Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

10 Mystery Books Agatha Christie Would Have On Her TBR

SHARE

In honor of what would have been Agatha Christie’s 125th birthday, we’ve rounded up 10 books with the crime-hunting and secret-solving we think are TBR-worthy of the master of mystery books herself!

 

The Appearance of Annie van Sinderen by Katherine Howe

There’s something strange about the hipster girl Wes met while filming a seance in the East Village, and he’s starting to think it’s more than her outlandish style and way of talking…

 

The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

Every October, Cara’s family becomes inexplicably accident-prone. But it is a curse or a coincidence?

 

The Edge of Nowhere by Elizabeth George

Becca thought escaping to the wilderness would solve her problems, but she has to reconsider after she unearths the abundant secrets on Whidbey Island.

 

The Shades of London series by Maureen Johnson

Rory’s just arrived at boarding school in London as a serial killer is mimicking Jack the Ripper, and it turns out she’s the only one that can see him.

 

Nearly Gone by Elle Cosimano

High-schooler Nearly Boswell has a knack for tracking down serial killers…even when SHE’s also being tracked.

 

Paper Towns by John Green

Piecing together clues left behind gets the heart pumping, whether the person does or does not want to be found.

 

Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone by Kat Rosenfield

Becca wanted to escape her backwater hometown until a dead girl showed up on the side of the road…but similarities between the two girls may shine light on the truth about Amelia’s death.

 

Trouble is a Friend of Mine by Stephanie Tromly

The best approach to solving small town crime is with someone who’s ready to push boundaries of legality, social norms, and identity – in the case of wearing a giant bear suit.

 

Blue Voyage by Diana Renn

Zan’s an adrenaline junkie, but she gets more of a rush than she bargained for when she gets caught in the cross hairs of an antiquities smuggling ring that forces her on a quest to find treasure to save her family.

 

Imposter by Antony John

Seth thinks he’s found the answer to all his problems when he gets cast in an Indie film and starts living the life of a star…but the line between film and reality soon starts to blur, and twisted secrets prove that nothing in Hollywood is what it seems.

Captivated by crime?  Check out these 10 fictional thieves you’d definitely want to avoid.

 

#ShelfGoals

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More

Middle Grade Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

  What Lane? by Torrey Maldonado “STAY IN YOUR LANE.” Stephen doesn’t want to hear that–he wants to have no lane.Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak into an abandoned building, he doesn’t think it’s his lane, but he goes. Here’s … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to debut voices such as Patrice Caldwell, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP