Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

9 Books to Read if You Love The Handmaid’s Tale

SHARE

If you’re like us, you’re completely obsessed with Hulu’s adaptation of Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. If you need your dystopian fix, these dystopian novels are just the thing! #BlessUp

 

The Virtue of Sin by Shannon Schuren

TheVirtueofSin

Rules. Secrets. Manipulation. This book takes place in a present-day cult and it’s chilling.

Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the desert far away from the sins and depravity of the outside world. Within the gates of New Jerusalem, and under the eye of its founder and leader, Daniel, Miriam knows she is safe. Cared for. Even if she’s forced, as a girl, to quiet her tongue when she has thoughts she wants to share, Miriam knows that New Jerusalem is a far better life than any alternative. So when God calls for a Matrimony, she’s thrilled; she knows that Caleb, the boy she loves, will choose her to be his wife and they can finally start their life together.

But when the ceremony goes wrong and Miriam winds up with someone else, she can no longer keep quiet. For the first time, Miriam begins to question not only the rules that Daniel has set in place, but also what it is she believes in, and where she truly belongs.

 

Matched by Allie Condie

Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander’s face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows he is her ideal mate . . . until she sees Ky Markham’s face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black. The Society tells her it’s a glitch, but Cassia isn’t convinced.

 

Legend by Marie Lu

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Day and June, two teens from very different worlds, must navigate the treacherous Republic and face political intrigue, false murder accusations, and a secret that might shake their country to its bones.

 

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one. Cassie stopped trusting long ago, positive that the only way to survive the alien invaders is to go it alone. Can Evan change her mind, and can they make it through the 5th Wave?

 

Nerve by Jeanne Ryan

The game of Truth or Dare has never been more real – especially when the only choice is dare. Vee is up against her dream guy with their lives on the line as the world watches to see if they truly have the nerve to keep playing.

 

Nightfall by Jake Halpern & Peter Kujawinski

On Marin’s island, sunrise doesn’t come every 24 hours, it comes every 28 YEARS. At sunset, the islanders of Bliss must quickly prepare to sail south, where they will wait out the long, fourteen years of unforgiving Night. But this time, Marin doesn’t make it out… She’s just been left behind in 14 years of Night.

 

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

81tWhFdQroL

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.
The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.
The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.
Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

 

Incarceron by Catherine Fisher

Incarceron is a prison so vast that it contains not only cells and corridors, but metal forests, dilapidated cities, and wilderness. It has been sealed for centuries, and only one man has ever escaped. Finn has been a prisoner here for as long as he can remember, but for some reason he is sure he came from Outside, and is determined to go back there.

 

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

41LPBRNaVCL._SX355_BO1,204,203,200_

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before – and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

 

The Last Voyage of Poe Blythe by Ally Condie

PoeBlythe

A dystopian world with environmental disasters out the wazoo? Meet The Last Voyage of Poe Blythe. Only there is something Poe Blythe, the seventeen-year-old captain of the Outpost’s last mining ship, wants far more than the gold they tear from the Serpentine River.
Revenge.

 

 

 

 

Ready to tackle whatever comes next? These 13 YA heroines are here for inspiration!

 

 

#WhatsTrending

This Spell Can’t Last by Isabel Sterling is coming!

Exciting prequel news! If you fell under Isabel Sterling’s spell in These Witches Don’t Burn and are already highly anticipating This Coven Won’t Break this May, prepare yourself. Author Isabel Sterling has a prequel e-novella up her sleeves! Get ready for This Spell Can’t Last (omg that title, right?!) Hannah and Veronica battle a Blood Witch in the thrilling, heartbreaking e-novella prequel to These … Continued
See More

Excerpt alert: THE KINGDOM OF BACK

We really need to talk about The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu. Because, honestly? It’s not just going to steal your heart, but it’s going to take it into a mythical land that’s so magical you won’t want to take it back. IT’S THAT GOOD. But on with the excerpt. The Kingdom of Back is … Continued
See More

Try Not to Swoon Challenge: YA’s Steamiest Romances 😍

Alright, folks. Prepare to swoon. We’re counting down some of YA’s absolute swooniest romances of all time. Kicking us off…   Warcross by Marie Lu *cough* hot tub scene *cough*   Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera Juliet falling in love with a cute librarian named Kira was sort of the best. Also? Kira rides … Continued
See More

What to read after watching Netflix’s TIGER KING

The show was wild from beginning to end as we followed the story of Joe Exotic (or as we all know him: The Tiger King). From insane zoo stories to questionable murder mysteries, Penguin Teen’s got the purr-fect reads after you’ve finished watching Netflix’s latest true crime series docuseries.   The Small Crimes of Tiffany … Continued
See More

We asked readers to send in their favorite quotes from books. Here’s what they said…

We asked readers to send in their favorite quotes from books. Here’s what they said! “Some infinities are bigger than other infinities” – John Green, The Fault in Our Stars     “It isn’t what we say or think that defines us, but what we do.” – Jane Austen, Sense and Sensibility  “Once there was, … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: TIME OF OUR LIVES

In case you are a fan of #Wibbroka (adorable author couple that is Austin Siegemund-Broka & Emily Wibberley) or just generally a fan of romance books that will absolutely win your heart, stick around. We’re revealing an excerpt for Wibbroka’s upcoming release Time of Our Lives! Scroll down to start reading/falling in love. FITZ When I … Continued
See More

Hey Netflix, you should probably get started on these 7 books

Already binge-watched basically everything good on Netflix at this point? Same. And it got us thinking…there are some books Netflix really needs to read, because they would be AMAZING on screen. So, here are our top 7!   The Queen’s Assassin by Melissa de la Cruz A blood oath, an assassin, and a kingdom under … Continued
See More

Do’s and Don’t for encountering a vampire: things YA taught us

Let’s face it: we all have a soft spot for the eternally damned. YA made us love vampires and we aren’t sorry about it. HOWEVER, our favorite books have ALSO taught us that there are certain things to do and not do if you encounter a handsome broody potentially blood-thirsty character. At no. 1…   1. DO … Continued
See More

7 Books To Read During Sexual Assault Awareness Month

April is Sexual Assault Awareness Month and we’re committed to helping keep the conversation going all month long. We find that books can often help us talk about difficult topics – so here are 7 books to help you start a conversation.   SHOUT by Laurie Halse Anderson Bestselling author Laurie Halse Anderson is known for … Continued
See More

8 things you DIDN’T know about Four Dead Queens

Author Astrid Scholte is here to tell you 7 things you didn’t know about Four Dead Queens! Four Dead Queens is an enthralling fast-paced royal murder mystery where competing agendas collide with deadly consequences. We hope you enjoy these special easter eggs!   7 things you didn’t know about Four Dead Queens  by Astrid Scholte   Initially there … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP