Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

4 Books to Read if You’re Stoked for the Dumplin’ Movie

SHARE

In case you haven’t heard, Netflix just dropped the trailer for the adaptation of Julie Murphy’s beloved, contemporary YA novel, Dumplin’!

 

So now the internet is getting all:

and

 

So if you’ve already fallen in love with the new trailer for Dumplin’ then…well, first of all: oh my gosh SAME.

But SECONDLY, it’s probably hitting you that we have to wait until DECEMBER for Netflix to bless us with the premiere.

via GIPHY

So, in the meantime, here are four reads for fans of Dumplin’ to keep you distracted/hyped until then!

 

1. Royals

Royals-COVER

If you love utterly unconventional limelight stories, you’ll love Daisy Winters and her refusal to check the typical boxes of what it means to be a “lady”. Sometimes, the royal rulebook just needs a rewrite, ya know?

 

2. The Season

The-Season

Sporty girl completely unprepared for pageant enters a cutthroat competition? Yes, please. This retelling of Pride and Prejudice shares the witty pageant shenanigans we love in Dumplin’ with a good dose of comedy (and did we mention modern Mr. Darcy??). 

 

3. Always Never Yours

Always-Never-Yours-COVER

Not everyone intends to stumble into the public eye, least of all Megan Harper. Always Never Yours is the perfect read for anyone who loved watching Willowdean learn to take control of the limelight and hold onto it.  

 

4. Puddin’

PUDDIN

If you couldn’t get enough of Dumplin’, don’t forget to add the wonderfully empowering sequel Puddin’ to your TBR!

 

Want more Netflix-Originals-inspired goodness? Checkout our picks for fans of The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina!

#WhatsTrending

Get a peek behind the scenes of the THEY’LL NEVER CATCH US book trailer!

Ever wonder what a book trailer looks like behind the scenes? Well, you’re about to get a sneak peek! Jessica Goodman’s They’ll Never Catch Us is hitting shelves July 27th, and we went along for the ride (or should we say run?!) to see what the making of a book trailer is like! First off, have you … Continued
See More

YA books to read for Pride this year!

This Pride Month, we’re celebrating extraordinary stories and voices from the LGBTQIA+ community. From contemporary, to sci-fi, to romance, there’s a little something for everyone on this list, so scroll down for a few of our recommendations to read for Pride this month–and every month after that!   Last Night at the Telegraph Club by Malinda … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: FINDING HER EDGE

If you’re STILL not over the fake-date-skate relationship of Canadian superstars Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir; if The Cutting Edge, Ice Castles, or Netflix’s too quickly cancelled Spinning Out had you binge watching for hours AND if you’re a fan of swoony supportive men helping their love interest realize their dreams – ahem Pacey Witter & Joey … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: Remember Me Gone

Today we’re revealing the cover for Remember Me Gone by Stacy Stokes! Lucy Miller’s family has the unique ability to remove people’s painful memories—but Lucy isn’t prepared for truths she will uncover in this speculative YA debut thriller, perfect for fans of Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. People come from everywhere to forget. At the Memory House, … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: CRAMM THIS BOOK

Today we’re revealing the cover for Cramm This Book by Olivia Seltzer, a book full of the stories and history behind the news today, written by one of Gen Z’s leading voices. Because you can’t change the world if you don’t know what’s going on! Scroll down to see the cover and read a bit … Continued
See More

Find your next read based on your favorite Shadow and Bone character!

Raise your hand if you binged Shadow and Bone as soon as it hit Netflix. Now raise your hand if you watched it as fast as you could and are now (im)patiently waiting for season 2. So if you, like us, fell madly in love with these characters… View this post on Instagram A post shared by … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: The Moth Girl

Cover reveal time! The Moth Girl by Heather Kamins follows the story of Anna. She runs track with her best friend, gets good grades, and sometimes drinks beer at parties. But one day at track practice, Anna falls unconscious . . . but instead of falling down, she falls up, defying gravity in the disturbing first symptom … Continued
See More

5 YA books to read based on your favorite Star Wars TV series

A growing number of TV series, both animated and live action, are charting new courses through that galaxy far, far away. Check out our recommendations for which YA book should be your next read based on your favorite Star Wars TV series!   For Star Wars Rebels Fans: Aetherbound     If you love the … Continued
See More

Reads to look out for in the second half of 2021!

2021 has filled our shelves with incredible reads…and there’s more to come! So, here are the reads to look out for in the second half of 2021!   We Are Inevitable by Gayle Forman – 6/1 Aaron Stein used to think books were miracles. But not anymore. Even though he spends his days working in … Continued
See More

What to read based on your favorite moment from Shadow and Bone

If you totally devoured the new Netflix series Shadow and Bone, you might be like us and and have gone back to catch all the little pieces you missed because you were too busy squealing the first watch through. The casting was perfect. The writing was both funny and poignant. Leigh sighting in the Little Palace! The Pomdrakon … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP