Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

8 Books to Start Once the Credits Start Rolling at Mockingjay, Part II

SHARE

You may experience these symptoms as a direct effect of watching Mockingjay, Part II in theaters: shaking, elevated heart rate, and the urgent desire to keep the epic adventure alive. Fear not, because we’ve rounded up 8 books that will keep the hardcore games, dangerous dystopian worlds, and abundant adrenaline going:

 

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

At least in The Hunger Games you KNOW who you’re supposed to kill, and who’s trying to kill you – imagine the challenges you face when any human you come across might be an extraterrestrial killer.

 

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

When you live in a society where one step out of line could mean the destruction of your world and everyone you love, do you hesitate to fight for what you want the most?

 

The Young Elites by Marie Lu

As a survivor of a blood fever that wiped out a huge part of the population, Adelina belongs to the disenfranchised and discriminated people of her world – but now it’s time to stand up and seek revenge on those who have hurt her.

 

Zodiac by Romina Russell

Instead of being separated by districts, the dwellers in the Zodiac universe live in houses according to horoscope, and it’s up to 16-year-old House Cancer member Rho to warn the rest of the galaxy when an exiled guardian of Zodiac legend comes back to exact revenge.

 

Legend by Marie Lu

June is a prodigy being groomed for success in her government’s highest military circles, and Day is the country’s most wanted criminal – but when they meet, the truth of what has brought them together will change the course of the world as they know it.

 

Matched by Ally Condie

Cassia doesn’t have to make any choices: the Society makes the right ones for her. But a glitch in their Matchmaking ceremony forces her to question whether the life that they’ve planned out for her is the right one.

 

Half Bad by Sally Green

In modern-day England, good witches and bad witches live alongside humans – and Nathan is both. He’s on the run and being hunted from both sides, but where do you turn when there’s no one safe to trust?

 

Dove Arising by Karen Bao

Moon colony-dweller Phaet Theta undergoes brutal training after joining the faceless Militia in order to save her family, but her plan starts to crumble when she realizes that her logically-ordered world is not what it seems.

 

Don’t miss this great list — films and their YA novel pairings!

 

#ShelfGoals

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More

Middle Grade Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

  What Lane? by Torrey Maldonado “STAY IN YOUR LANE.” Stephen doesn’t want to hear that–he wants to have no lane.Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak into an abandoned building, he doesn’t think it’s his lane, but he goes. Here’s … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to debut voices such as Patrice Caldwell, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP