Scroll down to read! High school. They say it’s the best time of our lives. A time of exploration and endless possibilities. We can try … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Middle Grade Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

  What Lane? by Torrey Maldonado “STAY IN YOUR LANE.” Stephen doesn’t want to hear that–he wants to have no lane.Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak into an abandoned building, he doesn’t think it’s his lane, but he goes. Here’s … Continued
See More

9 Books That Make Great Gift Ideas For Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day is right around the corner, and we know that gift lists for moms are running rampant everywhere. But the best thing about giving books is that you give an experience, too. So we rounded up some of our favorite heartfelt, historical, and humorous books that make great gift ideas for Mother’s Day.   … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP