Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

7 Places You’re Likely to Be Caught Reading

SHARE

Book lovers tend to be written off as a bunch of homebodies, but any avid reader knows this is not true at all. We can often be found emerging from our cozy reading nooks to search for…different reading nooks. After some serious research, we’re proud to share a few of the best places to take your books.

 

The Park

The outdoors can be tricky. There’s weather, other people, and bugs to worry about. But on the perfect spring or summer day, nothing beats staking out a spot in the park and losing yourself in a good book.

 

The Beach

Similar to the park, but with more atmosphere, reading at the beach is one of the best ways to spend a summer day. The sound of the waves and a gentle ocean breeze make for an ideal reading climate. Just don’t forget the sunscreen!

 

A Coffee Shop

Your favorite coffee shop is your reading home away from home. It’s cozy and welcoming, and there are plenty of coffee and snack options to keep up your energy for all that page turning.

 

Public Transportation

Taking the bus can be a struggle, but it does give you the perfect excuse to read.  You’re reading and you’re moving: it’s really the most efficient way to travel. Just be careful not to miss your stop.

 

The Library

An oldie, but a goodie. The library is quiet and spacious, and the best part: if you finish what you’re reading, there are MORE BOOKS.

 

Restaurants

We all have to eat, but that doesn’t have to get in the way of your current read. Books make the perfect date. Bringing a book to a restaurant combines our two great loves: reading and food.

 

Home

And after a busy day of reading about town, it’s always nice to come back to the reading spot nearest to our hearts: home. After all, home is where our books live.

 

 

 

 

 

Looking for books to bring on your next trip? Here’s 5!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#Bookish

Eerie Ireland: a Short Guide for the Magic Realist Visitor

Our resident Irish author, Moïra Fowley-Doyle, author of Spellbook of the Lost and Found and The Accident Season, is a genius when it comes to writing beautiful, creepy, atmospheric stories set in the Irish countryside. We asked her to share her expertise with us, and she bestowed this eerie travel guide to Ireland upon us! Read on for the … Continued
See More

Inside The Twelve Houses of The Zodiac

In Romina Russell’s Zodiac series, your sign is not defined by when you are born, but rather where you are born, so your Zodiac sign is more like your nationality. Romina gave us the inside scoop on some little known facts about each of the Twelve Houses of the Zodiac!   ARIES When warriors of House Aries die, … Continued
See More

11 Bookish Social Media Accounts You NEED to Follow

When you love to read so much, nothing is better than getting a healthy dose of bookish content when you’re browsing social media. Whether you prefer Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, Tumblr, or a combination of them all, there are excellent accounts to follow for all kinds of book content.   BuzzFeed Books: If you love … Continued
See More

The 5 Worst Things for Book Lovers to Lose

We all have those days where we lose things. Keys, pens, earrings…we’ve all been there. But as book lovers, we know there are some essentials that we can’t misplace. We’ve rounded up 5 of the worst think book lovers can lose.   Their library card The library is a magical place. It’s quiet and full … Continued
See More

The Official THE LAKE EFFECT Playlist

Erin McCahan, author of The Lake Effect, created this amazing playlist for her main characters, Briggs Henry and Abigail Howe. The Lake Effect, coming July 11, is a funny, bracing, poignant romance and coming-of-age story for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick, Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, and The Beginning of Everything.   About the … Continued
See More

7 Ideas to Create the Perfect Bookish Wedding

After reading Sarah Dessen’s latest novel, Once and For All we have to admit that we’ve got wedding fever. Whether you’re planning for your wedding right now or just want a head start, you’re going to need to make sure you have everything you need for your bookish-themed wedding. We’ve thought of even the smallest details so … Continued
See More

8 Spells that Book Lovers Need

As readers (and especially as readers of fantasy), we sometimes wish we could add a little magic from some of our favorite books to our everyday life. Because wouldn’t life as a booklover be a little better if you had a few spells to spice things up?   The no spoilers spell So, maybe you’re a slow … Continued
See More

Our 5 Ultimate Favorite Fictional Libraries

  As bookworms, we know that there’s no better place than an awesome library (the books are free, I mean, come on). With that in mind, we’ve rounded up 5 of our favorite fictional libraries. Before you read on, remember to support your libraries by visiting, checking out books, and using the many awesome services … Continued
See More

What’s the One Thing You Couldn’t Live Without if You Were Shipwrecked on an Island?

Inspired by Jessica Taylor’s upcoming A Map for Wrecked Girls, we asked readers the one thing they’d want if stranded on a deserted island. As expected, lots of people said books (duh!), but we had a lot of other creative answers as well!   What’s one thing you couldn’t live without if you were shipwrecked … Continued
See More

Can You Find the Hidden Emojis in These Book Covers?

Test your eyesight by trying to find the emojis hidden in each of these book covers! They say don’t judge a book by its cover, but…if you were intrigued by any of these covers you can read more about each book below! Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton The Valiant by Lesley Livingston The Outsiders … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP

I can give you book recommendations.
Please enter your name and email address to begin chatting with me.



What is your date of birth?

START CHAT