Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

11 Books to Read During Mental Health Awareness Month

SHARE

May is Mental Health Awareness Month and we find that books can not only help us understand or sympathize, but can often help us talk about difficult topics. Here are 11 books to add to your reading list and help start a conversation.

 

Turtles All the Way Down by John Green

Aza is trying. She is trying to be a good daughter, a good friend, a good student, and maybe even a good detective, while also living within the ever-tightening spiral of her own thoughts. Turtles All the Way Down is an intimate portrait of what it’s like to live with anxiety.

 

Daris the Great is Not Okay by Adib Khorram

Darius-the-Great-Is-Not-Okay-pb

Darius has never really fit in at home, and he’s sure things are going to be the same when he visits his grandparents in Iran. His clinical depression doesn’t exactly help matters, and trying to explain his medication to his grandparents only makes things harder. Adib Khorram’s brilliant debut is for anyone who’s ever felt not good enough—then met a friend who makes them feel so much better than okay.

 

Watch Over Me by Nina LaCour

WATCH OVER ME enhanced digital cover May 15 2020

A modern ghost story about trauma and survival, Watch Over Me is the much-anticipated new novel from the Printz Award-winning author of We Are Okay.

 

Highly Illogical Behavior by John Corey Whaley

16-year-old Solomon hasn’t left his house in three years: He’s agoraphobic. When Lisa and Clark enter his life, Solomon’s journey into love, tragedy, and the need for connection reveals the different ways in which we hide ourselves from the world.

 

How It Feels to Float  by Helena Fox

How-it-Feels-to-Float

A deeply hopeful YA novel about living with mental illness that’s perfect for fans of Girl in Pieces. This lyrical, profound contemporary novel takes an honest, mesmerizing look at the effects of grief and living with mental illness.

 

Every Body Looking by Candice Iloh

every body looking

When Ada leaves home for her freshman year at a Historically Black College, it’s the first time she’s ever been so far from her family—and the first time that she’s been able to make her own choices and to seek her place in this new world. As she stumbles deeper into the world of dance and explores her sexuality, she also begins to wrestle with her past—her mother’s struggle with addiction, her Nigerian father’s attempts to make a home for her. Ultimately, Ada discovers she needs to brush off the destiny others have chosen for her and claim full ownership of her body and her future.

 

 

Verona Comics by Jennifer Dugan

Verona-Comics-cover

“A deep dive into first love while learning to manage significant mental health challenges.” —School Library Journal

They meet one fateful night at a comic convention prom, and the two can’t help falling for each other. As Ridley’s anxiety spirals, Jubilee tries to help but finds her focus torn between her fast-approaching audition and their intensifying relationship. What if love can’t conquer all? What if each of them needs more than the other can give?

 

 

Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson

Lia is a high school senior who has struggled with an eating disorder for years, and her painful path to recovery hinges on her desperate attempt to hold on to the most important thing of all: hope.

 

The Valley and the Flood by Rebecca Mahoney

The-Valley-and-the-Flood

 

Flyy Girls #2 – Micah: The Good Girl by Ashley Woodfolk

Micah---Flyy-Girls-COVER

Micah Dupree had always liked being the “good girl.” She was happy painting, going to church, and acing her school projects. After all, she had a perfect older brother to live up to. But when he unexpectedly dies, Micah’s world is turned upside-down. With her anxiety growing, a serious boyfriend in the picture, and new feelings emerging, Micah begins to question what being the “good girl” really means…and if it’s worth it, anyway.

 

 

The Fall of Innocence by Jenny Torres Sanchez

9781524737757_fallinnocence_HC_JK.indd

The Lovely Bones meets Celeste Ng for teens in this gorgeous, haunting, and tragic novel that examines the crippling–and far-reaching–effects of one person’s trauma on her family, her community, and herself.

 

 

 

Check out every book hitting shelves in May here!

#ShelfGoals

8 YA books that will have you feeling sporty

If this cold weather is keeping you inside and tucked under blankets, here are 8 books that will have you feelings sporty without ever leaving the house!   If you love competition… Game On edited by Laura Silverman A charming and inclusive YA anthology all about games—from athletic sports to board games to virtual reality—from editor … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of AFRICAN TOWN

Chronicling the story of the last Africans brought illegally to America in 1860, African Town is a powerful and stunning novel-in-verse, coming January 4, 2022. Scroll down to read an excerpt! KOSSOLA Our Story Be still, my children. Listen with your ears and your heart. Our story starts with this mark on my right cheek, these chipped … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: BOTH SIDES NOW by Peyton Thomas

Both Sides Now by Peyton Thomas is a witty and warm-hearted novel about a trans teen finding his place in the world perfect for fans of Red, White and Royal Blue. There’s only one thing standing between Finch Kelly and a full-blown case of high school senioritis: the National Speech & Debate Tournament. Taking home the gold … Continued
See More

Not-to-be-missed YA reads this winter!

Keep warm this winter with these not-to-be-missed YA reads coming to shelves!   Akata Woman by Nnedi Okorafor – January 18 The electrifying third book in the series that started with Akata Witch, named one of Time magazine’s “100 Best Fantasy Books of All Time” and “100 Best YA Books of All Time,” from award-winning author Nnedi Okorafor. … Continued
See More

Start reading THE RIGHTEOUS by Renée Ahdieh

The Righteous, the third installment to Renée Ahdieh’s The Beautiful Quartet, is on shelves now! Waiting on your copy? We got you. Scroll down for a sneak peek and start reading! In this latest installment of The New York Times bestselling series that began with The Beautiful, Pippa journeys to the treacherous and beguiling world of the fey in search … Continued
See More

Boxed Sets to Binge Read

If you’re officially looking for your next series to get sucked into over the holidays, we got you. We’ve rounded up a wish list of our fav boxed sets!   The Ruta Sepetys Collection Discover #1 New York Times bestselling author Ruta Sepetys from the beginning. Featuring beautiful new cover art, this collection includes paperback editions of her … Continued
See More

7 Magical YA Fairytale Retellings

Relive some of your favorite fairytales and legends with these 7 magical YA retellings!   About the book: Eighteen-year-old Xifeng is beautiful. The stars say she is destined for greatness, that she is meant to be Empress of Feng Lu. But only if she embraces the darkness within her. Growing up as a peasant in … Continued
See More

8 YA books about friendship

Books are friends, and we love that. But we also love books about friends. So, if you’re always looking for the next book that’s really going to make you think, here are 6 YA reads that explore all sorts of complex friendships for your shelf!   The Falling Girls by Hayley Krischer Think Heathers complicated. This intoxicating thriller about … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of WINTERKEEP by Kristin Cashore!

Winterkeep is the newest installment in Kristin Cashore’s bestselling Graceling Realm series, now in paperback! And whether you’ve read Graceling five times over, or are just hearing about it now, never fear: each Graceling novel can be read as a stand alone, and we’re here to help you get started on this epic fantasy series with … Continued
See More

Vampire books to sink your teeth into!

Halloween may be over, but here at Penguin Teen, we can’t resist a paranormal romance featuring our favorite fanged characters year round. So, here are 6 vampire books to sink your teeth into!   The story that kicked off the international #1 bestselling Vampire Academy series. St. Vladimir’s Academy isn’t just any boarding school—it’s a hidden place … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP