Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

7 Books to Get You Through a Breakup

SHARE

There’s just something about breakup books that we cannot stay away from. Maybe it’s a result of that innate “can’t look away from a disaster” part of all of us—but we think it might actually be because we all know that love can be a painful mess sometimes. And seeing it play out in the pages of our fave books with a (hopefully!) happy ending gives us a bit of faith for it working out in real life. Or it’s the disaster thing. Either way!

 

Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland

First love can be amazing, life-changing, a dream come true—and it can also be an epic disaster. This new debut from author Krystal Sutherland perfectly captures the all-consuming nature of first love—and first heartache. The voice is unique and funny, the characters feel like friends by the end, and it manages to accurately portray the way love can be incredibly messy—but still change you for the better.

 

The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen

There’s nothing like a Dessen novel for your love fix. The Moon & More is about break-ups, sure, but it’s also about family, growing up, and how love can change dramatically at different stages of your life.

 

An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

Sometimes finding love isn’t as much of an issue as keeping it. This quirky and hysterical coming-of-age story from John Green is about a guy named Colin who has dated nineteen girls. All named Katherine—and all of whom have dumped him (yeah, you thought your love life was tragic…). But this is definitely not a morose break-up book—be prepared for lots of laughs and a lot of heart.

 

Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

Stephanie Perkins writes love like no other. In this companion novel to Anna and the French Kiss and Lola and the Boy Next Door, we finally get to see the love story unfold between Isla and Josh. Isla stands out from Anna and Lola, however, because there’s less of the “will they or won’t they get together?” question and more of a spotlight on the fact that, even if you find a person you absolutely adore, it doesn’t mean the road to happily ever after is easy.

 

Audrey, Wait! by Robin Benway

Most of us have had some experience with break-ups—but what most of us haven’t experienced is a break-up that leads to paparazzi mayhem. Audrey’s ready for a clean slate after she decides to finally dump her egomaniac boyfriend Evan. Until he writes a song about the break-up, which skyrockets up the music charts. Audrey’s private little break-up is now major celebrity news and she’s in the center of the mayhem—complete with paparazzi stalking and Internet haters following her every move. A totally different and FUN take on break-ups that will leave you desperately hoping you never accidentally scorn a future superstar.

 

Like No Other by Una Lamarche

Who doesn’t love a forbidden romance? Like No Other is a modern day Romeo & Juliet with compelling characters and a very realistic romance. Swoon.

 

Where She Went by Gayle Forman

After the tears we shed for If I Stay, it’s hard to imagine any sequel could top it. But Where She Went is unforgettable. It picks up several years after the conclusion of If I Stay and gives us a new look at the story of Adam and Mia—from Adam’s point of view. Mia survives the tragic events of If I Stay but her relationship with Adam does not. Now, years later, he’s a famous rock star and she’s a talented cellist—and their paths are destined to cross over a single night in New York City. Read this now.

 

Looking for more recommendations? Check out these 6 Books For People Who Think They Don’t Like Romance Novels!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More

Middle Grade Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

  What Lane? by Torrey Maldonado “STAY IN YOUR LANE.” Stephen doesn’t want to hear that–he wants to have no lane.Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak into an abandoned building, he doesn’t think it’s his lane, but he goes. Here’s … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to debut voices such as Patrice Caldwell, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP