Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

12 Books to Cuddle Up With

SHARE

Winter is the best time to be a reader because no one tries to force you to go outside and be “active,” leaving you with plenty of time to cuddle up with a cup of hot cocoa and a good book. Below are a few of our favorites to get all snuggly with, and the perfect places to read them!

 

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Where to Read: This book is coziest when you’re snuggled in a blanket fort. Hazel Grace would approve of the fairy lights you decided to hang up to light the inside, too!

 

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

WeAreOkay

Where to Read: This beautiful tale of grief and hope is meant to be read in front of a roaring fire with a box of tissues.

 

I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

Where to Read: Jandy Nelson’s lyrical exploration of love, art, and the ties that keep people together is a must read, especially when you’re curled up nice and tight in your bed so no one can see you weep.

 

Darius the Great Is Okay by Adib Khorram

Darius-the-Great-Is-Not-Okay-pb

Where to Read: This is the perfect thing to read curled up with your pet…because basically you’ll want someone nearby to hug.

 

Super Fake Love Song by David Yoon 

SuperFakeLoveSong_CV

Where to Read: This rom com is definitely a heart-warming cuddle book. Join Sunny Dae for a hysterical adventure as he starts his own rock band to impress the new girl in town: Cirrus. Find a cozy room and fill it with bookish candles and pillows and settle in for a nice long read.

 

A Phoenix First Must Burn, edited by Patrice Caldwell

phoenix-first-must-burn-cover

Where to Read: Cuddle up with a warm cup of tea somewhere cozy and pick up A Phoenix First Must Burn for a series of fantastic, magical stories and a break from the snow outside. You’ll definitely want to stay in to read it all the way through.

 

I Have Lost My Way by Gayle Forman

I-Have-Lost-My-Way

Where to Read: Pick your favorite out of the ordinary reading nook (a window seat, under your desk, a bean bag at your best friend’s house) and join these three teens for an emotionally cathartic story of losing love, finding love, and dis­covering the person you are meant to be.

 

Layoverland by Gabby Noone

Layoverland

Where to Read: In a warm car–it’ll make you extra grateful you aren’t traveling by air! From debut author Gabby Noone comes a darkly hilarious and heartfelt twist on the afterlife about finding second chances, first loves, and new friendships in the most unlikely places.

 

A Sky Beyond the Storm by Sabaa Tahir

sky beyond the storm

Where to Read: Somewhere you don’t have to move from for a while. Generally, if you’re curling up to read a book, you want something you’re gonna read straight through, and there is a 0% chance you’ll be putting this one down until you’ve read the last page!

 

Rebelwing by Andrea Tang

9781984835093

Where to Read: Anywhere you get stuck bored! Sometimes it’s easy to feel like you’ve been sitting too long…so pick up Rebelwing for some cybernetic dragon riding and live vicariously through Pru while you wait for the companion novel, Renegade Flight!

 

They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman 

THEY-WISH-THEY-WERE-US

Where to Read: Calling all armchair detectives! This is the book to curl up with in your favorite armchair as you unravel the mystery: what REALLY happened to Shaila that night?!

 

Every Body Looking by Candice Iloh 

Every-Body-LookingWR

Where to Read: Anywhere! This one will sweep you away with its gorgeously crafted narrative and won’t let you go until you’ve reached the last page.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? Check out these places you can escape to without leaving your cozy spot!

#ShelfGoals

The perfect TBR for fans of enemies to lovers books!

Is enemies to lovers your trope of choice? Here are a few reads featuring hate-to-love couples we can’t help but fall for!     What’s Not to Love by Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-Broka In the game of love, there’s always room for extra creditAn enemies-to-lovers YA rom-com filled with perfect banter, nerdy drama, and … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: FLYY GIRLS #3 – Noelle: The Mean Girl by Ashley Woodfolk

The third installment in Ashley Woodfolk’s Flyy Girls series is here! There are only three things that matter to Noelle Lee: her family, school, and the cello. She doesn’t care if people see her as selfish or mean because she knows she has her priorities in order. That’s why when her dad loses his job, Noelle doesn’t … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of We Are the Ashes, We Are the Fire by Joy McCullough

From the author of the acclaimed Blood Water Paint, a new contemporary YA novel in prose and verse about a girl struggling with guilt and a desire for revenge after her sister’s rapist escapes with no prison time. Scroll down to read an excerpt of Joy McCullough’s We Are the Ashes, We Are the Fire. Content warning: this … Continued
See More

Love triangles we LOVE in YA!

Love a good love triangle? Here are a few of our recommendations if you’re looking for your next love triangle to feel deeply conflicted over!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae Perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Holly Black, The Kinder Poison is an enthralling fantasy adventure that follows a teenage girl chosen to be … Continued
See More

Start reading THE VALLEY AND THE FLOOD

Debut author Rebecca Mahoney delivers an immersive and captivating novel about magical places, found family, the power of grief and memory, and the journey toward reconciling who you think you’ve become with the person you’ve been all along. Scroll down to start reading The Valley and the Flood by Rebecca Mahoney My taillights cut a path down … Continued
See More

Best Sisters in YA

We love an epic protagonist. But you know who we really need to talk about? The underrated siblings we adore. So here are a few of our favorite sisters in YA!   The Girls I’ve Been by Tess Sharpe Nora O’Malley’s badass big sis is someone you do NOT want to mess with.   The … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: What’s Not to Love

Author couple #Wibbroka is back! What’s Not to Love is an enemies-to-lovers YA romcom filled with perfect banter, nerdy drama, and heart-pounding romance—perfect for fans of Morgan Matson, Emma Lord, and Sandhya Menon. Scroll down to read an excerpt! One I hold my head high, sitting up straight in the passenger seat of my mom’s SUV. Whatever happens, I … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: THE SHADOW WAR

Today we’re sharing an excerpt of Lindsay Smith’s The Shadow War! Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and thrilling tale of power, shadow, and revenge set during World War II. Scroll down to start reading! Chapter One Liam Liam staggered through the storybook village with a fistful of shadows and a mouthful of lies. The whitewashed … Continued
See More

High Stakes Thrillers That Will Keep You Guessing

If you’re looking to escape real life for a bit for some fictional thrills, these high stakes books have everything you need, from pirates to reanimated sisters to assassins! Scroll down for 17 high stakes thrillers that are sure to keep you guessing.   Rebel Sisters by Tochi Onyebuchi A deadly virus is only one … Continued
See More

Start reading THE WIDE STARLIGHT

The Hazel Wood meets The Astonishing Color of After in this dreamy, atmospheric novel that follows sixteen-year-old Eli as she tries to remember what truly happened the night her mother disappeared off a frozen fjord in Norway under the Northern Lights. Scroll down to start reading The Wide Starlight by Nicole Lesperance! I find the letter one slushy February afternoon, … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP