Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

5 Times Seafire Broke Our Cold Dead Hearts

SHARE

 

ATTENTION ALL READERS: THERE ARE ALL KINDS OF SPOILERS FOR SEAFIRE AHEAD

via GIPHY

Additional warning: this is going to hurt.

 

So here’s the thing:

via GIPHY

Seafire got a glow up, and that meant it was time for a re-read. Which was a good reminder that apparently this book thought it would be okay to drop in on our TBR lists and crush our souls a little (a lot.)

(See aforementioned glow up below. PRETTY, RIGHT?)

Seafire-New-Cover

So, without further ado, here’s a recap of all the times Seafire shattered our cold dead hearts. You know, in case you needed some salt for that wound.

We’re counting down from the least to most intense feels kickin’

 

  1. The time Pisces and Caledonia lost their families. And crew. And ship.

 

“Then the Bullets began their gruesome work of dragging the dead to their ship and hoisting the bodies of the slain on the metal pikes studding their rail.”

We weren’t even safe for the first chapter, guys. NOT EVEN ONE CHAPTER.

via GIPHY

 

  1. Fake Donnally’s demise

 

“The girl raised her gun, and without a second thought, without waiting to look for a sigil, she fired at the Ballistic.”

Behold, the only time us readers could catch a break in the midst of all the feels-kicking going on. It probably goes without saying that we all (in classic YA fashion) let out the breath we didn’t realize we were holding when this fellow who got himself shot turned out to not be Caledonia’s brother, Donnally. Though, not before we felt crushed for a couple of pages thinking that he was.

Furthermore, DOES THAT MEAN DONNALLY MIGHT STILL BE ALIVE OUT THERE SOMEWHERE?

via GIPHY

 

  1. Lace

 “The moment Caledonia caught the flash of Lace’s face in battle had been her last.”

via GIPHY

You knew this was coming. This bright-eyed ray of sunshine was one of two epic blondes to steal our hearts and then die without our permission. That brings us to no. 2.

 

  1. Redtooth

Though Caledonia’s body was weak from the fight, she crouched and pulled Redtooth into her arms.

“Let’s go home, my friend,” she whispered.

via GIPHY

What no we’re not crying YOU’RE CRYING.

 

  1. Caledonia leaving her ship and crew to face her final mission alone.

 

“The ship had been her home for her entire life. It had been destroyed and repaired and made into a home for so many others. Now it was gone. And she felt certain she would never see it again.”

And just when we thought Caledonia and the rest of our beloved sisterhood was going to sail off into the sunset.

via GIPHY

 

Honorable mention: Metalmouth the Goat

 

“Goats were hardy in general, but Metalmouth had been named for the fact that she would have eaten the hull of their ship if she could.”

Not even pets are safe. Goodbye, Metalmouth. We will miss you.

via GIPHY

 

 

 

Seafire is now in paperback! Get your copy here!

 

 

#Bookish

Read an excerpt of The Downstairs Girl

Happy #FridayReads! This week, we’re reading The Downstairs Girl by Stacey Lee, a powerful novel about identity, betrayal, and the meaning of family. By day, seventeen-year-old Jo Kuan works as a lady’s maid for the cruel Caroline Payne, the daughter of one of the wealthiest men in Atlanta. But by night, Jo moonlights as the pseudonymous author of … Continued
See More

5 Reasons you’re going to fall in LOVE with Wicked Fox

If you haven’t heard yet, the most epic fantasy-romance is coming out June 25th. Wicked Fox, set in modern day Seoul, promises to deliver fantasy, drama, suspense and romance…what more could you ask for??? We’ve been obsessing over Kat Cho’s debut novel and can’t wait for everyone else to get their hands on it too. So, … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of The Art of Breaking Things

The Art of Breaking Things by Laura Sibson is the stunning story of one girl who embraces the power of her voice: rules are meant to be broken and she won’t stay silent. With the help of her best friend and the only boy she’s ever trusted, Skye might just find the courage she needs to let … Continued
See More

Book recs for the Greek Gods

In case you didn’t know, Lovely War by Julie Berry is a masterpiece of the Greek Gods intervening in two sweeping love stories caught in the crossfire of World War II. There, we meet Aphrodite, on trial and defending her decision to intervene amongst the mortals in the midsts of Ares, Hephaestus, Apollo, and Hades. Although each … Continued
See More

A Playlist Inspired by TURTLES ALL THE WAY DOWN

Sometimes when you read a book, a playlist starts instantly forming in your mind, whether inspired by the characters, the mood, your personal reactions, or a combination of them all. That’s how we felt after reading John Green’s new book, Turtles All the Way Down. Each individual’s experience with a book is unique, but here is … Continued
See More

#FridayReads: As Many Nows as I Can Get

It’s that wonderful time of the week again: FRIDAY READS! We are super excited to share an excerpt from As Many Nows as I Can Get by Shana Youngdahl with you. Moving between the present and the past, As Many Nows as I Can Get is the story of a seemingly grounded girl who’s pulled into a lightning-strike romance … Continued
See More

#FridayReads: The Virtue of Sin

Happy #FridayReads! This week’s excerpt comes from The Virtue of Sin by Shannon Schuren, a compelling novel about speaking out, standing up, and breaking free, and perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale! Scroll down to start reading! Chapter 1 The girls never get a choice. Recite your Prayers, report for Lessons, respect your Elders. Do unto others and … Continued
See More

5 books to read if you loved WARCROSS

If you loved Warcross (and if Wildcard BROKE YOU) then we have a few more recommendations for your TBR!   1. Girl Gone Viral by Arvin Ahmadi If you wanted to never leave the VR experience of Warcross, you’ll love the enticing VR world of Girl Gone Viral. Girl Gone Viral is the inventive and hauntingly timely story of a seventeen-year-old … Continued
See More

Best of Bookstagram: Turtles All the Way Down

Prepare your eyeballs, it’s #bookstagram time and we found some beauties we just can’t resist sharing of John Green’s Turtles All the Way Down!   From the simplicity of a brick wall and portrait mode: View this post on Instagram 🐢🐢🐢 John Green’s #TurtlesAllTheWayDown is now available in paperback! TURTLES tells the story of Aza Holmes, … Continued
See More

FridayReads: The Grief Keeper

Welcome back to #FridayReads! This week’s excerpt comes from The Grief Keeper, by Alexandra Villasante, a stunning YA debut is a timely and heartfelt speculative narrative about healing, faith, and freedom. Scroll down to read an excerpt! Chapter 1 We believe in luck. The good kind and the cruel. The kind that graces and the kind that … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP