Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

11 Bookish Social Media Accounts You NEED to Follow

SHARE

When you love to read so much, nothing is better than getting a healthy dose of bookish content when you’re browsing social media. Whether you prefer Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, Tumblr, or a combination of them all, there are excellent accounts to follow for all kinds of book content.

 

12439109_862240587254936_3076154354685425841_n

BuzzFeed Books: If you love lists of the funniest cat gifs and finding out what Disney princess you are on regular BuzzFeed, you’ll love BuzzFeed books. They have it all: fun book-related lists, book suggestions, and quizzes that tell you everything from which sci-fi book you should read next to what your real age is based on your taste in books.

 

Screen Shot 2017-04-12 at 1.55.14 PM

Guardian Books: When book news breaks, Guardian Books is on top of it. If you’re the type who always wants to know the latest book news as soon as it drops, there is no better place than the Guardian Books Twitter account.

 

Screen Shot 2017-04-12 at 1.57.07 PM

Folded Pages Distillery: The most aesthetically appealing webpage to look at for book lovers. Books are placed in interesting situations surrounded by colorful, intricate, and visually stunning collages made of random objects creating works of art almost as amazing as the books themselves.

 

Screen Shot 2017-04-12 at 1.58.21 PM

Book Riot: This is a community that believes content about books should be just as exciting and diverse as books themselves. The Twitter account brings that ideal to life in the best way possible as it posts an exciting array of content including book reviews, memes, lists, and most importantly, the best deals on e-books

 

Screen Shot 2017-04-12 at 4.26.34 PM copy

polandbananasBOOKS: A popular booktuber named Christine whose creative and comedic attitude towards her channel makes it a great place to learn about new books and hear reviews of your favorite books. She works with Jessethereader and another booktuber, Katytastic, every month to hold an event called “booksplosion” where the three of them hold a live Google Hangouts chat to discuss their chosen “Book of the Month.”.

 

Screen Shot 2017-04-12 at 3.57.50 PM

Bookshelves and  Places: For Pinterest lovers, this is a board that is filled with visuals of reading spots and bookshelves that it describes as “beautiful, odd, strange, unexpected, unusual, and lesser spotted.” If you love to try out new places to read, this might give you some good inspiration.

 

Screen Shot 2017-04-12 at 4.14.42 PM

Jessethereader: Jesse has been a beloved booktuber for years now. He loves sharing his seasonal favorites, his favorite book covers, unboxings, and so much more. He loves his “book fam” so much that he is always holding giveaways on his Twitter and Instagram

 

Screen Shot 2017-04-12 at 4.09.26 PM

The Composites: Whether or not you use Tumblr regularly, this blog is a must-follow. Brian J Davis, a digital artist living in Brooklyn, uses commercially available law enforcement composite sketch software to create artistically stunning, and somewhat terrifying, realistic images of characters based on their descriptions in books.

 

Screen Shot 2017-04-12 at 4.08.42 PM

New York Times Books: Let’s face it, you might not have time to read a full newspaper. However, you should definitely be reading reviews from a publication as respected as the New York Times once in a while. Follow on Facebook so you get these reviews, and all of the other great contact shared on the page while you scroll through your feed each day.

 

Screen Shot 2017-04-12 at 4.11.22 PM

Last Night’s Reading: You’ll never have to worry about missing an author speaking event as long as you follow this Instagram. Kate Gavino attends author talks in New York City and shares colorful portraits of the author with quotes shared during the talk.

 

logo_header_closed

Penguin Teen: These are all amazing social media accounts, but Penguin Teen is obviously the best! You can find constant amazing bookish content about not just on our Twitter, but also on Instagram, Facebook, Pinterest, and Tumblr!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Looking for more bookish content? Read on for 7 places you’re likely to be caught reading!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#Bookish

Read an excerpt of OBVIOUSLY by Akilah Hughes!

Happy #FridayReads! This week we’re obviously reading Obviously by Akilah Hughes! This hilarious, insightful memoir from viral YouTuber and comedian Akilah Hughes is hitting shelves September 24th, scroll down to read the excerpt! What’s in a Name   My name is Akilah Saidah Kamaria Hughes. Contrary to the belief popularized by doctors and substitute teachers, all of … Continued
See More

The official SEAFIRE recap!

Welcome to the official Seafire recap! We’re here to bring you back up to date on all of Caledonia and her crew’s adventures on the Mors Navis in book one before you dive into Steel Tide (pun intended.) These will only be Bullet (also pun intended) points to give you the gist of book one if it’s been a little … Continued
See More

Excerpt alert: read the prologue of WE SPEAK IN STORMS

It’s excerpt time! This week, we’re reading We Speak in Storms by Natalie Lund! We Speak in Storms is a powerful and haunting debut novel about friendship, acceptance, and learning to let go as the balance between the living and the dead is upended, perfect for fans of We Were Liars. Read the excerpt below! On October 7, 1961, … Continued
See More

Juliet Takes a Breath reborn: 5 reasons its rise to publication is important

Juliet is back! You may have heard that we’re re-releasing Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera, which was previously published in paperback, now in hardcover for the first time. That makes now the perfect time to celebrate what makes Juliet’s story so special, so here are five reasons why this book’s publication matters to … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of Stars and the Blackness Between Them

Happy #FridayReads! This week we’re reading Stars and the Blackness Between Them by Junauda Petrus, the story of two black girls from very different backgrounds finding love and happiness in a world that seems determined to deny them both. Read the excerpt below! Chapter 1: Audre “Yuh fas’ and arrow and sensual and mango,” Queenie tells me, … Continued
See More

Royal Fantasy MUST Reads!

Ok, ok, ok, is it really surprising that we all continue to be obsessed with kings, queens, kingdoms, and magical ongoings of all sorts? We grow up playing in imaginary castles and then BOOM, we’re just expected to give that up to be adults, make doctors appointments, buy groceries, and do laundry? Ha. No. Welcome to … Continued
See More

5 reasons why James chose Frankly in Love as his book club pick!

Hey there, fellow YA fans! It’s James from Penguin Teen. You may have seen that we’ve just launched the James & Joy Book Club! Watch our September Book Haul, featuring all the new books that we have on shelves this month:     As you know, I’ve selected Frankly in Love by David Yoon as … Continued
See More

These recreations of THE FOUNTAINS OF SILENCE cover are kind of amazing

In case you’ve been perusing instagram and noticed a few absolutely stunning recreations of Ruta Sepetys’s The Fountains of Silence, we rounded them up in one post to bless your eyes in case you missed any! P.S. If you choose to join in on the recreation fun, make sure to tag @penguinteen on instagram!   From this … Continued
See More

7 Books to buddy read this fall!

Fall is upon us, like all the dead crunchy-looking leaves you totally keep going out of your way to step on. But anyway, it’s the season to grab an unnaturally orange pumpkin-flavored beverage and a reading buddy, and time to get that TBR into shape! Here are 7 of the reads you and aforementioned reading buddy will … Continued
See More

The 8 Books Your Bookstagram Needs this Fall

Whether you’re snapping away with the iPhone XS or hipster-ing your way through life with a polaroid camera (kidding but you get the gist), every reader tries their hand at bookstagramming at some point. And we love it! So, we’ve gathered a few of our recent fav photos on bookstagram to round up a few autumn-y … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP