Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

9 Characters You DON’T Want at Thanksgiving

SHARE

We’re all familiar with the classic party crasher of Thanksgiving. Sometimes it’s an uncle who shows up last minute and spends half of Thanksgiving telling obscure stories from his days in that rock band. Sometimes it’s your sister who totally forgets what time dinner starts and moseys in after all the yams are gone.

However, we can all probably agree that none of that would be nearly as disastrous as any of these fictional characters showing up at your family gathering.

 

1. The Merciless

The-MercilessCOVER

 

Literally every single character. Do not invite these girls. They are bad news.

 

2. Hideo – Wildcard

Wildcard

 

Because it’s just the worst when that one person shows up to dinner and starts controlling everyone’s minds, taking over the world, etc. you know?

 

3. Caledonia – Seafire

Seafire-New-Cover

 

Sword fights at the dining table = mashed potatoes probably getting knocked over.

 

4. Lady Helen – The Dark Days Club

TheDarkDaysClubCOVER

 

Seriously? Are you trying to lure monsters to dinner?

 

5. Xifeng – Forest of a Thousand Lanterns

Forest PB cover

 

She eats hearts. No one wants that side dish on the table.

 

6. A hollowgast – A Map of Days

AMapofDays

 

Ruthless monsters are the worst to watch the Thanksgiving Day Parade with.

 

7. The Commandant – An Ember in the Ashes

An-Ember-in-the-Ashes-COVER

 

She’s more likely to carve your face before she carves that turkey.

 

8. Frank – Frankly in Love

Frankly-in-Love-COVER

Because we all know everyone is going to end up loving Frank more than you. Everyone loves Frank.

 

9. Eva – A River of Royal Blood 

RiverofRoyalBlood_CV_ONLINE

NO. FIGHTING. WITH. MAGICK. AT. THE. TABLE.

 

 

Check out how to throw the perfect bookish Thanksgiving here!

#Bookish

Excerpt Alert: The Kinder Poison

The Kinder Poison is an enthralling fantasy adventure that follows a teenage girl chosen to be the human sacrifice in a deadly game between three heirs who will do anything for the crown. Also, it’s somehow magical, breathtaking, hilarious, and TERRIFYING all at once. Scroll down to read an excerpt! “The gods have woken Sabil’s knife, signaling … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in June

Here’s a sneak peek of what’s hitting shelves this June!   6/2: Jo & Laurie by Melissa de la Cruz and Margaret Stohl – Bestselling authors Margaret Stohl and Melissa de la Cruz bring us a romantic retelling of Little Women starring Jo March and her best friend, the boy next door, Theodore “Laurie” Laurence.   6/2: Beyond … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: Forged in Fire and Stars

Forged in Fire and Stars by Andrea Robertson just hit shelves and we’re sharing an excerpt! Games of Thrones meets An Ember in the Ashes in this action-packed fantasy from the internationally bestselling author of the Nightshade series. Ara has always known the legend of the Loresmith: the blacksmith who served alongside the kings and queens of Saetlund, forging legendary … Continued
See More

Books to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long!

June may be coming to an end, but we hope you remember to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long. Here are just a few reads to look forward to!     Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram – August 25 In this companion to the award-winning Darius the Great Is Not Okay, Darius suddenly has it all: … Continued
See More

Beware: these books will keep you up at night

Spooky season may not be for a little while yet, but we here at Penguin Teen are all about the year-round spooks. So if you’re looking for the next read that’s going to have you either buying a nightlight or bidding sleep adieu altogether, read on! 👻   Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall   … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of VERONA COMICS!

From the author of Hot Dog Girl comes a fresh and funny queer YA contemporary novel about two teens who fall in love in an indie comic book shop. Scroll down to read an excerpt of Verona Comics! Chapter One Jubilee “You look like you’re being tortured,” Jayla says. “This is supposed to be fun.” Easy to … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: The Boy in the Red Dress

In continuation of our #ReadPrideAndBeyond celebration, we’re sharing an excerpt from The Boy in the Red Dress by Kristin Lambert, a rollicking romp of truth, lies, and troubled pasts. New Year’s Eve, 1929. Millie is running the show at the Cloak & Dagger, a swinging speakeasy in the French Quarter, while her aunt is out of town. The new … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of They Wish They Were Us!

They Wish They Were Us is one of 2020’s hottest upcoming books and we need to talk.about.it. Imagine this: Gossip Girl + One of Us Is Lying with just a dash of The Secret History. That gives us this thrilling murder mystery set against the backdrop of an exclusive prep school on Long Island. Scroll down to read the excerpt!   Chapter … Continued
See More

Black Booktubers You Should Be Following

Here is a list of just a few of the Black booktubers you should definitely be following.   Books with Brandie Shanae Follow here   Britney, Melanin Eclectic Follow here   Ochuole, Oh She Reads Follow here   Myonna, Myonna Reads Follow here   Peta-Gay, Comfy Cozy Up Follow here   Justin, Ghost Reader Follow … Continued
See More

Read the first 4 chapters of BEYOND THE BREAK

For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, if you count her faith… and that’s where things may get complicated. Scroll down to read the excerpt! Chapter One The first time a guy felt me up was in the … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP