Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

5 Times Seafire Broke Our Cold Dead Hearts

SHARE

 

ATTENTION ALL READERS: THERE ARE ALL KINDS OF SPOILERS FOR SEAFIRE AHEAD

via GIPHY

Additional warning: this is going to hurt.

 

So here’s the thing:

via GIPHY

Seafire got a glow up, and that meant it was time for a re-read. Which was a good reminder that apparently this book thought it would be okay to drop in on our TBR lists and crush our souls a little (a lot.)

(See aforementioned glow up below. PRETTY, RIGHT?)

Seafire-New-Cover

So, without further ado, here’s a recap of all the times Seafire shattered our cold dead hearts. You know, in case you needed some salt for that wound.

We’re counting down from the least to most intense feels kickin’

 

  1. The time Pisces and Caledonia lost their families. And crew. And ship.

 

“Then the Bullets began their gruesome work of dragging the dead to their ship and hoisting the bodies of the slain on the metal pikes studding their rail.”

We weren’t even safe for the first chapter, guys. NOT EVEN ONE CHAPTER.

via GIPHY

 

  1. Fake Donnally’s demise

 

“The girl raised her gun, and without a second thought, without waiting to look for a sigil, she fired at the Ballistic.”

Behold, the only time us readers could catch a break in the midst of all the feels-kicking going on. It probably goes without saying that we all (in classic YA fashion) let out the breath we didn’t realize we were holding when this fellow who got himself shot turned out to not be Caledonia’s brother, Donnally. Though, not before we felt crushed for a couple of pages thinking that he was.

Furthermore, DOES THAT MEAN DONNALLY MIGHT STILL BE ALIVE OUT THERE SOMEWHERE?

via GIPHY

 

  1. Lace

 “The moment Caledonia caught the flash of Lace’s face in battle had been her last.”

via GIPHY

You knew this was coming. This bright-eyed ray of sunshine was one of two epic blondes to steal our hearts and then die without our permission. That brings us to no. 2.

 

  1. Redtooth

Though Caledonia’s body was weak from the fight, she crouched and pulled Redtooth into her arms.

“Let’s go home, my friend,” she whispered.

via GIPHY

What no we’re not crying YOU’RE CRYING.

 

  1. Caledonia leaving her ship and crew to face her final mission alone.

 

“The ship had been her home for her entire life. It had been destroyed and repaired and made into a home for so many others. Now it was gone. And she felt certain she would never see it again.”

And just when we thought Caledonia and the rest of our beloved sisterhood was going to sail off into the sunset.

via GIPHY

 

Honorable mention: Metalmouth the Goat

 

“Goats were hardy in general, but Metalmouth had been named for the fact that she would have eaten the hull of their ship if she could.”

Not even pets are safe. Goodbye, Metalmouth. We will miss you.

via GIPHY

 

 

 

Seafire is now in paperback! Get your copy here!

 

 

#Bookish

Excerpt Alert: THE BEST LAID PLANS

We are already SWOONING over Cameron Lund’s debut, The Best Laid Plans. This hilarious and heartfelt story follows Keely Collins as she takes on first loves, first friends, and first times in this sweet, sex-positive rom-com for fans of Meg Cabot and Jenny Han. Let’s get to the excerpt! CHAPTER THREE “Now that I’m a woman, … Continued
See More

Your Historical Fiction TBR

If you’re always on the lookout for that special book that transports to an older world the second you turn the page, we have a few recommendations you’ll definitely want on your list! Welcome to your historical fiction TBR!   Orphan Monster Spy by Matt Killeen This is the fast-paced immersive thriller read you need to … Continued
See More

Best of Bookstagram: All the Days Past, All the Days to Come

It is only JANUARY and one thing is very clear: 2020 is raising the bar on covers across the board. Exhibit A: All the Days Past, All the Days to Come. Aside from being an incredible read and long-awaited finale to the Logan Family series, this book is just plain beautiful. Here are some of … Continued
See More

Best of Bookstagram: THE VANISHING DEEP

It’s time for Best of Bookstagram! We’ve been seeing a lot of gorgeous photos of Astrid Scholte’s new novel, The Vanishing Deep, as well as the GORGEOUS glow-up of her debut Four Dead Queens, and couldn’t help but share some of our favorites! The Vanishing Deep follows seventeen-year-old Tempe, who was born into a world of water. When the … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: SOURCES SAY by Lori Goldstein

Cover reveal time! Sources Say by Lori Goldstein is a funny, heartfelt novel about feuding exes running for class president and the scandal that makes the previously boring school election the newest trending hashtag. Two exes. One election. All the drama. At Acedia High School outside of Boston, student council has always been nothing more than a popularity contest. Nobody … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of They Wish They Were Us!

They Wish They Were Us is one of 2020’s hottest upcoming books and we need to talk.about.it. Imagine this: Gossip Girl + One of Us Is Lying with just a dash of The Secret History. That gives us this thrilling murder mystery set against the backdrop of an exclusive prep school on Long Island. Scroll down to read the excerpt!     … Continued
See More

Why THE CONFERENCE OF THE BIRDS needs to be on your shelf NOW

Hey book friends! It’s James from Penguin Teen, and I’m back to share why I picked The Conference of the Birds as my book of the month for January! Here’s our book haul for this month, in case you haven’t had a chance to watch it yet:   Where are my Peregrine fans at? This … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: THE AFTERWARD by E.K. Johnston got a glow-up!

If you fell head over heels for the romantic high fantasy The Afterward last year from E.K. Johnston, bestselling author of Star Wars: Ahsoka and Exit, Pursued by a Bear, then GET READY! Because it’s making a comeback with an all new cover and it. is. STUNNING! Are your eyeballs ready? Yes? Here you go. I KNOW RIGHT?! In … Continued
See More

Why you need to read DEVIL DARLING SPY like ASAP

Hey everyone! Joy from Penguin Teen here to talk about my favorite read of this month, Devil Darling Spy. In case you missed this month’s book haul, I’ll leave it below! ON WITH THE BOOK. In case this if the first time you’re hearing about it, Devil Darling Spy is the sequel to Orphan Monster Spy–and before you say anything, … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: FLY LIKE A GIRL

Happy #FridayReads! This week, we’re reading Fly Girl Like a Girl by Mary Jennings Hegar, the inspiring true story of a brave and determined woman who gave her all for her country, her sense of justice, and for women everywhere. Soon to be a major motion picture! Scroll down to read the excerpt. PROLOGUE I glanced out the … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP