Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

12 Fierce Ladies Who Prove That Women are the Ultimate Warriors

SHARE

Here at Penguin Teen, we are constantly inspired by all of the badass ladies that we love to read about. From the deserts of Miraji to the arenas of ancient Rome; the streets of futuristic America to the skies of outer space, we have a whole host of fierce women to choose from when we want to feel inspired, empowered, and ready to tackle whatever’s ahead of us. Read on for some of our faves!

 

Shazi from The Wrath and the Dawn

When the young Caliph of her land has Shazi’s best friend executed, she’ll stop at nothing to seek revenge – but she’s also capable of opening her heart when things aren’t what they seem. Basically, don’t cross this lady.

 

Laia from An Ember in the Ashes

In a brutal world where a step out of line could mean the end of your life, Laia doesn’t hesitate to risk everything to save her family. And she doesn’t stop there.

 

Amani from Rebel of the Sands

Amani comes from a history of oppression, but the fire in her heart will lead her to join causes much bigger than herself in the desert nation of Miraji. This lady is the best kind of fierce.

 

Cassie from The 5th Wave

Even when most of the earth has been destroyed by five waves of destruction from aliens, Cassie will fight to find her brother. Basically: never underestimate the sister.

 

Adelina from The Young Elites

Though her methods might sometimes be questionable, Adelina is one of the most fascinating heroines we’ve ever met. Her passion and her fury have no bounds.

 

Caledonia from Seafire

Seafire

This book is full of strong women–and not just that, but strong women looking out for one another. Squad goals don’t even begin to describe this epic sisterhood, or what Caledonia Styx will do to keep them safe.

 

Rhee from Empress of a Thousand Skies

The lone survivor of her family, Rhee is hell-bent on avenging them and claiming her rightful throne. As it turns out, there are some kickass ladies running around space too.

 

Fallon from The Triumphant

Triumphant_cover

Okay, so Fallon from The Valiant Trilogy takes this whole ultimate warrior thing to a whole new, very literal level. By book three, Fallon isn’t just a warrior. She’s leading a gang of warriors. In The Triumphant, Fallon and her warrior sisters embark on an epic journey from the corrupt Roman Republic to the wonder of the ancient world: Alexandria, Egypt. Things get pretty epic from there.

 

June from Legend

Living in dystopian America, June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles, seeking vengeance for her brother’s death.

Ooooh guys, just WAIT until you meet June. We love June.

 

Lady Helen from The Dark Days Club series

THE DARK DAYS DECEIT

When one of Lady Helen’s housemaid’s disappears, she takes it upon herself to delve deep into the shadows of Regency London. Between the demons that linger there and the infamous Lord Carlston, it’s going to take a great deal of grit to succeed. Lady Helen is the classiest of fierce warriors.

 

Poe from The Last Voyage of Poe Blythe

PoeBlythe

Who do you become when you have nothing left to lose? There is something Poe Blythe, the seventeen-year-old captain of the Outpost’s last mining ship, wants far more than the gold they tear from the Serpentine River. Revenge. Poe’s unforgettable journey through both the Serpentine River and her own grief and finding her strength will leave you IN. TEARS.

 

Keralie from Four Dead Queens

FourDeadQueens_CV_LAYERS

Seventeen-year-old Keralie Corrington may seem harmless, but she’s, in fact, one of Quadara’s most skilled thieves and a liar. Keralie’s epic fight for truth amongst a royal conspiracy and overcoming her dark past have claimed her a place amongst our favorite fierce heroines of 2019!

 

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? Check out these real women to inspire you on International Women’s Day!

 

#ShelfGoals

Read an excerpt of IMAGINARY BORDERS!

We’ve been spotlighting some of our favorite reads by Latinx authors in honor of #LatinxHeritageMonth, and today we’re sharing an excerpt of Imaginary Borders by Xiuhtezcatl Martinez. In this personal, moving essay, environmental activist and hip-hop artist Xiuhtezcatl Martinez uses his art and his activism to show that climate change is a human issue that can’t be ignored. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP