Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

9 Books to Read if You Love The Handmaid’s Tale

SHARE

If you’re like us, you’re completely obsessed with Hulu’s adaptation of Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. If you need your dystopian fix, these dystopian novels are just the thing! #BlessUp

 

The Virtue of Sin by Shannon Schuren

TheVirtueofSin

Rules. Secrets. Manipulation. This book takes place in a present-day cult and it’s chilling.

Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the desert far away from the sins and depravity of the outside world. Within the gates of New Jerusalem, and under the eye of its founder and leader, Daniel, Miriam knows she is safe. Cared for. Even if she’s forced, as a girl, to quiet her tongue when she has thoughts she wants to share, Miriam knows that New Jerusalem is a far better life than any alternative. So when God calls for a Matrimony, she’s thrilled; she knows that Caleb, the boy she loves, will choose her to be his wife and they can finally start their life together.

But when the ceremony goes wrong and Miriam winds up with someone else, she can no longer keep quiet. For the first time, Miriam begins to question not only the rules that Daniel has set in place, but also what it is she believes in, and where she truly belongs.

 

Matched by Allie Condie

Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander’s face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows he is her ideal mate . . . until she sees Ky Markham’s face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black. The Society tells her it’s a glitch, but Cassia isn’t convinced.

 

Legend by Marie Lu

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Day and June, two teens from very different worlds, must navigate the treacherous Republic and face political intrigue, false murder accusations, and a secret that might shake their country to its bones.

 

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one. Cassie stopped trusting long ago, positive that the only way to survive the alien invaders is to go it alone. Can Evan change her mind, and can they make it through the 5th Wave?

 

Nerve by Jeanne Ryan

The game of Truth or Dare has never been more real – especially when the only choice is dare. Vee is up against her dream guy with their lives on the line as the world watches to see if they truly have the nerve to keep playing.

 

Nightfall by Jake Halpern & Peter Kujawinski

On Marin’s island, sunrise doesn’t come every 24 hours, it comes every 28 YEARS. At sunset, the islanders of Bliss must quickly prepare to sail south, where they will wait out the long, fourteen years of unforgiving Night. But this time, Marin doesn’t make it out… She’s just been left behind in 14 years of Night.

 

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

81tWhFdQroL

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.
The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.
The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.
Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

 

Incarceron by Catherine Fisher

Incarceron is a prison so vast that it contains not only cells and corridors, but metal forests, dilapidated cities, and wilderness. It has been sealed for centuries, and only one man has ever escaped. Finn has been a prisoner here for as long as he can remember, but for some reason he is sure he came from Outside, and is determined to go back there.

 

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

41LPBRNaVCL._SX355_BO1,204,203,200_

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before – and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

 

The Last Voyage of Poe Blythe by Ally Condie

PoeBlythe

A dystopian world with environmental disasters out the wazoo? Meet The Last Voyage of Poe Blythe. Only there is something Poe Blythe, the seventeen-year-old captain of the Outpost’s last mining ship, wants far more than the gold they tear from the Serpentine River.
Revenge.

 

 

 

 

Ready to tackle whatever comes next? These 13 YA heroines are here for inspiration!

 

 

#WhatsTrending

Read an excerpt of THE VANISHING DEEP

After Four Dead Queens left us SHOCKED with the killer plot twist of 2019, we have been eagerly awaiting to see what Astrid Scholte has next! Luckily, we don’t have to wait long. The Vanishing Deep is hitting shelves THIS. MARCH. But we have an excerpt, so you can start reading it today! The Vanishing Deep follows seventeen-year-old Tempe, who … Continued
See More

Biggest Books of the Decade: 2017

2017. To put it simply? It was the year of Fyre Festival. But hey, at least we got some great books. Welcome to your 2017 blast from the past!   Biggest Books of 2017! Turtles All the Way Down by John Green Aza Holmes never intended to pursue the disappearance of fugitive billionaire Russell Pickett, but … Continued
See More

Cast Your Vote for the Best Bookish Moments of 2019!

2019 has been a FULL of heart-stopping moments in the book world. Frank stole our hearts in Frankly in Love. The plot twist at the end of The Beautiful left us SCREAMING. Ruta Sepetys made us sob with yet another masterpiece, The Fountains of Silence. This is Penguin Teen: Best Bookish Moments of 2019, and the vote is up to YOU! Meet … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: THE COMPANION

Get ready for the eeriest read of this summer. Today, we’re revealing the cover of Katie Alender’s twisty new novel, The Companion. And this cover.is.CHILLING. The Companion follows Margot. The other orphans claim she’s lucky. Lucky to survive the horrible accident that killed her family. Lucky to have her own room because she wakes up screaming every night. And finally, … Continued
See More

Biggest Books of the Decade: 2016

It was 2016 and basically everyone was either dancing to Hamilton or obsessed with Stranger Things. Welcome to your 2016 blast from the past!   Biggest Books of 2016! Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs Before Miss Peregrine gave them a home, the story of peculiars was written in the Tales.Wealthy cannibals who dine on the … Continued
See More

Biggest Books of the Decade: 2013

It was the year everyone was laughing their heads off over that video of a goat screaming to “I Knew You Were Trouble” by Taylor Swift. It was the year Vine was born. The year we pondered what, exactly, does a fox say? This is your 2013 wrap-up.   Biggest Books of 2013! The 5th Wave by … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: BEYOND THE BREAK

It’s COVER REVEAL TIME! We’re revealing the cover of Heather Buchta’s Beyond the Break, a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, if you count her faith… and that’s where things may get complicated. Scroll down to see the cover AND read an excerpt below!   Chapter One The first time … Continued
See More

Biggest Books of the Decade: 2015

The year of the Taylor Swift 1989 tour. The year Jon Snow died. Oh, and hey, remember Left Shark? Welcome to your 2015 wrap-up!     Biggest Books of 2015! An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir Laia is a slave. Elias is a soldier. Neither is free.Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Those … Continued
See More

Biggest Books of the Decade: 2018

Yanny or Laurel?? Welcome to your 2018 blast from the past!   Biggest Books of 2018! A Map of Days by Ransom Riggs Laia is a slave. Elias is a soldier. Neither is free.Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Those who do not vow their blood and bodies to the Emperor risk the execution … Continued
See More

Biggest Books of the Decade: 2014

Oh, 2014. The year Adele Dazeem was born. The year everyone dropped buckets of ice each other to spread a good cause. The year How I Met Your Mother ended (in an episode that is still hotly debated to this day.) Let It Go was stuck in our heads for months on end. And also we got some amazing books. This … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP