Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

10 Love Stories Gone Wrong

SHARE

We all love a good love story…but not all love stories necessarily have smooth courses (or happy endings). Come to think of it, a lot of love stories have a few bumps (or 200) along the way. Here are 10 love stories that don’t go quite as you’d expect!

 

The Love that Split the World by Emily Henry

Love is difficult when you’re living in two different versions of the same town—which is exactly what Natalie and Beau have to overcome.

 

Psst! This is your reminder that this one is on sale on ebook until 4/5!

LoveThatSplit_DownpriceAssets_FBInsta

 

Wildcard by Marie Lu

Wildcard

(SPOILER ALERT: )

Talk about a love story gone wrong. It’s just the worst when it turns out your boyfriend is trying to take over the world. :(

 

Spontaneous by Aaron Starmer

Two words:  Spontaneous. Combustion. How can there be room for romance when people are literally exploding? And yet… Mara finds herself falling for Dylan (in spite of his insane reputation) anyway.

 

Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland

Henry Page has never been love, though he fancies himself a hopeless romantic. Enter: Grace Town. He’s immediately drawn to her, and is determined to win her over, despite alllllll the warning signs.

 

The Ember quartet Sabaa Tahir

Laia. Elias. Helene. Keenan. These characters CANNOT catch a break and their love lives are no exception. And depending on who you ship… well…*worries obsessively about book four*

 

The Wicked King by Holly Black

25182299._SY540_

Okay, so it wasn’t exactly smooth sailing in The Cruel Prince either. These two have ~history~. But you better believe Jude doesn’t have to be one of the fey to be as cruel as Cardan.

 

The Dark Days series by Alison Goodman

THE DARK DAYS DECEIT

Talk about a killer love triangle. Isn’t it just the worst when you’re supposed to be getting ready for your wedding except you can’t because you have to defeat the big bad with the dangerously charismatic Lord Carlston? Oh, and it just so happens the two of you are a dyad, bonded in blood, and can only defeat the Grand Deceiver together.

The Legend Trilogy by Marie Lu

Falling for your brother’s killer? Yeah. Marie Lu is sort of an expert at this destroying-your-feelings thing. June and Day have an epic Romeo and Juliet romance that spans the books of Marie Lu’s Legend trilogy. It will both kill you and give you life.

 

Paper Towns by John Green

Quentin has loved Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar since childhood. So clearly after she disrupts his life one night, and disappears the next day, he has to go find her and find out what happened. But the closer he gets to finding her, the more he realizes he doesn’t really know her at all.

 

Reign of the Fallen by Sarah Glenn Marsh

Reign

(SPOILER ALERT:)

Everyone knows the handsome guy you meet on page 2 is supposed to be THE ONE.

Not so, friends. Little did we know, Sarah Glenn Marsh does not bow to the unspoken rules of YA and was waiting right around the corner waiting to KILL. HIM.

Okay, okay, she DOES give us another really great love interest later. And we may love the new one even more. But that was still a solid kick in the feels.

 

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? Here are 9 books that will destroy. your. heart.

 

#ShelfGoals

Boxed Sets to Binge Read

If you’re stuck at home and are officially looking for your next series to binge read, we got you. We’ve rounded up a wish list of our fav bingey boxed sets!   John Green: The Complete Collection Box Set Honestly, have tissues on hand. This collection includes paperback editions of Looking for Alaska, An Abundance of Katherines, Paper … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of IMAGINARY BORDERS!

We’ve been spotlighting some of our favorite reads by Latinx authors in honor of #LatinxHeritageMonth, and today we’re sharing an excerpt of Imaginary Borders by Xiuhtezcatl Martinez. In this personal, moving essay, environmental activist and hip-hop artist Xiuhtezcatl Martinez uses his art and his activism to show that climate change is a human issue that can’t be ignored. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP