Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

6 Books to Cuddle Up With

SHARE

Winter is the best time to be a reader because no one tries to force you to go outside and be “active,” leaving you with plenty of time to cuddle up with a cup of hot cocoa and a good book. Below are a few of our favorites to get all snuggly with, and the perfect place to read them!

 

Darius the Great Is Okay by Adib Khorram

Darius-the-Great-Is-Not-Okay-pb

Where to Read: This is the perfect thing to read curled up at the library with a friend…because basically you’ll want someone nearby to hug.

 

I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

Where to Read: Jandy Nelson’s lyrical exploration of love, art, and the ties that keep people together is a must read, especially when you’re curled up nice in tight in your bed so no one can see you weep.

 

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Where to Read: This book is coziest when you’re snuggled in a blanket fort you built with friends. Hazel Grace would approve of the fairy lights you decided to hang up to light the inside, too!

 

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

WeAreOkay

Where to Read: This beautiful tale of grief and hope is meant to be read in front of a roaring fire with a box of tissues.

 

Always Never Yours by Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegmund-Broka

Always-Never-Yours-COVER

Where to Read: This is a classic, heart-warming cuddle book. Join Megan for a hysterical theatrical adventure as she stumbles into the lead role of Juliet in her school play…and may have even found herself a real-life Romeo. Find a cozy room and fill it with bookish candles and pillows and settle in for a nice long read.

I Have Lost My Way by Gayle Forman

I-Have-Lost-My-Way

Where to Read: Pick your favorite out of the ordinary reading nook (a window seat, a classroom desk, a bean bag at your best friend’s house) and join these three teens for an emotionally cathartic story of losing love, finding love, and dis­covering the person you are meant to be.

 

Layoverland by Gabby Noone

Layoverland

Where to Read: in a warm car on a road trip (it’ll make you extra grateful you aren’t traveling by air!) From debut author Gabby Noone comes a darkly hilarious and heartfelt twist on the afterlife about finding second chances, first loves, and new friendships in the most unlikely places.

 

Devil Darling Spy by Matt Killeen

DevilDarlingSpy

Where to Read: Somewhere you don’t have to move from for a while. Generally, if you’re curling up to read a book, you want something you’re gonna read straight through. Devil Darling Spy is compulsively readable, following Sarah during World War II as she chases a rogue German doctor to Central Africa, only to find he may be weaponizing a deadly disease. If you pick this one up, don’t expect to put it down until you’ve turned the last page.

 

Rebelwing by Andrea Tang

9781984835093

Where to Read: Anywhere you get stuck bored! Sometimes it’s easy to feel like you’ve been sitting too long, especially in waiting rooms…so pick up Rebelwing for some cybernetic dragon riding and live vicariously through Pru!

 

The Last Confession of Autumn Casterly by Meredith Tate

TheLastConfessionofAutumnCasterly

Where to Read: Calling all armchair detectives! This is the book to curl up with in your favorite armchair as you unravel the mystery: what happened to Autumn Casterly?

 

 

The Small Crimes of Tiffany Templeton by Richard Fifield

the-small-crimes-of-tiffany-templeton

Where to Read: This book is full of small town secrets, layered characters, and is the perfect travel read! Take this book with you to keep you company the next time you hop on a train.

 

 

The Vanishing Deep by Astrid Scholte

vanishing deep

Where to Read: Anywhere with a buddy! Grab your best reading buddy and dive into Astrid Scholte’s next twisty mystery revolving around two sisters and one dangerous secret.

 

A Phoenix First Must Burn, edited by Patrice Caldwell

phoenix-first-must-burn-cover

Where to Read: Cuddle up with your pet (because fluffy reading buddies are the best to make comments to as you read) and pick up A Phoenix First Must Burn for a series of fantastic, magical stories and a break from the snow outside. These authors have woven worlds to create a stunning narrative that centers Black women and gender nonconforming individuals, and you’ll definitely want to stay in to read it all the way through.

 

LOOK by Zan Romanoff

Look

Where to Read: Get ready to take this with you on vacation, because it has everything you need to make you want to put down your phone and forget about social media for a while. It’s a deceptively glamorous, feminist, emotionally complex, utterly compelling, queer coming-of-age novel about falling in love and taking ownership of your own self–your whole self–in the age of social media.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? Check out these places you can escape to without leaving your cozy spot!

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Read an excerpt of IMAGINARY BORDERS!

We’ve been spotlighting some of our favorite reads by Latinx authors in honor of #LatinxHeritageMonth, and today we’re sharing an excerpt of Imaginary Borders by Xiuhtezcatl Martinez. In this personal, moving essay, environmental activist and hip-hop artist Xiuhtezcatl Martinez uses his art and his activism to show that climate change is a human issue that can’t be ignored. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP