Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

9 Books to Read if You Live in New York City (Or Wish You Did)

SHARE
Ah, New York City… Doesn’t everyone have that dream of sitting on a bench in Central Park, the leaves falling, and you’re clutching a hot chocolate while making your way through a giant novel? We can’t buy you a ticket, but we can give you an insider’s view of The Big Apple with these books set in NYC!

 

I Have Lost My Way by Gayle Forman

After three teens serendipitously collide (quite literally) in Central Park, the three strangers take on New York City together. From Soho streets, to uptown diners, to West Village baseball diamonds, the trio makes their way through the city, all while learning more about each other and even themselves.

The Careful Undressing of Love by Corey Ann Haydu

The girls of Devonairre Street have always been told they’re cursed. New York City is reimagined in this haunting story about the wonders of youth and the mysteries of love.

 

The Appearance of Annie van Sinderen by Katherine Howe

Tag along with NYU-student Wes as he films a seance in the East Village and then proceeds to run into the strange, beautiful girl he met there…and perhaps unearth her dark secret.

 

Into the Dangerous World by Julie Chibbaro

After Ror’s father torches the commune her family lives on, they end up in a Manhattan homeless residence where she falls in with a graffiti crew which forces her to wonder…what kind of artist does she want to be?

 

Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

Get swept away in the cross-continenta love story of Isla and Josh in the glittering streets of Manhattan and the moonlit rooftops of Paris.

 

Survive the Night by Danielle Vega

Ok we’ll be real with you, you might NOT want to visit NYC after you devour this book: it’s about a girl who goes to an all-night, underground rave at which bodies start showing up in the subway…

 

Like No Other by Una LaMarche

Cross the East River into Brooklyn with the love story of two neighbors who’ve never crossed paths, until one day – they do. But the forbidden nature of their relationship forces them to consider how far they can go…and how much they’re willing to give up.

 

Skyscraping by Cordelia Jensen

A heart-wrenching novel in verse about Mira, whose world splinters when she discovers her father with his male lover, and she has to make sense of the fractures in her family’s fabric.

 

Where She Went by Gayle Forman

The emotional follow-up to If I Stay continues the story of Adam and Mia, whose paths collide in New York City several years after Mia’s decision to stay…but not with him.

 

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? Here’s what we’re looking forward to early this year!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Read an excerpt of IMAGINARY BORDERS!

We’ve been spotlighting some of our favorite reads by Latinx authors in honor of #LatinxHeritageMonth, and today we’re sharing an excerpt of Imaginary Borders by Xiuhtezcatl Martinez. In this personal, moving essay, environmental activist and hip-hop artist Xiuhtezcatl Martinez uses his art and his activism to show that climate change is a human issue that can’t be ignored. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP