Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

9 Books to Give You the Summer Scaries

SHARE

Looking for a way to beat the heat? You’re in luck–there are a lot of books that will send a chill down your spine on even the hottest of nights this summer. From monsters to ghosts to serial killers (and even some ghostly serial killers), there’s a book for everyone seeking thrills. Check out this list for nine books that will give you a wicked case of the summer scaries–if you dare.

 

The Merciless Series by Danielle Vega

The term “mean girls” takes on a whole new meaning when this group of friends decides to perform an exorcism on one of their own.

 

And Then There Were Four by Nancy Werlin

What’s worse than discovering that someone is trying to murder you? Discovering that your parents are the ones behind the plot, for one.

 

Nightfall by Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski

On this island, sunrise doesn’t come every 24 hours–it comes every 28 YEARS. Don’t get left in the darkness–you don’t want to know what dwells in the shadows.

 

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea by April Genevieve Tucholke

A quiet girl named Violet meets a dark-haired boy who naps in the sun, drinks coffee like it’s his job, kisses girls in cemeteries–and just might be the Devil. Everyone has their faults, right?

 

Paper Valentine by Brenna Yovanoff

Think twice before complaining that you’re bored this summer–with a string of murders happening in her town and her dead best friend haunting her room, Hannah has more than enough problems this summer.

 

Blood & Salt by Kim Liggett

Traditions lead to gruesome deaths in Quivara, a place where something sinister waits in the cornstalks. Traveler’s tip: don’t make your way into the fields alone…

 

Survive the Night by Danielle Vega

An all-night, underground rave in the subway system of New York City–what could go wrong? Mutilated bodies showing up in the tunnels, that’s what.

 

The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

A serial killer? Scary. A serial killer that can’t be killed (or even seen) because he happens to be the ghost of Jack the Ripper? Scarier.

 

Slasher Girls & Monster Boys by April Genevieve Tucholke

Lock your doors and make sure all the lights are on before you start reading these terrifying short stories by your favorite YA authors.

 

Start reading a few select titles below!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Read an excerpt of IMAGINARY BORDERS!

We’ve been spotlighting some of our favorite reads by Latinx authors in honor of #LatinxHeritageMonth, and today we’re sharing an excerpt of Imaginary Borders by Xiuhtezcatl Martinez. In this personal, moving essay, environmental activist and hip-hop artist Xiuhtezcatl Martinez uses his art and his activism to show that climate change is a human issue that can’t be ignored. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP