Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

9 Retellings You’ll Feel Guilty For Liking Better Than the Original

SHARE

Sometimes you love a story so much you can read it again and again. But after you’ve read it five…six…seven…times, you may need to move on for a minute. We’ve rounded up some of our favorite retellings that, dare I say it, you might even like more than the original!

 

Piper by Jay Asher and Jessica Freeburg

#1 international bestselling author of Thirteen Reasons Why Jay Asher and co-author Jessica Freeburg brilliantly reimagine the classic Pied Piper legend as a powerful graphic novel about loneliness, love, and vengeance.

 

The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury

Forget three wishes, you only need one to get a copy of this luscious, sassy, romantic retelling in which the most powerful jinni on earth falls in love with Aladdin.

 

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

A Thousand and One Nights definitely didn’t keep us up as late as the story of Shazi’s attempt to seek revenge on the Caliph of Khorasan, only to find out that everything isn’t what it seems inside his palace.

The Season by Jonah Lisa Dyer and Stephen Dyer

This is the version of Pride and Prejudice the world needs: set during the debutante season in Dallas, Texas, it still has the ballgowns but stars a soccer pro who’s anything but a girly girl and has no idea what she’s in for.

 

Exit, Pursued by a Bear by E. K. Johnston

Veronica Mars meets Shakespeare in this update of The Winter’s Tale in which the captain of her cheerleading team refuses to be anyone’s cautionary tale after the unspeakable happens at training camp.

 

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes

Based on Grimm’s fairy tale The Handless Maiden, this gut-wrenching but ultimately hopeful tale about the dangers of blind faith is a breathless page-turner.

 

Dreamers Often Lie by Jacqueline West

When Jaye returns to school after waking up in the hospital, she starts to notice unnerving similarities between her circumstances and those of some of Shakespeare’s most famous plays. Soon she’ll have to ask…is it all in her head?

 

Never Ever by Sara Saedi

Never Ever HC

Let’s be honest, we’re all waiting for our own Peter Pan to show up and whisk us away to Neverland. In Never Ever, Neverland is a tropical island off the coast of New York City, but high schooler Wylie will find that paradise is full of secrets when she arrives.

 

Man Made Boy by Jon Skovron

This reimagining of Frankenstein stars Boy, the 16-year-old son of Frankenstein’s Monster who runs away from his family on a cross-country road trip but finds he can’t escape his demons until he faces them once more.

 

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? Check out these 8 books to read if you can’t get enough Riverdale!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Read an excerpt of IMAGINARY BORDERS!

We’ve been spotlighting some of our favorite reads by Latinx authors in honor of #LatinxHeritageMonth, and today we’re sharing an excerpt of Imaginary Borders by Xiuhtezcatl Martinez. In this personal, moving essay, environmental activist and hip-hop artist Xiuhtezcatl Martinez uses his art and his activism to show that climate change is a human issue that can’t be ignored. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP