Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

11 Halloween Books to Channel All Hallow’s Eve

SHARE

Place candy corn in bowl. Load horror flicks in DVD player. Queue the Monster Mash. And last but not least – ensure that your bookshelf is stocked with the perfect Halloween books to carry you all month long on a Halloween high to October 31st. These wicked reads have the creep factor, ghoulish romances, and deadly secrets we know will get the job done:

 

Nightfall by Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski

Afraid of the dark? You should be. On Marin’s island, the sun doesn’t rise every 24 hours, it rises every 28 years…and she’s just been left behind in 14 hours of Night.

 

The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

You might look forward to picking out the perfect Halloween costume every time fall comes around, but Kara has different priorities – every October, her family becomes inexplicably accident prone.

 

Blood and Salt by Kim Liggett

You may want to avoid the corn mazes this year after reading this book: Ash Larkin follows her mom to the spiritual commune she escaped from long ago only to find something sinister waiting in the cornstalks…

 

Survive the Night by Danielle Vega

An all-night, underground rave in the subway system of New York City – what could go wrong? Try mutilated bodies showing up in the tunnels halfway through the party.

 

The Appearance of Annie van Sinderen by Katherine Howe

Note: who said you can’t find romance at a seance? But be cautious, chances are more than likely your new crush has a dark secret.

 

Fiendish by Brenna Yovanoff

Clementine DeVore spent ten years trapped in a cellar, silenced and forotten. Now she’s out and determined to uncover who put her there…and why.

 

The Blythewood series by Carol Goodman

Ever fantasized about going to boarding school? Better make sure you’re prepared to make devastating sacrifices and face sinister forces trying to take advantage of you and your classmates.

 

The Merciless by Danielle Vega

Forget the burn book from Mean Girls, the mean girls in this book decide to give their classmate a torturous exorcism in the basement.

 

Slasher Girls & Monster Boys by April Genevieve Tucholke

What’s better than 1 bloodcurdling short story from one of your favorite YA authors? 14 bloodcurdling horror stories from 14 of your favorite YA authors, that’s how many.

 

The Half Bad Series by Sally Green

In a modern-day England where good witches an bad witches live among us, Nathan is both…and he’s being hunted by both sides.

 

The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff

Mackie Doyle is The Replacement – left in the crib of a human baby sixteen years ago. He has been raised among us. But he is not one of us. Now, he must face the dark creatures of the slag heaps from which he came and find his rightful place – in our world or theirs.

 

Love Halloween?  Love fall?  Here are 12 more Fall 2017 titles that we’re excited about.

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Read an excerpt of IMAGINARY BORDERS!

We’ve been spotlighting some of our favorite reads by Latinx authors in honor of #LatinxHeritageMonth, and today we’re sharing an excerpt of Imaginary Borders by Xiuhtezcatl Martinez. In this personal, moving essay, environmental activist and hip-hop artist Xiuhtezcatl Martinez uses his art and his activism to show that climate change is a human issue that can’t be ignored. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP