Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

14 Books We Can’t Wait to Read This Spring!

SHARE

The colder months are upon us, and we know that once the holiday magic is gone we are going to be so. over. it. Winter is great because it gives us an excuse to stay in and read (do we ever really need an excuse though?), but spring?! When the grass gets greener and the flowers start blooming and the air just smells like possibility? (Ok, we may be getting ahead of ourselves here.) Point is, spring is great, and what’s even better is that we have 12 amazing reads headed your way–starting in January! Read on to see what’s in store!

 

City of Saints and Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson

Tina knows who killed her mother. She has proof. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo meets Gone Girl in this enthralling murder mystery set in Kenya. On sale January 24!

 

The Valiant by Lesley Livingston

A richly imagined fantasy for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Cinda Williams Chima, The Valiant recounts Fallon’s gripping journey from fierce Celtic princess to legendary gladiator and darling of the Roman empire. On sale February 14!

 

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

An intimate whisper that packs an indelible punch, We Are Okay is Nina LaCour at her finest. This gorgeously crafted and achingly honest portrayal of grief will leave you urgent to reach across any distance to reconnect with the people you love. On sale February 14!

 

A Psalm for Lost Girls by Katie Bayerl

I’ll Give You the Sun meets True Detective in this brilliant YA debut about saints, sisters, and learning to let go. Told in alternating perspectives, A Psalm for Lost Girls is at once funny, creepy and soulful—an impressive debut from a rising literary star. On sale March 14!

 

Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza

For fans of Marissa Meyer and Pierce Brown comes an epic sci-fi fantasy that Kiersten White, author of And I Darken, calls “dazzling–an adventure as sweeping in scope as the galaxies it spans!” Rhoda Belleza crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, warfare, and the true meaning of legacy in this exhilarating debut. On sale February 7!

 

Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton

The sizzling, un-put-downable sequel to the bestselling Rebel of the Sands, which also comes out this spring in paperback with a brand new cover! On sale March 7!

 

Given to the Sea by Mindy McGinnis

Kings and Queens rise and fall, loyalties collide, and romance blooms in a world where the sea is rising—and cannot be escaped. On sale April 11!

The Midnight Jewel by Richelle Mead

In the second installment of the bestselling Glittering Court series, Richelle Mead goes beyond the glitz and glamour, delving into the dark, political underbelly of their world through the eyes of one girl who dares to fight for her freedom. On sale May 30!

 

A Good Idea by Christina Moracho

Fin and Betty’s close friendship survived Fin’s ninth-grade move from their coastal Maine town to Manhattan. Calls, letters, and summer visits continued to bind them together, and in the fall of their senior year, they both applied to NYU, planning to reunite for good as roommates. Then Betty disappears.  On sale February 28!

 

The Careful Undressing of Love by Corey Ann Haydu

The Careful Undressing of Love is a disturbing and sensual story of the power of youth and the boundless mysteries of love set against the backdrop of Haydu’s brilliantly reimagined New York City. On sale January 31!

 

Nemesis by Brendan Reichs

It’s been happening since Min was eight. Every two years, on her birthday, a strange man finds her and murders her in cold blood. But hours later, she wakes up in a clearing just outside her tiny Idaho hometown—alone, unhurt, and with all evidence of the horrifying crime erased. On sale March 21!

 

The Dark Days Pact by Alison Goodman

Sequel to New York Times bestselling author Alison Goodman’s acclaimed The Dark Days Club—a smashing combination of Buffy and Jane Austen! On sale January 31!

 

Well, That Was Awkward by Rachel Vail

Gracie has never felt like this before.  One day, she suddenly can’t breathe, can’t walk, can’t anything—and the reason is standing right there in front of her, all tall and weirdly good-looking: AJ. On sale February 28!

 

A Million Junes by Emily Henry

Romeo and Juliet meets One Hundred Years of Solitude in Emily Henry’s brilliant follow-up to The Love That Split the World, about the daughter and son of two long-feuding families who fall in love while trying to uncover the truth about the strange magic and harrowing curse that has plagued their bloodlines for generations.

 

Alex & Eliza by Melissa de la Cruz

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Witches of East End and The Descendants comes the love story of young Alexander Hamilton and Elizabeth Schuyler.

 

 

Not ready for spring yet? Here’s what’s coming out in December!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

#FridayReads: RULES FOR VANISHING

Prepare yourself. PREPARE. YOURSELF. Rules for Vanishing may be one of the spookiest books hitting shelves this year. It may be on of the most chilling YA’s ever. Imagine if The Blair Witch Project had a baby with the magical realism genre. It’s terrifying, and we love it. Be warned: the excerpt starts out subtle, but … Continued
See More

Summer time feels! These books will make you sob in the BEST way

If you love to have your heartstring tugged and your tear ducts in working order, you can’t miss these top 3 summer feels paperbacks!   Turtles All the Way Down by John Green   Do we even need to tell you to pick this one up? An unflinching look at OCD and the struggles mental illnesses … Continued
See More

15 Books to Read During Mental Health Month

May is Mental Health Month and we find that books can not only help us understand or sympathize, but can often help us talk about difficult topics. Here are 15 books to read this month to help you start a conversation and #endthestigma.   Turtles All the Way Down by John Green Aza is trying. She is trying … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of The Smoke Thieves 2: The Demon World

Did you hear? Smoke Thieves 2 is almost here! The Demon World is packed with all the epic adventure and intricate plot we fell in love with the first time around, and we can’t wait to see where the second installment takes us! But you don’t have to wait too long, we have an excerpt for you … Continued
See More

11 Fictional Boarding Schools We’d Like to Attend

There is something so exciting about the idea of boarding schools–at least for those of us who never attended one. Living with your friends without the watchful eyes of your parents? The dream, and the perfect setting for a book if we do say so ourselves–Hogwarts, anyone? Here’s a list of ten fictional boarding schools … Continued
See More

7 Alternate Histories to Answer Your Biggest “What If’s…”

Historical fiction is great, but sometimes you need your history with a twist. What if one thing had changed about your favorite historical time period? We’ve rounded up 7 reads that answer some of our favorite “what if’s”.   What if Victorian England ruled the future? That Inevitable Victorian Thing by E.K. Johnston In the … Continued
See More

3 books to read if you still aren’t over Black Mirror

So season 5 of Black Mirror dropped on Netflix and it’s probably safe to say everyone was pretty excited to see Miley Cyrus as a wig-wearing popstar again (shoutout to everyone out there who still isn’t over the last season of Hannah Montana *cries*.) But then, alas, the inevitable happens. You watch. You binge-watch. You run out of episodes. So, … Continued
See More

The 5 MOST MAGICAL YA Books Getting Ready to Hit Shelves

Omg ok so we just need to talk about a few things real quick: We love magic We love new books There are new magical books getting ready to hit shelves so let’s discuss   Wicked Fox by Kat Cho Chances are, you’ve heard a few people screaming about this one already. Because it’s–get ready–KOREAN MYTHOLOGY mixed … Continued
See More

#FridayReads: All the Bad Apples by Möira Fowley-Doyle!

This week’s FridayReads excerpt comes from Möira Fowley-Doyle’s new book, All the Bad Apples! When Deena’s wild older sister Mandy goes missing, presumed dead, Deena refuses to believe it’s true. Especially when letters start arriving–letters from Mandy–which proclaim that their family’s blighted history is not just bad luck or bad decisions…but a curse. Scroll down to … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi for People Who Don’t Like Sci-Fi

Okay, we know, we know–sci-fi often features the usual suspects: aliens, spaceships, and evil villains who wants to destroy the intergalactic world. But let’s be real: there’s also mystery, action, suspense, and of course, romance *wink wink*. Here are some great sci-fi books that’ll make you forget you’re not a sci-fi fan!   Girl Gone … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP