Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

2019 Penguin Teen YA Book Preview!

SHARE

It feels SO far away but 2019 for YA books is shaping up to be GOOOOOOOOOOOOD!

And because we know, you need to know ALL the details as soon as possible to get your TBR’s ready, we created this preview of our breaking news 2019 titles to keep you in the loop of all the best new fantasy, romance, action, thrillers and series ending dramas hitting shelves.

Someday We Will Fly, Rachel DeWoskin – January 22, 2019

SomedayWeWillFly

From the author of Blind, a heart-wrenching coming-of-age story set during World War II in Shanghai, one of the only places Jews without visas could find refuge.

Song of the Dead, Sarah Glenn Marsh – January 29, 2019

SongoftheDead

ODESSA IS BACK!! This followup to the debut fantasy breakout of 2018, Reign of the Fallen is sure to have all the drama that we loved about the first with Sarah Glenn Marsh’s mix of epic action, adventure, romance and badassery!

In this enthralling, heartrending sequel to Reign of the Fallen, Odessa faces the fight of her life as the boundaries between the Dead and the living are challenged in a way more gruesome than ever before.

The Waning Age, S. E. Grove – February 5, 2019

BridgeHome_CV.indd

Imagine not be able to feel? Having your emotions ‘wane’ away when you reach a certain age? In a scarily relatable world, S. E. Grove explores what would happen if we became desensitized to violence and the power of love to change.

In a parallel present San Francisco, Natalia Peña works as a hotel maid, practices martial arts, and cares for her eleven-year-old brother, Calvino. In this version of our world, all children start to “wane” when they reach Cal’s age; by their teen years, they’ve lost their ability to feel emotion. But Cal isn’t waning. When a mysterious corporation kidnaps him for testing, Natalia’s reaction surprises her: she’s crushed, and she’ll do anything to save her brother from their experiments.

The Triumphant, Lesley Livingston – February 12, 2019

Triumphant_cover

Just when you thought Fallon had sorted her life out and her crew’s stunning victory in The Defiant meant she could kick back and relax, THINK AGAIN! And this is the finale – people need to STAY SAFE!!

The final book in the Valiant series takes Fallon and her warrior sisters on an epic journey from the corrupt Roman Republic to the wonder of the ancient world: Alexandria, Egypt.

The Truth and Lies of Ella Black, Emily Barr – February 12, 2019

EllaBlack_cvr_ONLINE

From the author of the “unputdownable” international hit The One Memory of Flora Banks comes a fast-paced cross-continental journey of identity, family, darkness and light, and the ways in which we define ourselves.

The Afterward, E.K. Johnston – February 19, 2019

Afterward

An apprentice knight and a beggar and thief are both the kickass central figures in this EPIC fantasy from E.K. Johnston and what happens AFTER the final battle is won and heroes are crowned. Where does that leave everyone?! If you love YA fantasy, this is the ultimate spin on the genre!

It’s been a year since the mysterious godsgem cured Cadrium’s king and ushered in what promised to be a new golden age. The heroes who brought home the gem are renowned in story and song, but for two fellows on the quest, peace and prosperity don’t come easily. Apprentice Knight Kalanthe Ironheart wasn’t meant for heroism so early in life and Olsa Rhetsdaughter was never meant for heroism at all.

Both girls think their paths are laid out, but the godsgem isn’t quite done with them and that new golden age isn’t a sure thing yet. In a tale both sweepingly epic and intensely personal, Kalanthe and Olsa fight to maintain their newfound independence and to find their way back to each other.

Four Dead Queens, Astrid Scholte – February 26, 2019

FourDeadQueens_CV_LAYERS

This title is HOOOT on the radar, with our exclusive galley drop at BookCon 2018 being an INTENSE moment! But believe us, this book is worth the hype. A single standalone fantasy that will rock your world and a cover that is bae!

Seventeen-year-old Keralie Corrington may seem harmless, but she’s, in fact, one of Quadara’s most skilled thieves and a liar. Varin, on the other hand, is an honest, upstanding citizen of Quadara’s most enlightened region, Eonia. He runs afoul of Keralie when she steals a package from him, putting his life in danger. When Varin attempts to retrieve the package, he and Keralie both find themselves entangled in a conspiracy that leaves all four of Quadara’s queens dead.

Chrysalis, Brendan Reichs – March 5, 2019

We exclusively revealed the final title and DATE at BookCon 2018 and while Brendan was pretty elusive about how he’s going to finish the Genesis series, some of the little clues he gave us had us SCARED – seriously, no one is safe!

The stunning finale of the Project Nemesis trilogy from New York Times bestselling author Brendan Reichs. Although staying alive in this broken world should force Min, Noah, Tack, and the others to form new alliances, old feuds die hard, and the brutality of the earlier Program phases cannot be forgotten.

Lovely War, Julie Berry – March 5, 2019

LovelyWar1

This one is going to have you guessing and guessing and then pondering about fate, love, war and time FOR HOURS afterwards. Weirdly like a cross between Atonement and the Wonder Woman movie …yes, really…Julie Berry’s here to shake your world.

A sweeping, multi-layered romance with a divine twist, by the Printz Honor-winning author of The Passion of Dolssa, set in the perilous days of World Wars I and II.

Shout, Laurie Halse Anderson – March 12, 2019

ShoutTitlecard

Announced with this exclusive and must read interview in The Washington Post, Shout by Laurie Halse Anderson is a startling memoir and call to action that will ignite conversation.

When The Sky Fell on Splendor, Emily Henry – March 12, 2019

If you fell in love with Emily Henry after reading A Million Junes or The Love that Split the World (or both!), then prepare to have your 2019 dreams realized as she returns with a new book!

The Serpent King meets Stranger Things in Emily Henry’s gripping novel about a group of friends in a small town who find themselves dealing with unexpected powers after a cosmic event.

Night Music, Jenn Marie Thorne – March 19, 2019

The romance, the chemistry …this one had us swooning at the first page and JMT (we’re friends like that!) nails the pressure of talent and creativity.

A romantic comedy that sweeps you up with breezy writing and canny social commentary, set behind the scenes of the classical music world during one hot, anything-can-happen, New York City summer. 

Dig, A.S. King – March 26, 2019

Dig1

If you loved the originality and uniqueness of A.S. King’s Still Life With Tornado, Dig is sure to take you on similar journey. Challenging families, surreal and wild – this book will have people talking.

Acclaimed master of the YA novel A. S. King’s eleventh book is a surreal and searing dive into the tangled secrets of an upper-middle-class white family in suburban Pennsylvania and the terrible cost the family’s children pay to maintain the family name.

If I’m Being Honest, Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-BrokaApril 23, 2019

We FELL IN LOVE with Emily and Austin in 2018 and their rom-com chemistry fueled debut Always, Never, Yours. But watch out Owen and Megan because you might have been replaced as our fav Emily’n’Austin OTP.

Mean Girls meets The Taming of the Shrew in this romantic follow-up to Always Never Yours
High school senior Cameron Bright’s reputation can be summed up in one word: bitch. It’s no surprise she’s queen bee at her private L.A. high school—she’s beautiful, talented, and notorious for her cutting and brutal honesty. So when she puts her foot in her mouth in front of her crush, Andrew, she fears she may have lost him for good.

 

NOT YET DATED FOR 2019 BUT COMING! 

All for One: Alex and Eliza Bk 3, Melissa de la Cruz

The final of the Alex and Eliza trilogy! And while the ending as per history has us NERVOUS, we can’t wait to see how Melissa de la Cruz concludes this swoony historical romance.

Can we just change history? Asking for a friend.

Hot Dog Girl, Jennifer Dugan

Screen Shot 2018-06-15 at 12.29.22 PM

Sometimes we get to live tweet meetings in which we first hear about books and Hot Dog Girl was one of those VERY books! It’s sounds Love, Simon levels of adorable and cute and swoony romance and we are HERE FOR IT!

Set in a decrepit-yet-beloved local amusement park, Jennifer Dugan’s sparkling debut coming-of-age romance stars a princess, a pirate, a hot dog, and a carousel operator who find love–and themselves–in unexpected people and unforgettable places.

The Downstairs Girl, Stacey Lee

Screen Shot 2018-06-15 at 12.29.46 PM

Hearing just a tease of the book had us gasping in the most beautiful way. To know that this historical fiction novel will also shine a light on representation of the Chinese-American experience is exciting.

From the critically-acclaimed author of Under a Painted Sky and Outrun the Moon and founding member of We Need Diverse Books comes a powerful novel about identity, betrayal, and the meaning of family. 1890, Atlanta. By day, seventeen-year-old Jo Kuan works as a lady’s maid for the cruel Caroline Payne, the daughter of one of the wealthiest men in Atlanta. But by night, Jo moonlights as the pseudonymous author of a newspaper advice column for “the genteel Southern lady.” When her column becomes wildly popular, she uses the power of the pen to address some of society’s ills, but is not prepared for the backlash that follows when her column challenges fixed ideas about race and gender. Now, Jo, a girl used to living in the shadows, must step into the light to stand up for what she believes in.

Royals Bk 2, Rachel Hawkins

Screen Shot 2018-06-15 at 12.29.14 PM

YOU DON’T UNDERSTAND HOW EXCITED WE ARE FOR THIS BOOK!

If you’ve read Royals, then you know how awesome Princess Flora is. That we get to have a lesbian Princess romance with her as the star = THE BEST!!!!

 

Gumiho, Kat Cho

Screen Shot 2018-06-15 at 12.29.05 PM

Get in line behind us, because this is going to be MAGNIFICENT!!!!

Set in modern-day Seoul and based on Korean mythology. A girl who must kill to survive falls in love with a boy after she rescues him from a goblin, changing the course of her immortal life.

These Witches Don’t Burn, Isabel Sterling

Screen Shot 2018-06-15 at 12.28.39 PM

We never knew what was missing in our lives until we heard about this book, and then we knew and immediately moved this precious gem to the TOP of our witchy TBR!

The contemporary fantasy features a teen witch living in modern-day Salem who discovers that the tension with her ex-girlfriend doesn’t much matter when there’s a Blood Witch on the loose. To stop the attacks and score a second date with the new girl in town, she must uncover who’s causing the deadly fires before her coven is destroyed.

#Bookish

Reasons to Re-Read The Reader This Fall!

As the release date for The Storyteller (aka final book in the The Reader trilogy, aka the series Traci Chee has BLESSED our shelves with) rapidly approaches, the time has come for a re-read (or, if you’re new, just a read!)   Now, we could tell you about why we love this trilogy ourselves, but … Continued
See More

Renée Ahdieh Just Made a HUGE Announcement

So a few days ago, Renée Ahdieh, author of The Wrath and the Dawn and Flame in the Mist (among several other must-reads), *might* have hinted at some special news coming our way pretty soon.   Naturally, everyone couldn’t help but speculate.   What could it be? A movie adaption? A special edition of something? … Continued
See More

Four Questions for Emika Chen heading into Wildcard

We’ve got less than four weeks until Wildcard is out and with the cliffhanger that Warcross left us on, we need to more! Emika Chen has a WHOLE lot of problems to face in Wildcard; who can she trust, who should she trust and can she make it out ALIVE?! Here are four questions we … Continued
See More

These book series are ending in 2018 and we’re not okay

It’s been a stellar year for shelves everywhere. Games were hacked, thrones were claimed, and—let’s face it—tears were shed.   And now, it’s time to say goodbye to seven of these beloved series as they take their bows (…and by “say goodbye” we mean re-read obsessively).   Warcross   It’s okay, we all cried too. A … Continued
See More

Every Book Coming Out in October 2018!

It’s time for Autumn to Fall and with the change of season come a change in To-Be-Read lists everywhere! As October 2018 rolls in and we prepare for colder weather and spookier decor, we’re happy to provide you with the best new books hitting shelves!   10/2: A Map of Days by Ransom Riggs – Miss Peregrine … Continued
See More

Four Questions For Hideo Tanaka Heading into Wildcard

We’re counting down the days until Wildcard is in the world and if you’ve read Warcross, then you already know, this is Hideo Tanaka’s world and we just live in it.  But do we really know Hideo and more importantly, can we ever actually know the real Hideo? The mercurial mystery billionaire has us pondering these … Continued
See More

Last Minute Bookish Costumes for Lazy People

We all know how this goes. You spend most of October binge-watching scary movies, going to corn mazes, and freaking out over pumpkin spice anything. Then, suddenly BOOM. Halloween is actually here and OOPS you forgot to get a costume. Panicking? No worries, we’ve got you covered.   Emika Chen – Warcross   Grab some hair … Continued
See More

The Sisters Before Misters Book We’ve All Been Waiting for Is HERE

“They were a wall of clenched teeth and clasped fists, of blood hot with fire and fight, of voices barely cinched in throats.” FUN FACT: Today is International Talk Like a Pirate Day. That’s right. It’s almost as underrated as National Fresh Spinach Day (March 26!) and other misunderstood annual treasures. You’re welcome. (*cough* we … Continued
See More

14 Powerful Quotes From GLIMMER OF HOPE

Seven months ago, students from Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School led a crowd of approximately one million people calling for an end to gun violence in the epic March for Our Lives. Their movement took over the internet, it took over social media, it took over the news cycle. And that was just the beginning. … Continued
See More

Four Questions for Zero heading into Wildcard

He’s the man behind the helmet, the hacker who wants Warcross over and maybe even Hideo Tanaka dead and he seems to in complete control of everything right now! Before Wildcard arrives in LESS THAN TWO WEEKS, we need to talk with the potentially good/potentially bad man and find out EXACTLY what his game plan is. … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP