Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

5 books to read if you loved WARCROSS

SHARE

If you loved Warcross (and if Wildcard BROKE YOU) then we have a few more recommendations for your TBR!

 

1. Girl Gone Viral by Arvin Ahmadi

Girl-Gone-Viral

If you wanted to never leave the VR experience of Warcross, you’ll love the enticing VR world of Girl Gone Viral.

Girl Gone Viral is the inventive and hauntingly timely story of a seventeen-year-old coder’s catapult to stardom. What begins as a small data hack to win a contest spirals out of control when Opal Hopper goes viral, digging her deeper into a hole of lies, hacks, and manipulation. How far will Opal go for the answers–or is it the attention–she’s wanted for years?

 

2. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

ready-player-one-cover

Action and adventure in VR? Yes, please. If you loved Warcross’s epic, intense gaming plot, you’ll be crazy about this one too!

 

3. Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

illuminae

You may remember that little the whole WORLD is at stake here detail of Warcross. Well, if you’re all for the high stakes, then you’ll love Illuminae too!

Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.

 

4. Across the Universe by Beth Revis

across-the-universe

This one delves right into the romance and mystery aspects we absolutely adore in Warcross! After being mysteriously awoken from her frozen slumber aboard the Godspeed fifty years before the spaceship’s scheduled landing, Amy must team up with the handsome heir of the ship’s leader, Elder, to solve the mystery of who is trying to kill her…before they succeed in doing so.

 

5. The Waning Age by S.E. Grove

THE-WANING-AGE

The Waning Age falls into that not-your-average-sci-fi that Warcross hangs out in. Can you imagine not being able to feel? Having your emotions ‘wane’ away when you reach a certain age? In a scarily relatable world, S. E. Grove explores what would happen if we became desensitized to violence and the power of love to change.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Excited for summer? Check out all the books we have coming out in June!

#Bookish

Cover Reveal: THE AFTERWARD by E.K. Johnston got a glow-up!

If you fell head over heels for the romantic high fantasy The Afterward last year from E.K. Johnston, bestselling author of Star Wars: Ahsoka and Exit, Pursued by a Bear, then GET READY! Because it’s making a comeback with an all new cover and it. is. STUNNING! Are your eyeballs ready? Yes? Here you go. I KNOW RIGHT?! In … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: THE STORM OF LIFE

If The Brilliant Death left you dying for book 2, get ready! Because The Storm of Life is getting ready to hit shelves THIS MONTH and we have an excerpt today! Scroll down to read!     When I was a little girl, my father’s tours of Vinalia carried him far from home. While he conducted di Sangro business … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in January!

New year, new you, and NEW BOOKS TOO!   1/7: All the Days Past, All the Days to Come by Mildred D. Taylor – The saga of the Logan family–made famous in the Newbery Medal-winning Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry–concludes in a long-awaited and deeply fulfilling story.   1/7: Flowers in the Gutter by K.R. Gaddy – The true story of the Edelweiss Pirates, … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: FLY LIKE A GIRL

Happy #FridayReads! This week, we’re reading Fly Girl Like a Girl by Mary Jennings Hegar, the inspiring true story of a brave and determined woman who gave her all for her country, her sense of justice, and for women everywhere. Soon to be a major motion picture! Scroll down to read the excerpt. PROLOGUE I glanced out the … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: The Queen’s Assassin

Happy #FridayReads! This week’s, we’re reading The Queen’s Assassin by Melissa de la Cruz (and drooling over the cover!) Get ready for the the first novel in a sweeping YA fantasy-romance duet about a deadly assassin, his mysterious apprentice, and the country they are sworn to protect. Scroll down to read an excerpt! Chapter One Shadow Something … Continued
See More

Your recap guide before reading THE CONFERENCE OF THE BIRDS

2020 is right around the corner, and with it comes the fifth book in the Miss Peregrine series, The Conference of the Birds! And after that INSANE ending of A Map of Days? We’re dying to know what comes next. But in case it’s been a whole year since you read A Map of Days, let’s review the major … Continued
See More

Best of Bookstagram: All the Days Past, All the Days to Come

It is only JANUARY and one thing is very clear: 2020 is raising the bar on covers across the board. Exhibit A: All the Days Past, All the Days to Come. Aside from being an incredible read and long-awaited finale to the Logan Family series, this book is just plain beautiful. Here are some of … Continued
See More

Best Book Club Reads of the Year!

Some reads just require a buddy to talk about them with. And some reads require more than just one person to discuss, so here are our favorite book club picks of the year!   Frankly in Love by David Yoon You’ll have a lot of feelings both while and after reading this book. Get ready to bring a lot of … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of They Wish They Were Us!

They Wish They Were Us is one of 2020’s hottest upcoming books and we need to talk.about.it. Imagine this: Gossip Girl + One of Us Is Lying with just a dash of The Secret History. That gives us this thrilling murder mystery set against the backdrop of an exclusive prep school on Long Island. Scroll down to read the excerpt!     … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: Alice by Heart

Happy #FridayReads! This week, we’re reading Alice by Heart by Steven Sater. A young girl takes refuge in a London Tube station during WWII and confronts grief, loss, and first love with the help of her favorite book, Alice in Wonderland, in the debut novel from Tony Award-winning playwright Steven Sater. Scroll down to read the excerpt! … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP