Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

9 Books To Read While You Wait for the New John Green Book

SHARE

If you’re reading this then you may have recently been stunned with excitement to hear that John Green has announced his long-awaited next novel, Turtles All the Way Down, which hits shelves on October 10th (yes, THIS October 10th).  We know you’re looking for some books to tide you over until then, and assuming you’ve already read the rest of John Green’s impressive oeuvre (if not, what are you doing), here are 10 books to enjoy in the meantime!

 

This Star Won’t Go Out by Esther Earl, Lori Earl, & Wayne Earl

If you know the inspiration behind The Fault in Our Stars then you likely know of the powerful and emotional story of Esther Grace Earl.  This is her life, told through a collection of her journals, fiction, letters, and sketches.  Though she died tragically at age 16 her legacy lives on, not only through the nonprofit organization her parents formed in her memory, but also through her impact on Vlogbrothers, her personal internet following, and Nerdfighters everywhere.

 

Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index by Julie Israel

          

Juniper Lemon records her happiness on index cards, but when one card goes missing (the one with her deepest darkest secret written on it) her search will take her on a deeper hunt for answers, especially when she finds a secret letter from her recently deceased sister addressed to a mysterious “you”. Determined to return the letter, Juni embarks on a journey that may take her to places she never expected. If you love the mystery and friendships from Paper Towns, this is the perfect book for you!

 

Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan

John Green is also part of the iconic literary duo (with David Levithan) behind this much-loved story.  Two boys named Will Grayson unexpectedly find each other on a blustery Chicago night, and they couldn’t be more different. But perhaps with a little help from one another they might find themselves going in very new and unexpected directions.  Plus, it ends in a musical.  What more could you want!?

 

Kids of Appetite by David Arnold

Told in beautiful prose that will stick with you, this beautiful tale of forgiveness and friendship follows Vic and Mad, two kids feeling forgotten by the world. Mad has run away from an abusive home, while Vic tries to deal with his father’s death from cancer and his own affliction with Moebius Syndrome which leaves his face paralyzed. Half mystery, half coming-of-age novel, this is a book you won’t soon forget.

 

You in Five Acts by Una LaMarche

Five friends at a performing arts school in New York City have the same dream of stardom and feel the same pressure of second-semester senior year.  Realizing their time together is growing short, they scramble to make realities of their romantic aspirations while reminiscing on their friendship before absolute tragedy strikes, changing everything forever.

 

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

This is another book you’ll be quoting before you even finish, told over the course of three days, at a bleak north eastern college campus abandoned for winter break. Marin’s story is one of tragedy and grief – and is also one she’d like very much to forget.  But when her friend comes to visit, Marin can no longer ignore her old life and must confront the loneliness she has been holding in for so long.

 

And We’re Off by Dana Schwartz

Seventeen-year-old Nora Holmes has been an artist for as long as she can remember.  She inherited the skill from her grandfather, who offers Nora the chance of a lifetime: an all-expenses paid summer trip to Europe to see and create beautiful art.  Her mother Alice seems less than thrilled, and when she decides last minute to join Nora on her trip, Nora’s dreams of a perfect summer abroad are shattered. Perfect for fans of Gilmore Girls and all things fandom, this is the best summer road trip book since An Abundance of Katherines!

 

The Careful Undressing of Love by Corey Ann Haydu

History since 2001 has unfolded a little differently in this Brooklyn neighborhood, where a group of girls from Devonairre Street dominate the scene with their strange customs and unique styles. They are Lorna-Isla-Delilah-Charlotte-Cruz. They wear their hair long and keys around their necks, and people say that any boy they love is certain to die.  When such a fate rolls around to the beloved Jack, the curse suddenly is more real to the the girls than ever before, and their futures start to look grim as they deal with love and grief and the intersection of both.

 

Let It Snow by John Green, Lauren Myracle, and Maureen Johnson

Another literary collaboration to be reckoned with, Let It Snow can be enjoyed even if there is not a single sign of winter outside your window.  A Christmas Eve storm makes for a cold and wet hike from a snow-stuck train through the middle of nowhere, a trip to a Waffle House filled with stranded cheerleaders, and teacup pig-related tension between friends, among other things.  Romance and hilarity ensue.

 

Check out everything we know about Turtles All the Way Down so far, and pre-order your copy here!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

17 Mystery Books That Will Keep You Guessing

There’s nothing like the adrenaline rush of reading a mystery book, and we’re here to tell you about 17 that will absolutely stump you. Read on for our list of favorite YA mysteries that are ANYTHING but elementary, my dear Watson.   People Like Us by Dana Mele Clue you’ll love it: At Bates Academy, … Continued
See More

7 Alternate Histories to Answer Your Biggest “What If’s…”

Historical fiction is great, but sometimes you need your history with a twist. What if one thing had changed about your favorite historical time period? We’ve rounded up 7 reads that answer some of our favorite “what if’s”.   What if America had lost the Revolutionary War? The Inventor’s Secret by Andrea Roberton (Cremer) After years … Continued
See More

9 Books That Make Great Gift Ideas For Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day is right around the corner, and we know that gift lists for moms are running rampant everywhere. But the best thing about giving books is that you give an experience, too. So we rounded up some of our favorite heartfelt, historical, and humorous books that make great gift ideas for Mother’s Day.   … Continued
See More

Boxsets You Need to Binge

If you’re stuck at home and are officially looking for your next series to binge read, we got you. We’ve rounded up a wish list of our fav bingey boxsets!   John Green: The Complete Collection Box Set Honestly, have tissues on hand. This collection includes paperback editions of Looking for Alaska, An Abundance of Katherines, Paper Towns, … Continued
See More

4 O.G. YA Romances That Must Be Remembered

For many of us book nerds, YA romances were what helped us start to learn what love is. (The PINING. Oh, that unforgettable PINING. 💔) If you’re looking for some romances to cozy up with indoors right now, then we’re here to remind you of some of the ORIGINAL YA romances that some of us … Continued
See More

14 Books to Read During Mental Health Awareness Month

May is Mental Health Awareness Month and we find that books can not only help us understand or sympathize, but can often help us talk about difficult topics. Here are 15 books to read this month to help start a conversation and #endthestigma.   Turtles All the Way Down by John Green Aza is trying. She is trying … Continued
See More

Dancing at the Pity Party: Sneak Peek!

Dancing at the Pity Party by Tyler Feder is part poignant cancer memoir and part humorous reflection on a motherless life. From before her mother’s first oncology appointment through the stages of her cancer to the funeral, sitting shiva, and afterward, when she must try to make sense of her life as a motherless daughter, Tyler … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of THIS COVEN WON’T BREAK

This Coven Won’t Break is hitting shelves next month! We are so excited for the thrilling sequel to These Witches Don’t Burn and are sharing an excerpt in anticipation of book 2. Scroll down to read! High school. They say it’s the best time of our lives. A time of exploration and endless possibilities. We can try … Continued
See More

10 Love Stories Gone Wrong

We all love a good love story…but not all love stories necessarily have smooth courses (or happy endings). Come to think of it, a lot of love stories have a few bumps (or 200) along the way. Here are 10 love stories that don’t go quite as you’d expect!   The Love that Split the World by … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP