Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

6 Books For When You Want To Feel Anything But Ordinary

SHARE

You know how sometimes you just want to shake life up and get a jolt of something, anything besides normal? These books are for those times: they’re unconventional – whether in style, format, characters, or just the way they make you feel. Read on for 6 of our favorites!

 

Hold Me Closer by David Levithan

This companion novel to New York Times bestseller Will Grayson, Will Grayson– co-authored by John Green and David Levithan–is told through the full script of a musical and filled with big, belty musical numbers. Plus, it stars Tiny Cooper (“the world’s largest person who is also really, really gay”) who stole readers’ hearts. Now Tiny finally gets to tell his story—from his fabulous birth and childhood to his quest for true love and his infamous parade of ex-boyfriends—the way he always intended: as a musical!

 

Original Fake by Kirstin Cronn-Mills

Most people “outgrow” illustrated books when they get to high school, right? OH. SO WRONG! Original Fake is a new YA illustrated novel that’s a blend of sibling rivalry, vengeance, and a street-art act of war.

 

Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke

Every story needs a villain, a hero, and a secret – but in Wink Poppy Midnight, you can’t be sure who is who and what is what. It’s the eerie, twisty atmosphere of this book that gives you shivers of a kind you’ve never known.

 

Where Futures End by Parker Peevyhouse

Perfect for fans of innovative storytelling, Where Futures End is a collection of five time-spanning, interconnected novellas that weave a subtly science-fictional web stretching out from the present into the future, presenting eerily plausible possibilities for social media, corporate sponsorship, and humanity, as our world collides with a mysterious alternate universe. Essentially like BBC’s Black Mirror, in literary form.

 

The Alex Crow by Andrew Smith

This one is truly a genre-bending literary exploration of the absurd. Grasshopper Jungle tells the story of 15-year-old Ariel, a refugee from the Middle East living with an adoptive family. The story of his summer at a boys’ camp for tech detox is told alongside those of a schizophrenic bomber and the diaries of a failed arctic expedition from the late nineteenth century.

 

Mosquitoland by David Arnold

If you’ve ever met someone with a personality as simultaneously quirky, brilliant, and hilarious as Mim Malone, we’d be shocked. Embark on a 1,000 mile road trip with her and get a bundle of musings that will surprise you and touch you at the same time.

 

 

Looking for more book recs? Check out these undeniably beautiful #coverbuy books!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More

Middle Grade Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

  What Lane? by Torrey Maldonado “STAY IN YOUR LANE.” Stephen doesn’t want to hear that–he wants to have no lane.Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak into an abandoned building, he doesn’t think it’s his lane, but he goes. Here’s … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to debut voices such as Patrice Caldwell, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP