Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

5 Ways to Protect Your Book From Thieves

SHARE

Protect yo shelf, my friends. Your books are your most prized possessions, and therefore they deserve the utmost protection. We were inspired to craft this list of anti-thievery tips after meeting Tina, aka the Tiny, the top-notch thief in City of Saints & Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson. Because if you want to protect yourself from a thief, you have to think like a thief. Read on for ways to save your books from foes!

 

1. Keep inventory.

The best way to keep your books safe is to know what needs to be protected. The better you can recognize your inventory, the easier the search will be when you discover something is missing from your bookshelf . . . heavens forbid.

 

2. Beware the book thief disguised as a borrower.

“Can I borrow your book?” seems like a simple question, but it’s far from that for dedicated book lovers. Of course, we’re ecstatic that a fellow human is interested in reading that which we hold so dear, yet letting go of said book can be challenging. We recommend thoroughly vetting anyone who borrows from your shelf. If it’s been longer than a week, follow up with the borrower. You can even disguise it as impatience to discuss what they thought!

 

3. Set up a bookish booby trap.

Take a page from Kevin McCallister’s book (perhaps not the best idiom in this context), and guard your books with booby traps. May we suggest traps that involve glitter bombs—glitter is impossible to get out of clothing, making it easier for you to spot the assailant.

 

4. Password protect your e-reader.

These are the steps that must be taken if you want to be a digital reader in a digital world. Set your password as your favorite/obscure literary reference. And if anyone can crack that password, though they are a thief, they are probably your soulmate too.

 

5. Stay alert when reading.

You are most vulnerable to book thieves when you are reading *gasp*. Though there’s nothing more joyful than losing yourself within the pages of your book, you don’t want to lose your book. Try and take a peek up from reading every 20 pages or so to check your surroundings.

 

 

 

 

 

Start reading City of Saints and Thieves here!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#Bookish

Eerie Ireland: a Short Guide for the Magic Realist Visitor

Our resident Irish author, Moïra Fowley-Doyle, author of Spellbook of the Lost and Found and The Accident Season, is a genius when it comes to writing beautiful, creepy, atmospheric stories set in the Irish countryside. We asked her to share her expertise with us, and she bestowed this eerie travel guide to Ireland upon us! Read on for the … Continued
See More

Inside The Twelve Houses of The Zodiac

In Romina Russell’s Zodiac series, your sign is not defined by when you are born, but rather where you are born, so your Zodiac sign is more like your nationality. Romina gave us the inside scoop on some little known facts about each of the Twelve Houses of the Zodiac!   ARIES When warriors of House Aries die, … Continued
See More

11 Bookish Social Media Accounts You NEED to Follow

When you love to read so much, nothing is better than getting a healthy dose of bookish content when you’re browsing social media. Whether you prefer Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, Tumblr, or a combination of them all, there are excellent accounts to follow for all kinds of book content.   BuzzFeed Books: If you love … Continued
See More

The 5 Worst Things for Book Lovers to Lose

We all have those days where we lose things. Keys, pens, earrings…we’ve all been there. But as book lovers, we know there are some essentials that we can’t misplace. We’ve rounded up 5 of the worst think book lovers can lose.   Their library card The library is a magical place. It’s quiet and full … Continued
See More

The Official THE LAKE EFFECT Playlist

Erin McCahan, author of The Lake Effect, created this amazing playlist for her main characters, Briggs Henry and Abigail Howe. The Lake Effect, coming July 11, is a funny, bracing, poignant romance and coming-of-age story for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick, Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, and The Beginning of Everything.   About the … Continued
See More

7 Ideas to Create the Perfect Bookish Wedding

After reading Sarah Dessen’s latest novel, Once and For All we have to admit that we’ve got wedding fever. Whether you’re planning for your wedding right now or just want a head start, you’re going to need to make sure you have everything you need for your bookish-themed wedding. We’ve thought of even the smallest details so … Continued
See More

8 Spells that Book Lovers Need

As readers (and especially as readers of fantasy), we sometimes wish we could add a little magic from some of our favorite books to our everyday life. Because wouldn’t life as a booklover be a little better if you had a few spells to spice things up?   The no spoilers spell So, maybe you’re a slow … Continued
See More

Our 5 Ultimate Favorite Fictional Libraries

  As bookworms, we know that there’s no better place than an awesome library (the books are free, I mean, come on). With that in mind, we’ve rounded up 5 of our favorite fictional libraries. Before you read on, remember to support your libraries by visiting, checking out books, and using the many awesome services … Continued
See More

What’s the One Thing You Couldn’t Live Without if You Were Shipwrecked on an Island?

Inspired by Jessica Taylor’s upcoming A Map for Wrecked Girls, we asked readers the one thing they’d want if stranded on a deserted island. As expected, lots of people said books (duh!), but we had a lot of other creative answers as well!   What’s one thing you couldn’t live without if you were shipwrecked … Continued
See More

Can You Find the Hidden Emojis in These Book Covers?

Test your eyesight by trying to find the emojis hidden in each of these book covers! They say don’t judge a book by its cover, but…if you were intrigued by any of these covers you can read more about each book below! Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton The Valiant by Lesley Livingston The Outsiders … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP

I can give you book recommendations.
Please enter your name and email address to begin chatting with me.



What is your date of birth?

START CHAT