Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

13 Books to Add to Your Friday the 13th TBR

SHARE

Happy Friday the 13th, y’all! We here at Penguin Teen HQ know the value and fun of a good scare, so we love that there have been so many great horror movies out right now–A Quiet Place, Truth or Dare, and The Strangers: Prey at Night, to name few. Already seen them or too scared to venture to the theaters? We’ve got you covered–here’s a list of 13 creepy, atmospheric, and downright terrifying books we dare you to put on your TBR pile.’

 

Undead Girl Gang by Lily Anderson

Bringing the dead back to life? Scary. Living in a world without your best friend? Scarier. That’s why teen Wiccan Mila Flores brings back her best friend–and two other classmates–back from the dead, accidentally creating her own vigilante girl gang. On sale 5/8

 

The Merciless by Danielle Vega

When Sofia Flores moves to a new school, she finds that her new friends bring the term “mean girl” to a new level when they believe a classmate has been possessed by the Devil.

 

There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins

 

Students at Osborne High are being murdered one by one, and as the terror grows closer and the hunt intensifies for the killer, dark secrets among them must finally be confronted. Bonus: you’ll be seeing this one pop up on Netflix in the near future!

 

Nerve by Jeanne Ryan

The game of Truth or Dare has never been more real–especially when the only choice is dare. Vee is up against her dream guy with their lives on the line as the world watches to see if they truly have the nerve to keep playing.

 

Slasher Girls and Monster Boys edited by April Genevieve Tucholke

Lock the doors and make sure all the lights are on before reading these fourteen horrifying twists on your favorite fairy tales, movies, and books from some of the best YA authors out there.

 

A Line in the Dark by Malinda Lo

Jess wishes she and her best friend Angie could be something more, but that’s not her only issue with Angie falling in love with Margot, a girl from a nearby prep school. Secrets and cruelty lie just beneath the carefree surface of Margot’s world of wealth and privilege–when they come out, will Jess’s best friend be able to handle the consequences?

Spellbook of the Lost and Found by Moira Fowley-Doyle

A tattered spellbook might be the key to discovering things that have been lost–but what if it leads toward things that were never meant to be found?

 

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes

The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust. And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too. Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it’s clear that Minnow knows something–and she’s not talking.

 

 

The Sacrifice Box by Martin Stewart

As children, five friends sealed childhood treasures in a box and vowed to never go back on their sacrifices. Four years later, a series of strange and terrifying events begin to unfold: mirrors inexplicably shattering, inanimate beings coming to life, otherworldly crows thirsting for blood. Someone broke the rules of the box, and now everyone has to pay. On sale 8/28!

 

Blood and Salt by Kim Liggett

Traditions lead to gruesome deaths in Quivara, a place where something sinister waits in the cornstalks. Travelers tip: don’t make your way into the fields alone…

 

Survive the Night by Danielle Vega

An all-night, underground rave in the subway system of New York City–what could go wrong? Mutilated bodies showing up in the tunnels, that’s what.

When I Am Through with You by Stephanie Kuehn

Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you about who lived and who died, who killed and who had the best of intentions–but he’ll take his sweet time doing so.

 

Paper Valentine by Brenna Yovanoff

Summer is supposed to be relaxing, but it’s kind of hard for Hannah to relax when someone is killing girls in her neighborhood and the ghost of her best friend is haunting her room.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Want more spooky stuff? Check out these witchy books to read on the solstice!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#WhatsTrending

Books you should be reading while waiting for Shadow and Bone to drop on Netflix

Excited for Shadow & Bone to drop on Netflix this April? SAME. But waiting is hard. So, here are 9 fantasy books we think you should read while you wait!   Fireborne by Rosaria Munda The dragons of Callipolis could certainly give the volcra of the Shadow Fold a run for their money… or would … Continued
See More

16 YA Books For Your #Blackathon2021 TBR

Blackathon is one of our favorite read-a-thons of the year, and this month it’s back for round four! Created by BookTuber Jesse from Bowties & Books, #Blackathon2021 centers books and works by Black and African American authors and creators throughout February. You can participate across YouTube, Instagram, and Twitter, so check out the Blackathon Twitter … Continued
See More

Start reading The Electric Kingdom by David Arnold!

We are SO excited for David Arnold’s The Electric Kingdom to hit shelves this February. Station Eleven meets The 5th Wave in a genre-smashing story of survival, hope, and love amid a ravaged earth, and you can start reading it now! When a deadly Fly Flu sweeps the globe, it leaves a shell of the world that once was. Among the … Continued
See More

To All the Stereotypes I Saw Before: Asian American Representation on Screen by Jennifer Yen

As we bid To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before farewell, Jennifer Yen, author of A Taste for Love, is sharing her thoughts on the Netflix finale To All the Boys: Always and Forever, and Asian American representation on screen. Scroll down to read! Recently, we said a bittersweet farewell to Lara Jean and Peter when Jenny Han’s To All … Continued
See More

See the trailer for The Desolations of Devil’s Acre by Ransom Riggs!

Get ready to say goodbye to Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children. The epic series conclusion The Desolations of Devil’s Acre by Ransom Riggs hits shelves February 23rd! Jacob and his friends will face deadly enemies and race through history’s most dangerous loops in this thrilling page-turner, the final adventure in the beloved series. Scroll down to … Continued
See More

Books to read if you found yourself on Sea Shanty TikTok

Did TikTok get some catchy sea shanties stuck in your head? Come aboard as we set sail with these perfect reads for sea shanty enthusiasts!     Seafire by Natalie C. Parker The first in a heart-stopping trilogy that recalls the undeniable feminine power of Wonder Woman and the powder-keg action of Mad Max: Fury Road, Seafire reminds us of … Continued
See More

PLOT TWIST! These books will make you question everything you just read

Are you ever reading a book when BAM! Plot twist. And not just that, it changes your perspective on ALL the pages before it? We’ve rounded up some of our favorite, most shocking plot twists in YA that are guaranteed to have you thinking “What just happened?!” And don’t worry, this whole list is SPOILER-FREE!   … Continued
See More

Read. Swoon. REPEAT. with these romance reads on Valentine’s Day!

Valentine’s Day is around the corner and love is in the air! If you’re on the hunt for some romance reads this swoony season, read on. From romance in Paris, to newfound love in the midst of a baking competition, there’s a little of everything here!   Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: The Falling Girls by Hayley Krischer

Today we’re revealing the cover for Hayley Krischer’s new novel, The Falling Girls. From the author of Something Happened to Ali Greenleaf comes another searing, affecting novel that follows one girl caught between two toxic worlds, perfect for fans of Kathleen Glasgow and Nina LaCour. Scroll down to see the cover and read a bit about the book! Illustrator: … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: Juliet Takes a Breath Paperback!

Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera was one of our favorite, groundbreaking novels of 2019. So, we are SO excited to show you the brand new paperback cover, hitting shelves May 11, 2021! Scroll down to see the cover and read a bit about the book! Cover/jacket design: Kelley Brady; Artist: Steffi Walthall   Juliet Milagros … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP