Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Juliet Takes a Breath reborn: 5 reasons its rise to publication is important

SHARE

Juliet is back! You may have heard that we’re re-releasing Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera, which was previously published in paperback, now in hardcover for the first time. That makes now the perfect time to celebrate what makes Juliet’s story so special, so here are five reasons why this book’s publication matters to old and new readers alike!

1. It’s about family—all its messy, lovable parts.

 

When Juliet comes out to her family, her relationship with her mother becomes more challenging. Yet despite the ensuing divide between them, the story focuses on how Juliet and her mom both fight to preserve their bond, as well as their love for each other.

 

2. Juliet just wants to find her place in the world.

As a self-proclaimed Puerto Rican baby dyke from the Bronx, Juliet is constantly searching for answers about who she is, and who she should be. Perhaps the hardest question she encounters is how to be yourself—and Juliet discovers that doing so is a brave, necessary act.

 

3. It’s laugh-out-loud hilarious.

It can be a lot of fun to figure out who you are, and Juliet has so many new experiences throughout the book that she just rolls with it. One of the chapters is entitled, “When All Else Fails, Take a F&#king Nap” (censors ours). And if those aren’t words to live by, we don’t know what are!

 

4. Really, it will give you a whole bucket of emotions.

Coming-of-age stories are gritty and powerful, and Juliet Takes a Breath is no exception. If you need someone to laugh with, cry to, or hug (from across the Internet), we’ll be here for you after you finish reading!

 

5. The hardcover is just so dang BEAUTIFUL.

JulietTakesaBreath_endpapers

Plus, some books look so good undressed. Juliet Takes a Breath has a special embossed design underneath its dust jacket, so make sure to unwrap it to experience the hardcover in all its eye-catching glory!

 

Ready to meet Juliet? The hardcover edition is on shelves September 17th, so get your copy here!

#Bookish

Books to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long!

June may be coming to an end, but we hope you remember to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long. Here are just a few reads to look forward to!     Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram – August 25 In this companion to the award-winning Darius the Great Is Not Okay, Darius suddenly has it all: … Continued
See More

Beware: these books will keep you up at night

Spooky season may not be for a little while yet, but we here at Penguin Teen are all about the year-round spooks. So if you’re looking for the next read that’s going to have you either buying a nightlight or bidding sleep adieu altogether, read on! 👻   Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall   … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of VERONA COMICS!

From the author of Hot Dog Girl comes a fresh and funny queer YA contemporary novel about two teens who fall in love in an indie comic book shop. Scroll down to read an excerpt of Verona Comics! Chapter One Jubilee “You look like you’re being tortured,” Jayla says. “This is supposed to be fun.” Easy to … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: The Boy in the Red Dress

In continuation of our #ReadPrideAndBeyond celebration, we’re sharing an excerpt from The Boy in the Red Dress by Kristin Lambert, a rollicking romp of truth, lies, and troubled pasts. New Year’s Eve, 1929. Millie is running the show at the Cloak & Dagger, a swinging speakeasy in the French Quarter, while her aunt is out of town. The new … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of They Wish They Were Us!

They Wish They Were Us is one of 2020’s hottest upcoming books and we need to talk.about.it. Imagine this: Gossip Girl + One of Us Is Lying with just a dash of The Secret History. That gives us this thrilling murder mystery set against the backdrop of an exclusive prep school on Long Island. Scroll down to read the excerpt!   Chapter … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: THE UNLEASHED

If The Haunted terrified you last summer, get ready! In the chilling sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that even though Steele House is gone, the hauntings in Drearfield are far from over — and it’s up to her to stop them. Scroll down to start reading the sequel, The Unleashed! The clock beside Samantha Davidson’s bed read 3:17 … Continued
See More

Black Booktubers You Should Be Following

Here is a list of just a few of the Black booktubers you should definitely be following.   Books with Brandie Shanae Follow here   Britney, Melanin Eclectic Follow here   Ochuole, Oh She Reads Follow here   Myonna, Myonna Reads Follow here   Peta-Gay, Comfy Cozy Up Follow here   Justin, Ghost Reader Follow … Continued
See More

Read the first 4 chapters of BEYOND THE BREAK

For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, if you count her faith… and that’s where things may get complicated. Scroll down to read the excerpt! Chapter One The first time a guy felt me up was in the … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in June

Here’s a sneak peek of what’s hitting shelves this June!   6/2: Jo & Laurie by Melissa de la Cruz and Margaret Stohl – Bestselling authors Margaret Stohl and Melissa de la Cruz bring us a romantic retelling of Little Women starring Jo March and her best friend, the boy next door, Theodore “Laurie” Laurence.   6/2: Beyond … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: Forged in Fire and Stars

Forged in Fire and Stars by Andrea Robertson just hit shelves and we’re sharing an excerpt! Games of Thrones meets An Ember in the Ashes in this action-packed fantasy from the internationally bestselling author of the Nightshade series. Ara has always known the legend of the Loresmith: the blacksmith who served alongside the kings and queens of Saetlund, forging legendary … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP