Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

10 reasons you’re going to fall in love with Frankly in Love

SHARE

Frankly in Love is hitting shelves in SEPTEMBER!! But since we can’t wait any longer to tell you all about it, here are 10 reasons you’re going to fall in love with Frankly in Love! Also with some photos from the Frankly in Love book trailer because omg HOW CUTE IS IT??

Frankly-in-Love-COVER

 

1. FAKE DATING!

Frank-6

This is a beloved YA trope that we wish we saw more often. It’s the best kind of drama, and Frank and Joy’s fake dating schemes is sure to go down in history.

 

 

2. You’re going to laugh. You’re going to cry just as hard.

Frank-9

Frank Li may have some of the most hilarious, relatable internal dialogue and he has the best habit of getting himself into the worst situations that will have you on the FLOOR laughing. But just like you’ll find yourself laughing with these characters, you’re going to cry with them. We won’t give anything away, but there’s so much heart in this book, you should probably just prepare your feelings for anything.

 

4. It’s already been optioned for film!

Frank-7

EEEEEEP *happy dance*

 

5. It doesn’t shy away from the hard topics

Frank-2

While full of fun and laughs, Frankly in Love also takes on issues of identity and race, with a result that is both challenging and meaningful.

 

6. Authors everywhere are just as excited for Frankly in Love!

Frank-3

Here are just a few of the things some of our fav authors are saying!

“I loved, loved, LOVED this book, which miraculously manages to be a love story, a treatise on racism, a peek into adolescence, and a welcome to Korean-American culture, all at once. Frankly, Frank Li is a character you need to meet.” —Jodi Picoult, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Small Great Things and A Spark of Light

“I fell fast for David Yoon’s masterful debut that’s big-hearted, honest, hilarious, and achingly romantic. I smiled, I laughed, I cried, and I closed this book wiser. Get ready to fall in love with Frank, world!” —Adam SilveraNew York Times bestselling author of They Both Die at The End

“Frankly in Love shines with an incredible voice and a searing, honest, and deeply human story about what it means to love someone. David Yoon isn’t afraid to confront every angle, both the beautiful and the ugly, but he tackles it all with great care. This is a classic in the making.” —Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Warcross

 

6. FRANK!

Frank-4

We love Frank. We are frankly in love with Frank. We think you will be too.

 

7. Life is hard

Frank-8

Frankly in Love is what we all need now: refreshing, funny, romantic, it will sweep you out of reality and make you laugh and cry, press the book to your chest, and then probably cry again.

 

8. Yoon family cameo!

Keep your eyes open! David and Nicola Yoon maaaay have made a little cameo in the book…

 

9. We all need this cover in our lives
Sprayed-edges

It’s adorable. It’s yellow. Why aren’t there more yellow covers out there?! And did we mention the first printing will have STAINED PAGES???

 

10. What. a. story.

Frank-1

Whether you find yourself relating closely to Frank or can’t find an inkling of common ground, David Yoon’s incredible storytelling will sweep you off your feet and into Frank’s life, giving you the chance to step right into Frank’s shoes.

 

 

 

Have you pre-ordered yet?! Pre-order here! 

And make sure to get in on the special early pre-order offer! Until 8/9, if you upload your pre-order receipt, you’ll receive the Frankly in Love with Books enamel pin AND be automatically entered for the chance to win an exclusive Frankly in Love tote! For entry and rules, click here!

#ReaderLove

People who are sooo not prepared for THE CONFERENCE OF THE BIRDS

The Conference of the Birds, aka the fifth installment in Ransom Riggs’s Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Series, is getting ready to bless our shelves and we cannot WAIT. A Map of Days left us reeling with MANY questions, and they’re all getting answered this Tuesday! But first, here are just a few fans who are not … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: ALL THE DAYS PAST, ALL THE DAYS TO COME

Welcome back to #FridayReads! This week we’re reading All the Days Past, All the Days to Come by Mildred D. Taylor. The saga of the Logan family–made famous in the Newbery Medal-winning Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry–concludes in a long-awaited and deeply fulfilling story. Scroll down to read the excerpt! Moe and Henry were waiting for us … Continued
See More

A Beginner’s Guide to Ruta Sepetys Books

With more than 1 million copies of her books in print, the critically acclaimed Ruta Sepetys is known for her uncanny ability to uncover some of the darkest corners of history, and tell their stories. But in case you’re new here, it’s time we introduce you to the Queen of Heart-wrenching Historical Fiction. So, think … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: The Last Confession of Autumn Casterly

Happy #FridayReads! This week, we’re reading The Last Confession of Autumn Casterly by Meredith Tate, perfect for fans of If I Stay and One of Us is Lying. Read the excerpt below! Autumn On a scale of one to ten, my desire to talk to the cops who’ve spent the last twenty minutes digging through my locker is a raging neg-ative … Continued
See More

A definitive list of YA books for Scorpios

It’s Scorpio season so we made a list of books that will hopefully distract all the Scorpios from burning the world down (written by a Scorpio.)   Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall Scorpios are EASILY bored. Like, really, really easily. And when we get bored, we plot. Or hold grudges. That’s why Scorpios should … Continued
See More

5 Reasons THE BEAUTIFUL should be at the TOP of your October TBR

Renée Ahdieh’s newest & swooniest book The Beautiful is hitting shelves NEXT. MONTH. Your October TBR is going to be obsessed with it, and here’s why:   1. Um RENÉE. AHDIEH. Ever since The Wrath & the Dawn hit shelves, Renée has been a beloved author name in the community. Her lush writing and addictive stories are a Must for … Continued
See More

What to read while desperately waiting for P.S. I Still Love You

The first look photos for P.S. I Still Love You on Netflix are in and WE HAVE A LOT OF FEELINGS.   P.S. I Still Love You first looks…are y’all ready?! https://t.co/9LHm3S06s3 pic.twitter.com/sE5MLLosUV — Jenny Han (@jennyhan) December 12, 2019 More Lara Jean? First love? Friends to lovers? We need it. But waiting is hard, … Continued
See More

Readers who are LOVING The Fountains of Silence by Ruta Sepetys!

The Fountains of Silence by Ruta Sepetys is quickly becoming a 2019 favorite, and it’s pretty easy to see why.   From this heartfelt review     to this extremely relatable tweet 37 pgs into #thefountainsofsilence and like the rest of @RutaSepetys books, it is amazing. I would read the back of shampoo bottles if she … Continued
See More

Best of #Bookstagram: Juliet Takes a Breath

Welcome back to Best of #Bookstagram! This week, we’re sharing our favorite photos that we’ve seen lately of Gabby Rivera’s Juilet Takes a Breath, the story of Juliet learning what it means to come out–to the world, to her family, and to herself.   From this simple beauty, View this post on Instagram A post shared by Allison … Continued
See More

Quotes from Frankly in Love we’re frankly in love with

Frankly in Love is quickly making its way onto the instant YA classics list, and one of our favorite things about it is that it’s one of those books with The Quotes. The ones you want to pluck out and either hang on a wall or sew on a pillow. Either way, we love these lines and … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP