Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

7 Books to Read If You Can’t Stop Watching Sci-fi TV Shows

SHARE

Are you addicted to binge-watching sci-fi shows? Do you feel like your eyes are going to fall out of your head unless you tear yourself away from the small screen for a bit? Look no further–we have the perfect intergalactic, post-apocalyptic, B-movie-style reads to tide you over until your next binge-watching session.

 

THE 100 >> The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

1

If you can’t stop watching as Clarke, Bellamy, and the rest of the gang on The 100 fight to survive in their new circumstances, you need to read The 5th Wave. After the Others destroy life as they knew it on Earth, Cassie, Ben, and Evan have to figure out how to stay alive in their new reality.

 

THE X-FILES > > Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith

2

An invasion of six-foot-tall, hungry, horny praying mantises? Sounds just weird enough of a case for Scully and Mulder to take on.

 

ORPHAN BLACK >> Nemesis by Brendan Reichs

3

If you love Orphan Black, chances are you’re addicted to twists, turns, and maybe a conspiracy or two. Get your fix by reading a thriller like Nemesis, which features a girl who gets murdered every two years–then comes back hours later.

 

DOCTOR WHO >> Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza

Untitled-5

Is it your goal to travel around the galaxy with the Doctor in the TARDIS? Better read up on your space travel and epic missions in Empress of a Thousand Skies.

 

THE TWILIGHT ZONE >> Iceling by Sasha Stephenson

6

Having an adopted sister that may or may not be human sounds like a story from another dimension–perhaps one as bizarre as the Twilight Zone.

 

FIREFLY >> Across the Universe by Beth Revis

7

Living on a spaceship? Tough. Living on a spaceship being terrorized by a serial killer? Tougher. If you’ve followed the crew of the Serenity through their misadventures, it’s time to join Amy and Elder as they try to unravel the mysteries of the Godspeed–before someone else gets hurt.

 

BATTLESTAR GALACTICA >> Zodiac by Romina Russell

Untitled-8

When intergalactic threats run rampant, who can you trust? Look to the crews in Battlestar Galactica and Zodiac for some surefire tips to stay alive and protect your corner of the galaxy.

 

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? Check out this list of books going on sale in February!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More

Middle Grade Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

  What Lane? by Torrey Maldonado “STAY IN YOUR LANE.” Stephen doesn’t want to hear that–he wants to have no lane.Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak into an abandoned building, he doesn’t think it’s his lane, but he goes. Here’s … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to debut voices such as Patrice Caldwell, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP