Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

9 Books To Read While You Wait for the New John Green Book

SHARE

If you’re reading this then you may have recently been stunned with excitement to hear that John Green has announced his long-awaited next novel, Turtles All the Way Down, which hits shelves on October 10th (yes, THIS October 10th).  We know you’re looking for some books to tide you over until then, and assuming you’ve already read the rest of John Green’s impressive oeuvre (if not, what are you doing), here are 10 books to enjoy in the meantime!

 

This Star Won’t Go Out by Esther Earl, Lori Earl, & Wayne Earl

If you know the inspiration behind The Fault in Our Stars then you likely know of the powerful and emotional story of Esther Grace Earl.  This is her life, told through a collection of her journals, fiction, letters, and sketches.  Though she died tragically at age 16 her legacy lives on, not only through the nonprofit organization her parents formed in her memory, but also through her impact on Vlogbrothers, her personal internet following, and Nerdfighters everywhere.

 

Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index by Julie Israel

          

Juniper Lemon records her happiness on index cards, but when one card goes missing (the one with her deepest darkest secret written on it) her search will take her on a deeper hunt for answers, especially when she finds a secret letter from her recently deceased sister addressed to a mysterious “you”. Determined to return the letter, Juni embarks on a journey that may take her to places she never expected. If you love the mystery and friendships from Paper Towns, this is the perfect book for you!

 

Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan

John Green is also part of the iconic literary duo (with David Levithan) behind this much-loved story.  Two boys named Will Grayson unexpectedly find each other on a blustery Chicago night, and they couldn’t be more different. But perhaps with a little help from one another they might find themselves going in very new and unexpected directions.  Plus, it ends in a musical.  What more could you want!?

 

Kids of Appetite by David Arnold

Told in beautiful prose that will stick with you, this beautiful tale of forgiveness and friendship follows Vic and Mad, two kids feeling forgotten by the world. Mad has run away from an abusive home, while Vic tries to deal with his father’s death from cancer and his own affliction with Moebius Syndrome which leaves his face paralyzed. Half mystery, half coming-of-age novel, this is a book you won’t soon forget.

 

You in Five Acts by Una LaMarche

Five friends at a performing arts school in New York City have the same dream of stardom and feel the same pressure of second-semester senior year.  Realizing their time together is growing short, they scramble to make realities of their romantic aspirations while reminiscing on their friendship before absolute tragedy strikes, changing everything forever.

 

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

This is another book you’ll be quoting before you even finish, told over the course of three days, at a bleak north eastern college campus abandoned for winter break. Marin’s story is one of tragedy and grief – and is also one she’d like very much to forget.  But when her friend comes to visit, Marin can no longer ignore her old life and must confront the loneliness she has been holding in for so long.

 

And We’re Off by Dana Schwartz

Seventeen-year-old Nora Holmes has been an artist for as long as she can remember.  She inherited the skill from her grandfather, who offers Nora the chance of a lifetime: an all-expenses paid summer trip to Europe to see and create beautiful art.  Her mother Alice seems less than thrilled, and when she decides last minute to join Nora on her trip, Nora’s dreams of a perfect summer abroad are shattered. Perfect for fans of Gilmore Girls and all things fandom, this is the best summer road trip book since An Abundance of Katherines!

 

The Careful Undressing of Love by Corey Ann Haydu

History since 2001 has unfolded a little differently in this Brooklyn neighborhood, where a group of girls from Devonairre Street dominate the scene with their strange customs and unique styles. They are Lorna-Isla-Delilah-Charlotte-Cruz. They wear their hair long and keys around their necks, and people say that any boy they love is certain to die.  When such a fate rolls around to the beloved Jack, the curse suddenly is more real to the the girls than ever before, and their futures start to look grim as they deal with love and grief and the intersection of both.

 

Let It Snow by John Green, Lauren Myracle, and Maureen Johnson

Another literary collaboration to be reckoned with, Let It Snow can be enjoyed even if there is not a single sign of winter outside your window.  A Christmas Eve storm makes for a cold and wet hike from a snow-stuck train through the middle of nowhere, a trip to a Waffle House filled with stranded cheerleaders, and teacup pig-related tension between friends, among other things.  Romance and hilarity ensue.

 

Check out everything we know about Turtles All the Way Down so far, and pre-order your copy here!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Halloween may be over, but these 4 books will leave you thoroughly creeped out

We love a good Halloween spook, but the best ones are the scares that last year round, and these top 4 reads will probably be keeping us creeped out well into 2020…   Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall BY. FAR. One of the CREEPIEST reads of 2019. Rules for Vanishing is a chilling combination of The Blair Witch … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of FIREBORNE

We’ll make it plain: Fireborne is going to destroy you. It is going to do things to your emotions. It’s going to suck you in with the gutting emotional pull of An Ember in the Ashes and then shock you with Game of Thrones-esque plot twists and battles. And it’s all coming October 15th, scroll down to read the … Continued
See More

A definitive list of YA thrillers that will keep you up at night

If you’ve been looking for a book that will leave you suspicious of any and everything that goes bump in the night, then look no further. Whether they’re full of mystery, murder, or conspiracy, you can bet these pulse-pounding page turners will leave you wondering why you even bother keeping bookmarks around.   People Like Us by Dana … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: Devil Darling Spy

If you like an edge of thriller in your historical fiction, we’ve got some good news for you. Devil Darling Spy is hitting shelves January 21! This fast-paced follow-up to Orphan Monster Spy follows Sarah’s perilous journey as she hunts a rogue German doctor in Central Africa who might be a serial murderer. This unbearably high-stakes thriller pushes Sarah to … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of THE BEAUTIFUL by Renée Ahdieh

Vampires are making their comeback in just FIVE DAYS, and we’re celebrating with an excerpt! Scroll down to read the first chapter of Renée Ahdieh’s The Beautiful. 1st février, 1872 aboard the CGT Aramis Not What It Seemed The Aramis was supposed to arrive at first light, like it did in Celine’s dreams. She would wake beneath a sunlit … Continued
See More

Reads to Celebrate Women’s Equality Day

Today is Women’s Equality Day, and we’re celebrating with some amazing reads written by amazing women!   Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera  This book radiates feminism. When Juliet’s hero fails her, she grapples with crucial, timely questions of what feminism means if it excludes queer and trans women of color, giving language to hard … Continued
See More

6 Reads to Help You Recover from Black Friday

You know that day that comes right after the day we all say how thankful we are for the things we have? The one where everyone runs out and risks life and limb to get half-priced plasma screens and tupperware? Black Friday. It’s one that requires a cup of hot cocoa and a stack of good … Continued
See More

October’s most anticipated reads!

To put it simply, October is a very good month for books. And here are 6 of the most highly anticipated you do NOT want to miss!   The Fountains of Silence by Ruta Sepetys – October 1st If you love historical fiction, stunning prose, and a cover you’ll want to keep turned out to gaze … Continued
See More

17 Books That Will Get You Hooked on Historical Fiction

Here’s the thing about reading a life-changing historical fiction novel. Once you read one, there’s no going back. You need to read another. And another. And another. So we decided to share the love and round up 17 reads that will get YOU hooked on historical fiction. (Welcome to the dark side. We have cookies.) … Continued
See More

Every book hitting shelves in October!

October is nearly here and it is a VERY good month for books.   10/1: The Fountains of Silence by Ruta Sepetys – From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Salt to the Sea and Between Shades of Gray comes a gripping, extraordinary portrait of love, silence, and secrets under a Spanish dictatorship.   10/1: Smoke in the Sun by Renée Ahdieh – The highly … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP