Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

6 books to read with your extra day this Leap Year!

SHARE

Congrats! It’s a Leap Year and that means you have been granted a whole extra day of February to read to your heart’s content. Yes, yes, we know it can be confusing when the calendar changes on you like this, so here are some twisty timeline books we recommend for it!

 

As Many Nows as I Can Get by Shana Youngdahl

 As-Many-Nows-As-I-Can-Get-cover1

Talk about crazy timelines. This book has a The Last Five Years vibe to it with all it’s backwards and forwards timelines, but Shana Youngdahl is sort of brilliant and pulls it off perfectly.

About the book: Scarlett and David have known each other all their lives in small-town Graceville, Colorado, where David is just another mountain in the background, until, one day, he is suddenly so much more than part of the landscape. Magnetic, spontaneous, David is a gravitational force. And Scarlett, pragmatic, wry, eye on the future, welcomes the pull he has on her even as she resists it.

Moving between the present and the past, this is the story of a seemingly grounded girl who’s pulled into a lightning-strike romance with an electric-charged boy, and the enormity of the aftermath. Smart, bold, and emotionally deep, Shana Youngdahl’s debut explores grief, guilt, and reconciling who you think you need to be with the person you’ve been all along. It’s an aching, transporting reminder that between the past that shapes us and the unknowable future, we have only the present to forgive ourselves and forge ahead.

 

Layoverland by Gabby Noone

Layoverland

Talk about having some extra time. When Bae dies and finds herself in purgatory, she finds she has a lot of extra time on her hands. Because time ISN’T. MOVING. Plus the flashbacks leading up to her *cough* situation makes this book full of dark humor and timeline twistiness the perfect read for Leap Day!

About the book: Beatrice Fox deserves to go straight to hell.

At least, that’s what she believes. Her last day on Earth, she ruined the life of the person she loves most–her little sister, Emmy. So when Bea awakens from a fatal car accident to find herself on an airplane headed who knows where, she’s confused, to say the least.

Once on the ground, Bea receives some truly harrowing news: she’s in purgatory. If she ever wants to catch a flight to heaven, she’ll have to help five thousand souls figure out what’s keeping them from moving on.

But one of Bea’s first assignments is Caleb, the boy who caused her accident, and the last person Bea would ever want to send to the pearly gates. And as much as Bea would love to see Caleb suffer for dooming her to a seemingly endless future of eating bad airport food and listening to other people’s problems, she can’t help but notice that he’s kind of cute, and sort of sweet, and that maybe, despite her best efforts, she’s totally falling for him.

 

 

Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall

 Rules-for-Vanishing

Can’t go wrong with a mixed media novel. This one jumps all over the place, between video recordings, text messages, interviews, and letters, this will make your mind spin in the BEST way possible. Get ready to binge this straight into March.

 

 

We Walked the Sky by Lisa Fiedler

 we-walked-the-sky

Historical fiction fans, this one’s for you! This book is the perfect balance of past and present in a stunning, multigenerational story about two teenagers: Victoria, who joins the circus in 1965, and her granddaughter, Callie, who leaves the circus fifty years later.

About the book: In 1965 seventeen-year-old Victoria, having just escaped an unstable home, flees to the ultimate place for dreamers and runaways–the circus. Specifically, the VanDrexel Family Circus where, among the lion tamers, roustabouts, and trapeze artists, Victoria hopes to start a better life.

Fifty years later, Victoria’s sixteen-year-old granddaughter Callie is thriving. A gifted and focused tightrope walker with dreams of being a VanDrexel high wire legend just like her grandmother, Callie can’t imagine herself anywhere but the circus. But when Callie’s mother accepts her dream job at an animal sanctuary in Florida just months after Victoria’s death, Callie is forced to leave her lifelong home behind.

Feeling unmoored and out of her element, Callie pores over memorabilia from her family’s days on the road, including a box that belonged to Victoria when she was Callie’s age. In the box, Callie finds notes that Victoria wrote to herself with tips and tricks for navigating her new world. Inspired by this piece of her grandmother’s life, Callie decides to use Victoria’s circus prowess to navigate the uncharted waters of public high school.

 

 

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

 51nx5xk7tFL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_

As if we could leave this off the list. A CLASSIC.

About the book: It was a dark and stormy night.
Out of this wild night, a strange visitor comes to the Murry house and beckons Meg, her brother Charles Wallace, and their friend Calvin O’Keefe on a most dangerous and extraordinary adventure – one that will threaten their lives and our universe.
Winner of the 1963 Newbery Medal, A Wrinkle in Time is the first book in Madeleine L’Engle’s classic Time Quintet.

 

The Conference of the Birds by Ransom Riggs

 Conference-of-the-Birds

Um. HELLO. Did someone say time loop?! Yup. This series understands the idea of Leap Day on a whole new level.

 

 

 

Ready for March? Here’s what’s about to hit shelves!

#WhatsTrending

A Mood Reader’s Roadmap

Are you a mood reader? We’ve got you! We’ve put together a list of reads perfect for all of the reading moods, including some of 2020’s hottest reads and what’s about to hit shelves next! In the mood for a fantasy that will take you away for a bit? You should read… The Kingdom of Back by … Continued
See More

6 Vampire Books to Read While You Wait For Twilight’s Midnight Sun

Stephenie Meyer dropped BIG news that the long anticipated, much talked about Twilight from Edward Cullen’s perspective novel Midnight Sun is coming this August! Of course, that is a few months away and if you’re craving more vampire reads, here are six books to sink your teeth into. 1. Vampire Academy Equal parts swoon and epic. Vampire Academy is … Continued
See More

Unforgettable Siblings in YA for National Sibling Day!

There are a lot of siblings with protagonist brothers or sisters who have a knack for stealing the spotlight on account of being awesome, and we want to take a moment to appreciate them! So, here are 8 of our favorite siblings from YA in honor of National Sibling Day!   1. I’ll Give You the … Continued
See More

Week 2 Recap: The Beautiful Read-Along!

It was week 2 of of sinking our teeth into Renée Ahdieh’s The Beautiful. We have been loving reading this book alongside you all this month and this book is KILLING IT! As week 2 of our Read-Along comes to a close, here are some of our favorite posts from readers who are reading (or re-reading) the book with … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: City of the Uncommon Thief

It’s cover reveal time! Get ready for a dark and intricate fantasy perfect for readers of The Book of Dust and Leigh Bardugo. City of the Uncommon Thief is the story of a quarantined city gripped by fear and of the war that can free it. Scroll down to see the cover and read an excerpt down below! Illustrator: … Continued
See More

This Spell Can’t Last by Isabel Sterling is coming!

Exciting prequel news! If you fell under Isabel Sterling’s spell in These Witches Don’t Burn and are already highly anticipating This Coven Won’t Break this May, prepare yourself. Author Isabel Sterling has a prequel e-novella up her sleeves! Get ready for This Spell Can’t Last (omg that title, right?!) Hannah and Veronica battle a Blood Witch in the thrilling, heartbreaking e-novella prequel to These … Continued
See More

2020 YA Preview!

Hello and WELCOME to the 2020 YA preview! We’re talking all early info on upcoming 2020 books we cannot WAIT to read and all the amazing books out so far this year!   All the Days Past, All the Days to Come by Mildred D. Taylor – January 7, 2020 The saga of the Logan family–made … Continued
See More

Frankly in Love paperback cover reveal

It was one of our favorites last year and so many of you also loved David Yoon’s Frankly in Love! Well prepare to fall in the love the paperback cover! With Frank, Britt and Joy all on the cover, this new illustrated look REALLY brings to life the characters. This new paperback cover will hit … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: THE WOODS ARE ALWAYS WATCHING by Stephanie Perkins

Stephanie Perkins is back with another blood-chilling contemporary horror novel, the perfect companion to her New York Times bestseller There’s Someone Inside Your House (coming to Netflix!!) Get ready for The Woods Are Always Watching, coming September 2020! We are so ready for more scares from Stephanie Perkins. Keep an eye out, because as SOON as we have more info, … Continued
See More

Waiting for Witcher Season 2? Here’s what you should read

Did you binge your way through The Witcher (once, maybe twice…) on Netflix? Over at Penguin Teen, we couldn’t get enough of Geralt of Rivia, Yennefer of Vengerberg, and the engrossing fantasy world they live in. If you’re as eager for season two as we are (and impatiently waiting for them to start on production again), … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP