Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

10 Fantasy Books to Make Your Summer More Magical

SHARE

Summer is magical on its own: It’s the season of sunshine, beaches, romance, fireworks, and popsicles 24/7. That’s why there’s something special about reading fantasy books in the summer– they heighten the experience. So we’ve rounded up the 9 with top-notch magic, legends, curses, power struggles and romance guaranteed to add some sparkle to your TBR:

 

 

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

image

Who: Soldier Elias, slave girl Laia, and a slew of others fighting for what they want the most.

Where: The Martial Empire, a cruel and violent society reminiscent of Ancient Rome.

Why: Scimitars, the most terrifying mother in existence, underground revolutionaries, but above all  – the feels you can only get when faced with grit of the human spirit.

 

 

The Young Elites and The Rose Society by Marie Lu

image

Who: Adelina, a malfetto who was left with scars and dark powers after a massive blood fever.

Where: Estenzia, Kenettra, and other cities where Adelina seeks refuge, understanding, and eventually…revenge.

Why: Up close and personal with the rise of a villain.

 

 

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

image

Who: Sharhzad, a 16-year old who volunteers to marry the Caliph of Khorasan, who’s been taking a new bride each night only to have her executed in the morning.

Where: Khalid’s palace, amongst luscious grounds, sumptuous feasts, and the ever-present threat of death…

Why: A protagonist who will win you over with sass and spirit, and a romance that will keep your heart pounding into the night.

 

 

The Falling Kingdoms series by Morgan Rhodes

image

Who: A princess, a rebel, an adopted royal, and a firstborn son whose fates have become intertwined.

Where: The kingdoms of ancient Mytica, where magic has been forgotten but a deadly unrest is simmering.

Why: Betrayals, bargains, and battles make this THE series to read if you love Game of Thrones.

 

 

A Book of Spirits and Thieves by Morgan Rhodes

image

Who: Sisters Becca and Crys, who live in modern-day Toronto.

Where: Toronto AND ancient Mytica, where Becca gets transported to when she touches a mysteriously-delivered book.

Why: You don’t have to have read Falling Kingdoms to jump into this spin-off of world-bending high stakes and romance, a dastardly villain with the power of persuasion, and the unearthing of family secrets.

 

 

Soundless by Richelle Mead

image

Who: Fei, who lives in a mountain village where there is no sound…until one night, when she hears a searing noise, and it becomes her weapon.

Where: The jagged cliffs of China, where the original myth Soundless was inspired by took place.

Why: A journey to truth through mountains of lies, legends, and love.

 

 

The Glass Sentence and The Golden Specific by S.E. Grove

image

Who: Sophia Tims, who comes from a long line of family explorers and cartologers and has lived with her uncle since her family left on an urgent mission and never returned.

Where: Boston in 1891, ninety-two years after the Great Disruption of 1799, when all of earth’s continents were flung into different time periods.

Why: A time-bending world you won’t want to leave and a heroine you won’t want to forget.

 

 

Eon & Eona by Alison Goodman

image

Who: Eon, who’s training to become an apprentice to one of the 12 energy dragons of good fortune…except he’s actually Eona, a girl who’s been masquerading as a boy since females are forbidden to use Dragon Magic.

Where: A world of deadly magic and struggles for the Imperial throne.

Why: Kick-ass girl power meets dragon lore? Yes please.

 

 

The Inventor’s Secret and The Conjurer’s Riddle by Andrea Cremer

image

Who: 16-year-old Charlotte, who lives on the edge of Britain’s industrial empire with a group of refugees.

Where: An alternate 19-century America where the Revolutionary War never took place and now Britain rules the globe with horrifying machines.

Why: Perilous secrets, romance, and adventure under the looming shadow of machines that might henceforth enter your nightmares.

 

 

Frozen and Stolen by Melissa de la Cruz and Michael Johnston

Who: Natasha Kestal, a young blackjack dealer looking for a way out of her life and into a mythical land called “the Blue.”

Where: New Vegas, a city blanketed in ice.

Why: An addictive world, a fiery romance, and danger and deceit on every corner.

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to debut voices such as Patrice Caldwell, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic. … Continued
See More

14 Books to Read During Mental Health Awareness Month

May is Mental Health Awareness Month and we find that books can not only help us understand or sympathize, but can often help us talk about difficult topics. Here are 15 books to read this month to help start a conversation and #endthestigma.   Turtles All the Way Down by John Green Aza is trying. She is trying … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

The 2020/2021 books you need to add to your TBR ASAP

Did you join us for Penguin Teen’s 2020/2021 preview show? Here are the books we talked about! Scroll down to read about some of our most anticipated reads!   They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman – July 21, 2020 Gossip Girl meets One of Us Is Lying with a dash of The Secret History in this slick, taut murder mystery … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of THIS COVEN WON’T BREAK

This Coven Won’t Break is hitting shelves next month! We are so excited for the thrilling sequel to These Witches Don’t Burn and are sharing an excerpt in anticipation of book 2. Scroll down to read! High school. They say it’s the best time of our lives. A time of exploration and endless possibilities. We can try … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Middle Grade Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

  What Lane? by Torrey Maldonado “STAY IN YOUR LANE.” Stephen doesn’t want to hear that–he wants to have no lane.Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak into an abandoned building, he doesn’t think it’s his lane, but he goes. Here’s … Continued
See More

9 Books That Make Great Gift Ideas For Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day is right around the corner, and we know that gift lists for moms are running rampant everywhere. But the best thing about giving books is that you give an experience, too. So we rounded up some of our favorite heartfelt, historical, and humorous books that make great gift ideas for Mother’s Day.   … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP