Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

6 Books the Characters of Orphan Black Should Read

SHARE

It’s been a while since the most recent season of Orphan Black wrapped up, and if you’re anything like us, you’re going a little crazy waiting for what happens next. So while we wait anxiously for the next season to start, we have to wonder: What would the clones read in between scuffles with the Neolutionists? Check out our picks for Sarah and the LEDA clones below:

 

Sarah Manning: Pretending to be Erica by Michelle Painchaud

Sarah starts off the show as a bit of a con- artist, and we think she would love Violet from Pretending to be Erica. Sarah would relate to this tale of a girl raised to replace a kidnapped heiress and steal a priceless painting.

 

Alison Hendrix—Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins

Alison tries to be the perfect suburban mom, but she can kick some butt when she has too, which makes us think she would appreciate Rebel Belle. Our favorite “soccer mom” clone would adore Southern belle Harper Price, who has to balance cotillion dresses, lip gloss, and fighting the forces of evil.

 

Cosima Niehaus—Origin by Jessica Khoury

Jessica Khoury’s Origin features a group of scientists who create and raise a race of super humans…something Cosima and the rest of the clones can definitely relate to. Cosima would love this fast paced science fiction tale.

 

Helena—Nemisis by Brendan Reichs

Helena is everyone’s favorite clone assassin. A little scary but totally lovable, she keeps us guessing, just like this thriller. Murder, lies, secrets, and conspiracies abound in a read that Helena would love.

 

Rachel Duncan—Iceling by Sasha Stephenson

Rachel would love Lorna’s relationship with her adopted (and possibly not human) sister, Callie in Sasha Stephenson’s Iceling. This tale of sibling bonds is a great read for Project LEDA’s “Proclone”.

 

Beth Childs—Trouble is a Friend of Mine by Stephanie Tromly

Police detective Beth would be into Stephanie Tromly’s quirky investigator Philip Digby and his misadventures as he tries to solve the kidnapping of a local teenage girl. This funny mystery and its dynamic leading duo would be a much needed break from the clone mystery.

 

 

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? Check out this list of dystopian novels to read after you finish 1984!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Read an excerpt of IMAGINARY BORDERS!

We’ve been spotlighting some of our favorite reads by Latinx authors in honor of #LatinxHeritageMonth, and today we’re sharing an excerpt of Imaginary Borders by Xiuhtezcatl Martinez. In this personal, moving essay, environmental activist and hip-hop artist Xiuhtezcatl Martinez uses his art and his activism to show that climate change is a human issue that can’t be ignored. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP