Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

5 books to read if you loved WARCROSS

SHARE

If you loved Warcross (and if Wildcard BROKE YOU) then we have a few more recommendations for your TBR!

 

1. Girl Gone Viral by Arvin Ahmadi

Girl-Gone-Viral

If you wanted to never leave the VR experience of Warcross, you’ll love the enticing VR world of Girl Gone Viral.

Girl Gone Viral is the inventive and hauntingly timely story of a seventeen-year-old coder’s catapult to stardom. What begins as a small data hack to win a contest spirals out of control when Opal Hopper goes viral, digging her deeper into a hole of lies, hacks, and manipulation. How far will Opal go for the answers–or is it the attention–she’s wanted for years?

 

2. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

ready-player-one-cover

Action and adventure in VR? Yes, please. If you loved Warcross’s epic, intense gaming plot, you’ll be crazy about this one too!

 

3. Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

illuminae

You may remember that little the whole WORLD is at stake here detail of Warcross. Well, if you’re all for the high stakes, then you’ll love Illuminae too!

Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.

 

4. Across the Universe by Beth Revis

across-the-universe

This one delves right into the romance and mystery aspects we absolutely adore in Warcross! After being mysteriously awoken from her frozen slumber aboard the Godspeed fifty years before the spaceship’s scheduled landing, Amy must team up with the handsome heir of the ship’s leader, Elder, to solve the mystery of who is trying to kill her…before they succeed in doing so.

 

5. The Waning Age by S.E. Grove

THE-WANING-AGE

The Waning Age falls into that not-your-average-sci-fi that Warcross hangs out in. Can you imagine not being able to feel? Having your emotions ‘wane’ away when you reach a certain age? In a scarily relatable world, S. E. Grove explores what would happen if we became desensitized to violence and the power of love to change.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Excited for summer? Check out all the books we have coming out in June!

#Bookish

Excerpt Alert: Undead Girl Gang

We’ve been spotlighting some of our favorite reads by Latinx authors in honor of Latinx Heritage Month, and today we’re sharing an excerpt of Undead Girl Gang by Lily Anderson! Meet teenage Wiccan Mila Flores, who truly could not care less what you think about her Doc Martens, her attitude, or her weight because she knows that, … Continued
See More

Books to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long!

June may be coming to an end, but we hope you remember to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long. Here are just a few reads to look forward to!     Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram – August 25 In this companion to the award-winning Darius the Great Is Not Okay, Darius suddenly has it all: … Continued
See More

Beware: these books will keep you up at night

Spooky season may not be for a little while yet, but we here at Penguin Teen are all about the year-round spooks. So if you’re looking for the next read that’s going to have you either buying a nightlight or bidding sleep adieu altogether, read on! 👻   Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall   … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of Juliet Takes a Breath!

Summer may be over, but if you’re not quite ready to let go, pick up Juliet Takes a Breath for a breathtaking, unforgettable summer. Gabby Rivera’s debut follows Juliet Milagros Palante, who is leaving the Bronx and headed to Portland, Oregon. She just came out to her family and isn’t sure if her mom will ever speak to … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: The Boy in the Red Dress

In continuation of our #ReadPrideAndBeyond celebration, we’re sharing an excerpt from The Boy in the Red Dress by Kristin Lambert, a rollicking romp of truth, lies, and troubled pasts. New Year’s Eve, 1929. Millie is running the show at the Cloak & Dagger, a swinging speakeasy in the French Quarter, while her aunt is out of town. The new … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of They Wish They Were Us!

They Wish They Were Us is one of 2020’s hottest upcoming books and we need to talk.about.it. Imagine this: Gossip Girl + One of Us Is Lying with just a dash of The Secret History. That gives us this thrilling murder mystery set against the backdrop of an exclusive prep school on Long Island. Scroll down to read the excerpt!   Chapter … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: The Fall of Innocence

The Fall of Innocence by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a gorgeous, haunting, and tragic novel that examines the crippling–and far-reaching–effects of one person’s trauma on her family, her community, and herself. Scroll down to read an excerpt! Emilia searched the sidewalk for the little gifts her birds often left for her, trying not to think of how … Continued
See More

Black Booktubers You Should Be Following

Here is a list of just a few of the Black booktubers you should definitely be following.   Books with Brandie Shanae Follow here   Britney, Melanin Eclectic Follow here   Ochuole, Oh She Reads Follow here   Myonna, Myonna Reads Follow here   Peta-Gay, Comfy Cozy Up Follow here   Justin, Ghost Reader Follow … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: The Kinder Poison

The Kinder Poison is an enthralling fantasy adventure that follows a teenage girl chosen to be the human sacrifice in a deadly game between three heirs who will do anything for the crown. Also, it’s somehow magical, breathtaking, hilarious, and TERRIFYING all at once. Scroll down to read an excerpt! “The gods have woken Sabil’s knife, signaling … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in June

Here’s a sneak peek of what’s hitting shelves this June!   6/2: Jo & Laurie by Melissa de la Cruz and Margaret Stohl – Bestselling authors Margaret Stohl and Melissa de la Cruz bring us a romantic retelling of Little Women starring Jo March and her best friend, the boy next door, Theodore “Laurie” Laurence.   6/2: Beyond … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP