Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

11 Books to Help You Confront Your Grief

SHARE

Loss is something terrible that we all must face in our lives at one time or another. Whether it’s the death of a loved one, a bad break up, or the loss of a friend, the grief and pain can often feel like the end of the world. But luckily there are books out there that are the perfect healing poultice to help you recover – and rediscover – the beauty and love life has to offer. Here are 11 books to help you cope with loss.

 

Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index by Julie Israel

Juniper Lemon discovers a letter addressed to “You” from her sister Camilla, written only sixty-five days before, when she died unexpectedly in a car crash. Shocked at this secret side of her sister, Juni is determined to find out who “You” is and deliver the letter. At the same time, a card from her “Happiness Index” goes missing, and Juniper is just as determined to retrieve it before someone reads the terrible secret she scribbled on it. But as she searches for answers she find other abandoned notes and secrets… and a few friends along the way.

 

A Million Junes by Emily Henry

Jack “June” O’Donnell knows to stay away from Angerts – the family feuding with her’s for generations. The families destinies are intertwined in a bizarre curse, when whenever something bad happens to one of the families, something equally bad or worse will happen to the other. Now, June is still coming to terms with her father’s death when suddenly she is haunted by images of him in the past, just as Saul Angert, the handsome son of her sworn rivals, returns to town. In this Romeo and Juliet love story of family and forgiveness, June comes to terms with her past and learns to look towards the future.

 

Speak of Me As I Am by Sonia Belasco

In this touching debut, two high schoolers – Melanie and Damon – attempt to come to terms with their respective losses through the power of art. Damon tries to see life through the eyes of his friend Carlos by taking pictures with his camera, while Melanie throws herself into painting to feel closer to her larger-than-life mother, who she recently lost to cancer. And ultimately, a school play bring these two together and helps them to begin to see how to life live in harmony with their sadness, but not enslaved to it.

 

Kids of Appetite by David Arnold

In Mosquitoland author David Arnold’s fantastic follow up,Victor “Vic” Benucci is still struggling to accept the death of his father, even two years after the fact. He also has Moebius syndrome, a genetic affliction which leaves his face paralyzed and unable to move. Fleeing his mother’s marriage to a less than ideal step-father, Vic joins up with a local group of misfits – The Kids of Appetite – to try to solve the scavenger hunt-like clues left behind by Vic’s father in his urn, and hopefully find some peace in the process.

 

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

The death of her grandfather has left Marin feeling isolated and lost, but when her friend Mabel come to visit her at her abandoned college for winter break, can the two of them reconnect? This haunting new novel by fan-favorite Nina LaCour is the perfect remedy to a broken heart, a book that rings proudly with the healing power of a true friendship, and echoes with the memories of a loved one lost.

 

I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

Jude and Noah used to be best friend, inseparable twins who loved and laughed together. But now, at sixteen, they’re estranged and lost, both mourning the death of their mother and their own close relationship. Told from dual perspectives – Noah at thirteen, Jude as sixteen – this brother-sister duo looks to explore the world around them through art and identity, and struggle to accept themselves and one another.

 

Once and For All by Sarah Dessen

Louna is slow to fall in love, what with her jaded wedding-planning mother and the recent stinging loss of her first true love to gun violence at school. But when easy breezy Ambrose blows into town for the summer, will he be able to help Louna see the fun in love again, and may – just maybe! – fall into it once more? Ste in the whirlwind world of wedding planning, this sweet summer read will open the hearts of even the most jaded souls.

 

Looking For Alaska by John Green

Miles “Pudge” Halter, the newest student atCulver Creek Boarding School is obsessed with famous last words, and Alaska Young. She’s every adventure Pudge has ever dreamed of wrapped up into a self-assured package of beauty – the opposite of Pudge’s dreary life from home. The book is told from Before leading up to a mysterious After. Before, Pudge experiences a new life, and After? Well… After nothing is ever the same.

 

The Careful Undressing of Love by Corey Ann Haydu

Any boy loved by a girl from Devonairre street is cursed to die within five years… or so the saying goes. But for Lorna and the other kids on Devonairre street the curse is just a quirky tradition, like eatinf honey cakes and lemons, or wearing keys around their necks. Sure, they’ve all lost their fathers, but that just helps to bind Lorna-Isla-Delilah-Charlotte-and-Cruz even closer together. But when Delilah’s popular boyfriend dies, suddenly the curse feels very real. Lorna is left to untangle what it means to love and what it means to lose, and find the places where the two are one and she finds love of her own, and comes to terms with her own loss.

 

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

Lennie finds herself torn between two boys after the sudden death of her sister Bailey leaves her empty and alone. In Toby – Bailey’s ex-boyfriend – Lenie has someone to commiserate with. But in Joe, the new kid in town, Lennie has the chance to be excited by life and its possibilities once more. But is she ready for life again, or is she just looking for a little comfort? Follow Lennie’s journey through ups and downs, mistakes and triumphs as she comes to terms with losing her sister and finding love again after loss.

 

Things I’m Seeing Without You by Peter Bognonni

Tess Fowler has dropped out of high school after her long distance boyfriend’s sudden suicide. She runs off to her father’s house and joins him in his newest business venture – funerals for pets. Tess finds she seems to have a knack for the business, but even as her involvement grows, her heart is still aching for the love she lost. As a way of coping, she continues to send her ex, Jonah emails and texts and messages, knowing nothing will ever come of it. Until one day, she gets a message back.

 

 

 

Want some more feels? Check out these heart-destroying books for a good cry.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Read an excerpt of IMAGINARY BORDERS!

We’ve been spotlighting some of our favorite reads by Latinx authors in honor of #LatinxHeritageMonth, and today we’re sharing an excerpt of Imaginary Borders by Xiuhtezcatl Martinez. In this personal, moving essay, environmental activist and hip-hop artist Xiuhtezcatl Martinez uses his art and his activism to show that climate change is a human issue that can’t be ignored. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP