Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

5 Reasons you’re going to fall in LOVE with Wicked Fox

SHARE

If you haven’t heard yet, the most epic fantasy-romance is coming out June 25th. Wicked Fox, set in modern day Seoul, promises to deliver fantasy, drama, suspense and romance…what more could you ask for??? We’ve been obsessing over Kat Cho’s debut novel and can’t wait for everyone else to get their hands on it too. So, without further ado, here are 5 things you are sure to love about it!

 

1. Korean mythology

via GIPHY

We all love myths and magic. We grew up hearing about Bigfoot, mermaids, the Loch Ness Monster. But make room on that list of epic myths these!

The gumiho (aka the 9-tailed fox!), dokkaebis (vicious goblins), and the ever important yeowu guseul (the powerful fox bead). Author Kat Cho wanted to pay homage to her heritage, but with a modern twist, and we must say, it’s done to perfection.

 

 

 

2. When romance and fantasy collide

via GIPHY

Can’t decide which genre to read next? Look no further. Wicked Fox is the perfect blend of a swoon-worthy romance and a gripping fantasy. We are talking slow-burn swoons between main characters Miyoung and Jihoon. What’s the catch? Miyoung is a gumiho. Not only do Miyoung’s gumiho powers hold her back from letting Jihoon know the real her, they put him in grave danger.

 

 

3. Strong female protagonist, anyone?!

via GIPHY

If your favorite type of books are ones with strong female characters leading them, then you aren’t alone, and we’re excited for Wicked Fox to join that list! Miyoung is strong, independent, and unbothered by opinions of others…oh and she devours the energy of evil men (what a mood amiright). Think Katniss Everdeen vibes.

 

 

4. The importance of the moon

via GIPHY

Although we all may rely on the moon and stars to tell us our horoscope of the day, for Miyoung the celestial bodies are even more important than that. Miyoung’s life revolves around the phases of the moon. Just know that when there is a full moon…it’s hunting time.

 

 

5. Rules…and the consequences of breaking them

via GIPHY

We all grew up being taught that rules are made for a reason, but for Miyoung and Jihoon these rules are a matter of life or death. Gumihos aren’t supposed to love humans, something Yena, Miyoung’s mom, has drilled into her head. But isn’t there a saying about rules being meant to be broken…?

 

 

 

P.S. If you just can’t get enough of Wicked Fox, make sure to check out this excerpt!

#Bookish

Books to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long!

June may be coming to an end, but we hope you remember to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long. Here are just a few reads to look forward to!     Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram – August 25 In this companion to the award-winning Darius the Great Is Not Okay, Darius suddenly has it all: … Continued
See More

Beware: these books will keep you up at night

Spooky season may not be for a little while yet, but we here at Penguin Teen are all about the year-round spooks. So if you’re looking for the next read that’s going to have you either buying a nightlight or bidding sleep adieu altogether, read on! 👻   Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall   … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of VERONA COMICS!

From the author of Hot Dog Girl comes a fresh and funny queer YA contemporary novel about two teens who fall in love in an indie comic book shop. Scroll down to read an excerpt of Verona Comics! Chapter One Jubilee “You look like you’re being tortured,” Jayla says. “This is supposed to be fun.” Easy to … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: The Boy in the Red Dress

In continuation of our #ReadPrideAndBeyond celebration, we’re sharing an excerpt from The Boy in the Red Dress by Kristin Lambert, a rollicking romp of truth, lies, and troubled pasts. New Year’s Eve, 1929. Millie is running the show at the Cloak & Dagger, a swinging speakeasy in the French Quarter, while her aunt is out of town. The new … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of They Wish They Were Us!

They Wish They Were Us is one of 2020’s hottest upcoming books and we need to talk.about.it. Imagine this: Gossip Girl + One of Us Is Lying with just a dash of The Secret History. That gives us this thrilling murder mystery set against the backdrop of an exclusive prep school on Long Island. Scroll down to read the excerpt!   Chapter … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: THE UNLEASHED

If The Haunted terrified you last summer, get ready! In the chilling sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that even though Steele House is gone, the hauntings in Drearfield are far from over — and it’s up to her to stop them. Scroll down to start reading the sequel, The Unleashed! The clock beside Samantha Davidson’s bed read 3:17 … Continued
See More

Black Booktubers You Should Be Following

Here is a list of just a few of the Black booktubers you should definitely be following.   Books with Brandie Shanae Follow here   Britney, Melanin Eclectic Follow here   Ochuole, Oh She Reads Follow here   Myonna, Myonna Reads Follow here   Peta-Gay, Comfy Cozy Up Follow here   Justin, Ghost Reader Follow … Continued
See More

Read the first 4 chapters of BEYOND THE BREAK

For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, if you count her faith… and that’s where things may get complicated. Scroll down to read the excerpt! Chapter One The first time a guy felt me up was in the … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in June

Here’s a sneak peek of what’s hitting shelves this June!   6/2: Jo & Laurie by Melissa de la Cruz and Margaret Stohl – Bestselling authors Margaret Stohl and Melissa de la Cruz bring us a romantic retelling of Little Women starring Jo March and her best friend, the boy next door, Theodore “Laurie” Laurence.   6/2: Beyond … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: Forged in Fire and Stars

Forged in Fire and Stars by Andrea Robertson just hit shelves and we’re sharing an excerpt! Games of Thrones meets An Ember in the Ashes in this action-packed fantasy from the internationally bestselling author of the Nightshade series. Ara has always known the legend of the Loresmith: the blacksmith who served alongside the kings and queens of Saetlund, forging legendary … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP