Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

5 books to read if you loved WARCROSS

SHARE

If you loved Warcross (and if Wildcard BROKE YOU) then we have a few more recommendations for your TBR!

 

1. Girl Gone Viral by Arvin Ahmadi

Girl-Gone-Viral

If you wanted to never leave the VR experience of Warcross, you’ll love the enticing VR world of Girl Gone Viral.

Girl Gone Viral is the inventive and hauntingly timely story of a seventeen-year-old coder’s catapult to stardom. What begins as a small data hack to win a contest spirals out of control when Opal Hopper goes viral, digging her deeper into a hole of lies, hacks, and manipulation. How far will Opal go for the answers–or is it the attention–she’s wanted for years?

 

2. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

ready-player-one-cover

Action and adventure in VR? Yes, please. If you loved Warcross’s epic, intense gaming plot, you’ll be crazy about this one too!

 

3. Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

illuminae

You may remember that little the whole WORLD is at stake here detail of Warcross. Well, if you’re all for the high stakes, then you’ll love Illuminae too!

Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.

 

4. Across the Universe by Beth Revis

across-the-universe

This one delves right into the romance and mystery aspects we absolutely adore in Warcross! After being mysteriously awoken from her frozen slumber aboard the Godspeed fifty years before the spaceship’s scheduled landing, Amy must team up with the handsome heir of the ship’s leader, Elder, to solve the mystery of who is trying to kill her…before they succeed in doing so.

 

5. The Waning Age by S.E. Grove

THE-WANING-AGE

The Waning Age falls into that not-your-average-sci-fi that Warcross hangs out in. Can you imagine not being able to feel? Having your emotions ‘wane’ away when you reach a certain age? In a scarily relatable world, S. E. Grove explores what would happen if we became desensitized to violence and the power of love to change.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Excited for summer? Check out all the books we have coming out in June!

#Bookish

Excerpt alert: A River of Royal Blood

Happy #FridayReads! This week, we’re reading A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy, an enthralling debut set in a North African-inspired fantasy world where two sisters must fight to the death to win the crown. We are SO excited for this intense fall fantasy to be hitting shelves in less than a week! Scroll down to read the excerpt! … Continued
See More

5 reasons why James thinks YOU should read War Girls!

Hello again, fellow YA fans! James from Penguin Teen here. We’re well into October, which means it’s time for another Book Haul for our James & Joy Book Club! Watch our October Book Haul here, if you haven’t already:   War Girls by Tochi Onyebuchi is ON SHELVES NOW! And since I’ve selected it as … Continued
See More

Steel Tide: the EPIC Playlist!

If you’re diving back into the world of Seafire with Steel Tide or just discovering the epic trilogy now, we have some seaFIRE jams you’ll want to add to your reading playlist while you do! Scroll down for the Steel Tide playlist!       Still catching up? Read the official Seafire recap! 
See More

LOOKING FOR ALASKA: Episode 2 recap

Catching up on your Looking for Alaska? We’ve recapped episode 2 for you!   Alaska gently wakes Pudge up by screaming in his ear and they all go to breakfast, where… Pudge TOTALLY SCHOOLS the Weekday Warriors with his last words knowledge. Hell yes, Pudge. Class time, and our fav teacher Dr. Hyde is backkkk! But … Continued
See More

Excerpt alert: I Know You Remember

Looking for your next spooky October thriller? WE GOT IT. This week we’re reading I Know You Remember by Jennifer Donaldson! Scroll down to read the excerpt. CHAPTER ONE The urn is smaller than I expected. It’s green—her favorite color—and made of aluminum, and even though it’s less than a foot tall it’s heavy. Dense with her … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of OBVIOUSLY by Akilah Hughes!

Happy #FridayReads! This week we’re obviously reading Obviously by Akilah Hughes! This hilarious, insightful memoir from viral YouTuber and comedian Akilah Hughes is hitting shelves September 24th, scroll down to read the excerpt! What’s in a Name   My name is Akilah Saidah Kamaria Hughes. Contrary to the belief popularized by doctors and substitute teachers, all of … Continued
See More

LOOKING FOR ALASKA: Episode 1 recap

In case you didn’t get the jumpstart of diving right into the Looking for Alaska mini-series on Hulu, we’re recapping the first episode for you to catch up!   The first episode kicks off with a VERY intense flash forward to the scene of a car accident. *reaches for tissues* Flashback to BEFORE Meet Miles. … Continued
See More

A Visitor’s Guide to Callipolis

Can’t wait for Fireborne? We were lucky enough to get a visitor’s guide from author Rosaria Munda! Visit the world of Fireborne belolw! Welcome to the island of Callipolis, the northernmost city-state on the dragon-birthing sea! Whether you’re here to catch a dragonriding tournament, tour a few grand palaces from the old regime, or hike … Continued
See More

Beware: these books will keep you up at night

Spooky season is in full swing, and in honor of it we’re counting down our top 10 reads that will have you either buying a nightlight or bidding sleep adieu altogether! 👻   Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall   Rules for Vanishing is a chilling combination of The Blair Witch Project and Stranger Things … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of WAR GIRLS

Tochi Onyebuchi’s newest heart-stopping novel WAR GIRLS is getting ready to hit shelves next month! But since that feels like forever, we’re sharing an excerpt today. Scroll down to read the first chapter! Chapter 1 Southeastern Nigeria, April 2172 The first thing Onyii does every morning is take off her arm. Other War Girls have gotten used … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP