Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

8 things you DIDN’T know about Four Dead Queens

SHARE

Author Astrid Scholte is here to tell you 7 things you didn’t know about Four Dead Queens!

Four Dead Queens is an enthralling fast-paced royal murder mystery where competing agendas collide with deadly consequences.

We hope you enjoy these special easter eggs!

 

7 things you didn’t know about Four Dead Queens 

by Astrid Scholte

 

  1. Initially there were six queens. I’m a pantser, so I usually start with a concept or hook and see where it takes me. For Four Dead Queens, I knew I wanted to have a murder mystery set in a fantasy world, which was divided into very distinct regions with a queen ruling together, yet apart. When I first starting writing, I imagined there would be six queens, but I quickly discovered two of the queens, Freya and Mobi, didn’t have much screen time. These two queens only lasted the first draft before getting the cut. And then there were four!

 

  1. There were many name changes throughout the process of writing Four Dead Queens. Kacella became Keralie, Sierra became Stessa, Karla became Corra and Teron became Varin. The only characters whose names remained the same from the outset was Queen Iris, Queen Marguerite and Mackiel. I like play around with names and letters throughout drafts until the sound and look of the name fits my feelings toward the character. I usually know what they look like before I know their name. Painting their portraits was a process to learn more about the characters and what they’re like.

 

  1. The original working title for Four Dead Queens was The Murder Disk. It sounded far too sci-fi and not intriguing enough.

 

  1. The first spark of inspiration for Four Dead Queens came from a dream where I sat in a horse-drawn carriage and a sleek silver car drove past. When I woke, I wondered why a country would have such contrasting cultures and technologies. Initially, I began with the idea of one world splintered into different time periods. And while I eventually moved away from this idea as the distinction between the quadrants, there are clues to the original concept with Toria being named after Victorian times and Eonia after eons.

 

  1. Mackiel had always been Keralie’s boss, but in the first drafts, he was older. It made more sense to age him down and have him as a childhood friend of Keralie’s, which added to the complexity of their relationship.

 

6. For a long time, Archia was connected to the mainland of Quadara. It only became an island in the later stages of revisions to help define why and how the quadrant could remain so untouched, compared to the other quadrants.

 

  1. Quadara is just one nation of a bigger world. This world is hinted at in the book, but not yet explored. Maybe sometimes in the future it will be!

 

 

  1. And finally, there is an easter egg on the front cover of the book. Have you spotted it?

 

 

 

 

 

Get your copy of Four Dead Queens here!

 

Have you heard? We’re dropping 2020 titles! Checkout the most recent updates here!

#WhatsTrending

Holiday Gift Guide: Book Lover’s Edition!

Looking for the perfect gift for the book lover in your life? We’ve got you covered for all types, from fantasy fans to romance readers! Scroll down to find the perfect read for the book lover in your life.   House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland – A dark, twisty modern fairytale where three sisters discover they … Continued
See More

The Electric Kingdom has a stunning new paperback look!

The Electric Kingdom by David Arnold knocked our socks off this year, and it’s making a comeback in 2022 with a whole new look! Scroll down to see the new paperback cover and read a bit about what’s inside! New York Times bestseller David Arnold’s most ambitious novel to date; Station Eleven meets The 5th Wave in a genre-smashing story of … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: JUMPER by Melanie Crowder

Cover reveal time! In Jumper by Melanie Crowder, nineteen-year-old Blair’s passion for fighting fires lands her a spot with the Forest Service and sets her on a wilderness adventure that quickly turns catastrophic. Scroll down to see the cover and read a bit about the book! Cover design: Maria Fazio   How far would you go to … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: MELT WITH YOU by Jennifer Dugan

Cover reveal! From the author of Hot Dog Girl comes a sweet and salty queer YA rom-com about two girls on a summer road trip in an ice cream truck. Fallon and Chloe used to be best friends. But last summer, the girls hooked up right before Chloe left for college, and after a series of misunderstandings, they … Continued
See More

Halloween may be over, but these upcoming reads will keep your shelves scary all year long!

Already missing Halloween? Don’t worry. The rest of 2021 AND 2022 are packed with reads to keep your shelves scary all year long. Scroll down to see what’s coming!   The Righteous by Renée Ahdieh – Coming Dec 7, 2021! The third book in the instant New York Times bestselling series that began with The Beautiful. Pippa Montrose is … Continued
See More

Time for Halloween books! Make sure to add these 21 wicked reads to your list!

Halloween is almost upon us, and we are HERE with your perfect list of Halloween books. Whether you’re looking for ghosts, monsters, or a good ol’ classic slasher, here are 21 wicked reads GUARANTEED to get you in the Halloween spirit! Pssst! And you can enter to WIN THEM ALL at the bottom of this … Continued
See More

Reads to Help You Recover from Black Friday

Black Friday is still notoriously a wild time, even if it’s just a chill night of you trying to decipher how you added so many new books to your online shopping cart. Regardless, it’s one of those days that requires a cup of hot cocoa and a stack of good books to recover from. But luckily, … Continued
See More

2022 Cover Reveal Bonanza: Thrillers Edition!

It’s time to drop some COVERS! We’ve been celebrating our favorite scary reads this month, but the horror doesn’t end there. Today, we’re revealing not one, not two, but FOUR brand new 2022 books to add to your thriller TBR! And we may have even snatched some excerpts of these new reads for you to … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: BEAUTY AND THE BESHARAM

Cover reveal time! Heated competition leads to even hotter romance in this YA summer rom-com for fans of Sandhya Menon, Emma Lord, and Wibbroka. Scroll down to see the cover of Beauty and the Besharam by Lillie Vale AND read an early excerpt! Seventeen-year-old, high-achieving Kavya Joshi has always been told she’s a little too ambitious, a … Continued
See More

YA books to read based on your favorite horror movie!

Binging all things scary this month? We have the book recs to help you find your perfect, creepy read this October based on your favorite horror film!   House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland A dark, twisty modern fairytale where three sisters discover they are not exactly all that they seem and evil things really do … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP