Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

5 Reads to Take Back to School!

SHARE

Summer may be coming to an end, but the good reads continue. So get that backpack ready, because we’re here with 5 reads that are perfect to take back to school with you!

 

Both Sides Now by Peyton Thomas

BothSidesNow_Online

A witty and warm-hearted novel about a trans teen finding his place in the world perfect for fans of  Red, White and Royal Blue

There’s only one thing standing between Finch Kelly and a full-blown case of high school senioritis: the National Speech & Debate Tournament. Taking home the gold would not only be the pinnacle of Finch’s debating career, but the perfect way to launch himself into his next chapter: college in Washington, DC, and a history-making career as the first trans congressman. What could possibly go wrong?

Well, for starters, Finch could develop a teeny tiny crush on his very attractive, very taken, and very gay debate partner, Jonah. Never mind that Finch has never considered whether he’s interested in more than just girls. And that dream of college in DC? Finch hasn’t exactly been accepted anywhere yet, let alone received the full-ride scholarship he’ll need to make this dream a reality.

Worst of all, though, is this year’s topic for Nationals: transgender rights. If he wants to cinch the gold, and get into college, Finch might have to argue against his own humanity.

People say there are two sides to every argument. But, as Finch is about to discover, some things—like who you are and who you love—are not up for debate.

 

Perfectly Parvin by Olivia Abtahi

Perfectly Parvin

Fourteen-year-old Iranian-American Parvin Mohammadi sets out to win the ultimate date to homecoming in this heartfelt and outright hilarious debut.

Parvin Mohammadi has just been dumped–only days after receiving official girlfriend status. Not only is she heartbroken, she’s humiliated. Enter high school heartthrob Matty Fumero, who just might be the smoking-hot cure to all her boy problems. If Parvin can get Matty to ask her to Homecoming, she’s positive it will prove to herself and her ex that she’s girlfriend material after all. There’s just one problem: Matty is definitely too cool for bassoon-playing, frizzy-haired, Cheeto-eating Parvin. Since being herself hasn’t worked for her in the past (see aforementioned dumping), she decides to start acting like the women in her favorite rom-coms. Those women aren’t loud, they certainly don’t cackle when they laugh, and they smile much more than they talk.

But Parvin discovers that being a rom-com dream girl is much harder than it looks. Also hard? The parent-mandated Farsi lessons. A confusing friendship with a boy who’s definitely not supposed to like her. And hardest of all, the ramifications of the Muslim ban on her family in Iran. Suddenly, being herself has never been more important.

Olivia Abtahi’s debut is as hilarious as it is heartfelt–a delightful tale where, amid the turmoil of high school friendships and crushes, being yourself is always the perfect way to be.

 

They’ll Never Catch Us by Jessica Goodman

they'll never catch us

From rising star Jessica Goodman, author of They Wish They Were Us, comes a new fast-paced thriller about two sisters vying for the top spot on their cross-country team—until a teammate’s disappearance throws their lives off course.

Stella and Ellie Steckler are only a year apart, but their different personalities make their relationship complicated. Stella is single-minded, driven, and she keeps to herself. Cross-country running is her life and she won’t let anything get in the way of being the best. Her sister Ellie is a talented runner too, but she also lets herself have fun. She has friends. She goes to parties. She has a life off the course.

The sisters do have one thing in common, though: the new girl, Mila Keene. Both Stecklers’ lives are upended when Mila comes to town. At first, Ellie and Stella view the new star athlete as a threat. But soon Ellie can’t help but be drawn to her warm, charming personality. After her best friend moved away and her first boyfriend betrayed her, Ellie’s been looking for a friend to share her secrets. Stella finds herself noticing the ways she and Mila are similar. Mila is smart and strong–she’s someone Stella can finally connect with. As the two get closer, Stella becomes something she vowed she’d never be: distracted.

With regionals approaching and college scouts taking notice, the pressure is on. Each girl has their future on the line and they won’t let friendships get in their way. But then, suddenly, Mila goes out on a training run and never returns. No one knows what happened, but all eyes are on the Steckler sisters.

 

The Passing Playbook by Isaac Fitzsimons

passing playbook

Love, Simon meets Bend It Like Beckham in this feel-good contemporary romance about a trans athlete who must decide between fighting for his right to play and staying stealth.

Fifteen-year-old Spencer Harris is a proud nerd, an awesome big brother, and a David Beckham in training. He’s also transgender. After transitioning at his old school leads to a year of isolation and bullying, Spencer gets a fresh start at Oakley, the most liberal private school in Ohio.

At Oakley, Spencer seems to have it all: more accepting classmates, a decent shot at a starting position on the boys’ soccer team, great new friends, and maybe even something more than friendship with one of his teammates. The problem is, no one at Oakley knows Spencer is trans—he’s passing.

But when a discriminatory law forces Spencer’s coach to bench him, Spencer has to make a choice: cheer his team on from the sidelines or publicly fight for his right to play, even though it would mean coming out to everyone—including the guy he’s falling for.

 

Hello (From Here) by Chandler Baker and Wesley King

HelloFromHere_ONLINE

A heartfelt, witty, and thought-provoking YA love story about two teens who fall for each other while forced apart during quarantine, written by two New York Times bestselling authors, and for fans of Five Feet ApartAnna and the French Kiss, and My Life Next Door

Maxine and Jonah meet in the canned goods aisle just as California is going into lockdown. Max’s part-time job as a personal grocery shopper is about to transform into a hellish gauntlet. Jonah’s preexisting anxiety is about to become an epic daily struggle. As Max and Jonah get to know each other through FaceTime dates, socially distanced playground hangs, and the escalating heartbreaks of the pandemic, they’re pushed apart by what they don’t share and pulled closer by what they do.

As thoughtful, probing, and informed as it is buoyant, romantic, and funny, Hello (From Here) cuts across differences in class, privilege, and mental health, all thrown into stark relief by the COVID-19 pandemic. Here’s a novel that looks at the first two months of the quarantine, and adds falling in love to the mess.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hearing a lot about Beasts of Prey by Ayana Gray? Here’s your 101 guide to 2021’s biggest fantasy book!

#ShelfGoals

Halloween Books: Use the Scare-O-Meter to Find Your Perfect Scary Read!

Halloween is just around that corner, and we are SO read-y for all the Halloween reads and scares! While we know some of you are here for those up-all-night chilling chapters, we know that others may be looking to get some shut-eye after that last chapter. So, we’ve broken our favorite Halloween reads into three degrees of … Continued
See More

Duologies that make really cute couples

Some duologies just make the absolute perfect couple. And we’re here to give you 9 that belong together on your shelf! The Goddess in the Machine Duology The plot twists ALONE will have you up all night. We can’t wait to see this duology completed on August 24th! The Kinder Poison Duology Action, royalty, a … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: LIVING BEYOND BORDERS

Living Beyond Borders is coming to shelves August 17th!  In this mixed-media collection of short stories, personal essays, poetry, and comics, this celebrated group of authors share the borders they have crossed, the struggles they have pushed through, and the two cultures they continue to navigate as Mexican Americans. Living Beyond Borders is at once an eye-opening, … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx & Hispanic Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx & Hispanic Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx and Hispanic authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   When We Make It by Elisabet Velasquez  An unforgettable debut young adult novel-in-verse that redefines what it … Continued
See More

17 Love Stories Gone Wrong

We all love a good love story…but not all love stories necessarily have smooth courses (or happy endings). Come to think of it, a lot of love stories have a few bumps (or 200) along the way. Here are 17 love stories that don’t go quite as you’d expect! Super Fake Love Song by David Yoon It … Continued
See More

Scariest Books in YA for Your List

Calling all scary book lovers! If you love to pick up a book you absolutely canNOT put down, here are a few you’ll definitely want on your list.   The Taking of Jake Livingston by Ryan Douglass Get Out meets Danielle Vega in this YA social thriller where survival is not a guarantee. Sixteen-year-old Jake Livingston … Continued
See More

Completed YA series you can read start to finish right now!

Is waiting for the next book an absolute struggle for you? We understand. So we put together a list of completed YA series you can read start to finish today!   An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir Set in a rich, high-fantasy world inspired by ancient Rome, Sabaa Tahir’s AN EMBER IN THE … Continued
See More

Read the first 4 chapters of DARK AND SHALLOW LIES

Dark and Shallow Lies by Ginny Myers Sain is the twisty supernatural thriller you need in your life. And we’re sharing the first 4 chapters TODAY! La Cachette, Louisiana, is the worst place to be if you have something to hide. This tiny town, where seventeen-year-old Grey spends her summers, is the self-proclaimed Psychic Capital … Continued
See More

Love triangles we LOVE in YA!

Love a good love triangle? Here are a few of our recommendations if you’re looking for your next love triangle to feel deeply conflicted over!   Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram In this companion to the award-winning Darius the Great Is Not Okay, Darius suddenly has it all: a boyfriend, an internship, a spot … Continued
See More

22 Mystery Books That Will Keep You Guessing

There’s nothing like the adrenaline rush of reading a mystery book, and we’re here to tell you about 22 that will absolutely stump you. Read on for our list of favorite YA mysteries that are ANYTHING but elementary, my dear Watson.   They’ll Never Catch Us by Jessica Goodman  Clue you’ll love it: Dangerously competitive sisters, … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP