Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

5 reasons why James chose Frankly in Love as his book club pick!

SHARE

Hey there, fellow YA fans! It’s James from Penguin Teen. You may have seen that we’ve just launched the James & Joy Book Club! Watch our September Book Haul, featuring all the new books that we have on shelves this month:

 

 

As you know, I’ve selected Frankly in Love by David Yoon as my September Book Club Pick. If you’re curious about why I picked it, here’s a full rundown of why (to be quite frank) I’m in love with this book!

 

1. I never thought I’d see myself in a YA protagonist.

As an Asian American, I wish I’d had Frankly in Love when I was growing up. The book illustrates specific experiences from the Asian American community that so rarely receive mainstream representation in media and books, and I think the specificity of the story will resonate with readers from all backgrounds and ages.

 

2. It’s honest about what it’s like to be a teenager.

Frankly in Love bench

Whether you’re in high school right now or looking back to your high school years, Frankly in Love illustrates the reality of being a teenager—the good, the bad, and the in between.

 

3. It’s about love in all its forms.

The book’s protagonist, 17-year-old Frank Li, finds himself caught between his Korean parents’ expectations (who only want him to date a Korean girl) and his crush on his friend Brit Means, who is white. Frank loves his family, but he struggles as their expectations for him make it difficult for him to date the girl he wants to be with.

My all-time favorite quote from the book is, “We all just want to love who we want to love.” And really, at the end of the day, isn’t that something we all just want to do?

(Also, the above scene is from the epic trailer for the book, which you can watch HERE!)

 

4. It’s FUNNY!

Frankly multiple copies

Humor is an integral part of storytelling in any form, and Frankly in Love nails it so. forking. well. Frank channels his life through such a unique lens, which balances the gravity of the story with just the right amount of funny.

 

5. The author, David Yoon, is downright awesome (and I got to meet him when he visited our office).

 

James-meets-David-Yoon

Yes, I was grinning the whole time and trying (unsuccessfully) to hold in my emotions about his book.

 

P.S. Shout-out to the person who commented on our book haul video to say that “James’s voice is so soothing I could listen to him all day.” To me, my voice sounds nasally whenever I use it, so I’m glad someone feels differently about it! 😂

 

Frankly in Love is on shelves now! Want to meet David Yoon on his book tour? See if he’s coming to a city near you!

 

Have you read about Joy’s pick yet? She picked Rules for Vanishing, and here are her 5 reasons why!

#Bookish

Books to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long!

June may be coming to an end, but we hope you remember to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long. Here are just a few reads to look forward to!     Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram – August 25 In this companion to the award-winning Darius the Great Is Not Okay, Darius suddenly has it all: … Continued
See More

Beware: these books will keep you up at night

Spooky season may not be for a little while yet, but we here at Penguin Teen are all about the year-round spooks. So if you’re looking for the next read that’s going to have you either buying a nightlight or bidding sleep adieu altogether, read on! 👻   Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall   … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of VERONA COMICS!

From the author of Hot Dog Girl comes a fresh and funny queer YA contemporary novel about two teens who fall in love in an indie comic book shop. Scroll down to read an excerpt of Verona Comics! Chapter One Jubilee “You look like you’re being tortured,” Jayla says. “This is supposed to be fun.” Easy to … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: The Boy in the Red Dress

In continuation of our #ReadPrideAndBeyond celebration, we’re sharing an excerpt from The Boy in the Red Dress by Kristin Lambert, a rollicking romp of truth, lies, and troubled pasts. New Year’s Eve, 1929. Millie is running the show at the Cloak & Dagger, a swinging speakeasy in the French Quarter, while her aunt is out of town. The new … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of They Wish They Were Us!

They Wish They Were Us is one of 2020’s hottest upcoming books and we need to talk.about.it. Imagine this: Gossip Girl + One of Us Is Lying with just a dash of The Secret History. That gives us this thrilling murder mystery set against the backdrop of an exclusive prep school on Long Island. Scroll down to read the excerpt!   Chapter … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: THE UNLEASHED

If The Haunted terrified you last summer, get ready! In the chilling sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that even though Steele House is gone, the hauntings in Drearfield are far from over — and it’s up to her to stop them. Scroll down to start reading the sequel, The Unleashed! The clock beside Samantha Davidson’s bed read 3:17 … Continued
See More

Black Booktubers You Should Be Following

Here is a list of just a few of the Black booktubers you should definitely be following.   Books with Brandie Shanae Follow here   Britney, Melanin Eclectic Follow here   Ochuole, Oh She Reads Follow here   Myonna, Myonna Reads Follow here   Peta-Gay, Comfy Cozy Up Follow here   Justin, Ghost Reader Follow … Continued
See More

Read the first 4 chapters of BEYOND THE BREAK

For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, if you count her faith… and that’s where things may get complicated. Scroll down to read the excerpt! Chapter One The first time a guy felt me up was in the … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in June

Here’s a sneak peek of what’s hitting shelves this June!   6/2: Jo & Laurie by Melissa de la Cruz and Margaret Stohl – Bestselling authors Margaret Stohl and Melissa de la Cruz bring us a romantic retelling of Little Women starring Jo March and her best friend, the boy next door, Theodore “Laurie” Laurence.   6/2: Beyond … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: Forged in Fire and Stars

Forged in Fire and Stars by Andrea Robertson just hit shelves and we’re sharing an excerpt! Games of Thrones meets An Ember in the Ashes in this action-packed fantasy from the internationally bestselling author of the Nightshade series. Ara has always known the legend of the Loresmith: the blacksmith who served alongside the kings and queens of Saetlund, forging legendary … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP