Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Four YA Characters Who Pulled a Steve Trevor from Wonder Woman

SHARE

If you’re a fan of the 2017 Wonder Woman movie like us, then you were left pretty devastated by the ending that – SPOILER ALERT – left Steve Trevor (Chris Pine at his most-Chris-tastic) sacrificing himself to save …well everyone.

But with the EPIC new trailer for Wonder Woman 1984 having just been released, you can guess we’re all pretty excited by about the whole STEVE-TREVOR-IS-ALIVE? situation. And while yes, this may seem somewhat shocking, fiction is full of characters who – surprise – aren’t as a dead as you’d believe. So here are four characters from YA that totally pulled a Steve Trevor on us!

Spoiler alert! Of course, all characters mentioned are spoiler alerts for their respective books!

 

Sorcha, The Valiant

valiant

Fallon is the younger sister of a legendary fighter Sorcha, who tragically dies at the hands of Julius Caesar’s army (yeah… that one). When Fallon is captured and sold into the hands of a renowned Gladiatrix trainer, everything seems to be going south for her.

Surprise: Fallon realizes that Sorcha isn’t dead after all, and she’s the one who saved Fallon’s life. Talk about complicated sibling relationships.

 

Dimitri Belikov, Vampire Academy

Vampire Academy PB

Dimitri has a couple of gotcha dead moments. Firstly, in Shadow Kiss when he fights the Strigoi in the cave during the all in St Vlad’s attack. Not so thankfully, he survived that encounter only to be turned and become truly evil. Rose tracks him down and they have a monster showdown, with finally managing to seemingly end his life.

Surprise: weeks later she receives a letter from the not-so-dead man himself, and he’s not so happy!

 

Evan Walker, The 5th Wave

9780525516927_5thWaveAnniversary_CV.indd

Joining Dimitri in the not-really-dead-a-few times stakes is Evan “Not From Around Here” Walker. Towards the end of The 5th Wave, with Cassie – his true love – stuck behind enemy lines at Camp Haven, Evan with his alien enhanced skills, sacrifices himself in massive explosion to get her and her brother out and hopefully end the evil Vosch reign. In The Infinite Sea, Evan again comes to Cassie’s rescue on a few occasions and ends being caught in another explosion that leaves him missing, presuming dead.

Surprise: In The Last Star, Evan is ALIVE but in not so great news, captured by Vosch. His future doesn’t look so bright.

 

Elias Veturius, An Ember in the Ashes

AnEmberintheAshes

Oh Elias, our precious man! When your own mother tries to kill you, death is near from and well, actually… Elias DOES die. No surprise twist. In the epic Kauf Prison break, the fire that was meant to help, actually ends poor Elias’ life! However, his bargain with the Soul Catcher allows him to return to his own body and save those around him. BUT it comes with some pretty big caveats that mean nothing is ever really the same for Elias.

 

BONUS ROUND!

 

Goddess in the Machine

GoddessInTheMachine_ONLINE

If you can’t wait for Wonder Woman 1984, another book that will tide over your TBR is Goddess in the Machine by Lora Beth Johnson! The book’s protagonist Andra is a woman out of time, waking up from a cryogenic sleep much later than she’s supposed to. But whereas Steve Trevor only has six decades’ worth of history to catch up on in Wonder Woman 1984, Andra has much more to catch up on, as she’s missed her time by a THOUSAND years. Steve and Andra could probably swap stories on the best way to bring yourself up to speed on the time you’ve missed—though sadly, the Internet isn’t an option for either of them. (Yikes.)

#WhatsTrending

A Mood Reader’s Roadmap

Are you a mood reader? We’ve got you! We’ve put together a list of reads perfect for all of the reading moods, including some of 2020’s hottest reads and what’s about to hit shelves next! In the mood for a fantasy that will take you away for a bit? You should read… The Kingdom of Back by … Continued
See More

6 Vampire Books to Read While You Wait For Twilight’s Midnight Sun

Stephenie Meyer dropped BIG news that the long anticipated, much talked about Twilight from Edward Cullen’s perspective novel Midnight Sun is coming this August! Of course, that is a few months away and if you’re craving more vampire reads, here are six books to sink your teeth into. 1. Vampire Academy Equal parts swoon and epic. Vampire Academy is … Continued
See More

Unforgettable Siblings in YA for National Sibling Day!

There are a lot of siblings with protagonist brothers or sisters who have a knack for stealing the spotlight on account of being awesome, and we want to take a moment to appreciate them! So, here are 8 of our favorite siblings from YA in honor of National Sibling Day!   1. I’ll Give You the … Continued
See More

Week 2 Recap: The Beautiful Read-Along!

It was week 2 of of sinking our teeth into Renée Ahdieh’s The Beautiful. We have been loving reading this book alongside you all this month and this book is KILLING IT! As week 2 of our Read-Along comes to a close, here are some of our favorite posts from readers who are reading (or re-reading) the book with … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: City of the Uncommon Thief

It’s cover reveal time! Get ready for a dark and intricate fantasy perfect for readers of The Book of Dust and Leigh Bardugo. City of the Uncommon Thief is the story of a quarantined city gripped by fear and of the war that can free it. Scroll down to see the cover and read an excerpt down below! Illustrator: … Continued
See More

This Spell Can’t Last by Isabel Sterling is coming!

Exciting prequel news! If you fell under Isabel Sterling’s spell in These Witches Don’t Burn and are already highly anticipating This Coven Won’t Break this May, prepare yourself. Author Isabel Sterling has a prequel e-novella up her sleeves! Get ready for This Spell Can’t Last (omg that title, right?!) Hannah and Veronica battle a Blood Witch in the thrilling, heartbreaking e-novella prequel to These … Continued
See More

2020 YA Preview!

Hello and WELCOME to the 2020 YA preview! We’re talking all early info on upcoming 2020 books we cannot WAIT to read and all the amazing books out so far this year!   All the Days Past, All the Days to Come by Mildred D. Taylor – January 7, 2020 The saga of the Logan family–made … Continued
See More

Frankly in Love paperback cover reveal

It was one of our favorites last year and so many of you also loved David Yoon’s Frankly in Love! Well prepare to fall in the love the paperback cover! With Frank, Britt and Joy all on the cover, this new illustrated look REALLY brings to life the characters. This new paperback cover will hit … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: THE WOODS ARE ALWAYS WATCHING by Stephanie Perkins

Stephanie Perkins is back with another blood-chilling contemporary horror novel, the perfect companion to her New York Times bestseller There’s Someone Inside Your House (coming to Netflix!!) Get ready for The Woods Are Always Watching, coming September 2020! We are so ready for more scares from Stephanie Perkins. Keep an eye out, because as SOON as we have more info, … Continued
See More

Waiting for Witcher Season 2? Here’s what you should read

Did you binge your way through The Witcher (once, maybe twice…) on Netflix? Over at Penguin Teen, we couldn’t get enough of Geralt of Rivia, Yennefer of Vengerberg, and the engrossing fantasy world they live in. If you’re as eager for season two as we are (and impatiently waiting for them to start on production again), … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP