Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

12 Love Stories Gone Wrong

SHARE

We all love a good love story…but not all love stories necessarily have smooth courses (or happy endings). Come to think of it, a lot of love stories have a few bumps (or 200) along the way. Here are 10 love stories that don’t go quite as you’d expect!

 

The Love that Split the World by Emily Henry

Love is difficult when you’re living in two different versions of the same town—which is exactly what Natalie and Beau have to overcome.

 

 

Wildcard by Marie Lu

Wildcard

(SPOILER ALERT: )

Talk about a love story gone wrong. It’s just the worst when it turns out your boyfriend is trying to take over the world.

 

Wicked Fox by Kat Cho

Wicked-Fox

Love isn’t easy when your forced to choose between your immortal life, and the life of your significant other…

 

Spontaneous by Aaron Starmer

Spontaneous

Two words:  Spontaneous. Combustion. How can there be room for romance when people are literally exploding? And yet… Mara finds herself falling for Dylan (in spite of his insane reputation) anyway.

 

Super Fake Love Song by David Yoon

SuperFakeLoveSong_CV

It was going SO WELL until Cirrus wandered into Sunny’s room and mistook his brother’s guitar for Sunny’s. Lying about being a rockstar? Not the best way to start out a relationship.

 

Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland

Chemical_9780593109670_cvr_4p_r3.indd

Henry Page has never been love, though he fancies himself a hopeless romantic. Enter: Grace Town. He’s immediately drawn to her, and is determined to win her over, despite alllllll the warning signs.

 

The An Ember in the Ashes Quartet by Sabaa Tahir

Laia. Elias. Helene. Keenan. Harper. These characters CANNOT catch a break and their love lives are no exception.

The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu

kingdom-of-back-cover

Marie Lu really knows how to break our hearts. Especially when the ethereal, handsome faerie you’ve made a deal with may not be exactly who you thought he was.

 

The Dark Days series by Alison Goodman

THE DARK DAYS DECEIT

Talk about a killer love triangle. Isn’t it just the worst when you’re supposed to be getting ready for your wedding except you can’t because you have to defeat the big bad with the dangerously charismatic Lord Carlston? Oh, and it just so happens the two of you are a dyad, bonded in blood, and can only defeat the Grand Deceiver together.

The Legend Trilogy by Marie Lu

Falling for the prime suspect in your brother’s murder? Yeah. Marie Lu is sort of an expert at this destroying-your-feelings thing. June and Day have an epic Romeo and Juliet romance that spans the books of Marie Lu’s Legend trilogy.

 

Paper Towns by John Green

Quentin has loved Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar since childhood. So clearly after she disrupts his life one night, and disappears the next day, he has to go find her and find out what happened. But the closer he gets to finding her, the more he realizes he doesn’t really know her at all.

 

Reign of the Fallen by Sarah Glenn Marsh

Reign

(SPOILER ALERT:)

Everyone knows the handsome guy you meet on page 2 is supposed to be THE ONE.

Not so. Little did we know, Sarah Glenn Marsh does not bow to the unspoken rules of YA and was waiting right around the corner waiting to KILL. HIM.

Okay, okay, she DOES give us another really great love interest later. And we may love the new one even more. But that was still a solid kick in the feels.

 

 

 

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? Here are 9 books that will destroy. your. heart.

 

#ShelfGoals

The perfect TBR for fans of enemies to lovers books!

Is enemies to lovers your trope of choice? Here are a few reads featuring hate-to-love couples we can’t help but fall for!     What’s Not to Love by Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-Broka In the game of love, there’s always room for extra creditAn enemies-to-lovers YA rom-com filled with perfect banter, nerdy drama, and … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: FLYY GIRLS #3 – Noelle: The Mean Girl by Ashley Woodfolk

The third installment in Ashley Woodfolk’s Flyy Girls series is here! There are only three things that matter to Noelle Lee: her family, school, and the cello. She doesn’t care if people see her as selfish or mean because she knows she has her priorities in order. That’s why when her dad loses his job, Noelle doesn’t … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of We Are the Ashes, We Are the Fire by Joy McCullough

From the author of the acclaimed Blood Water Paint, a new contemporary YA novel in prose and verse about a girl struggling with guilt and a desire for revenge after her sister’s rapist escapes with no prison time. Scroll down to read an excerpt of Joy McCullough’s We Are the Ashes, We Are the Fire. Content warning: this … Continued
See More

Love triangles we LOVE in YA!

Love a good love triangle? Here are a few of our recommendations if you’re looking for your next love triangle to feel deeply conflicted over!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae Perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Holly Black, The Kinder Poison is an enthralling fantasy adventure that follows a teenage girl chosen to be … Continued
See More

Start reading THE VALLEY AND THE FLOOD

Debut author Rebecca Mahoney delivers an immersive and captivating novel about magical places, found family, the power of grief and memory, and the journey toward reconciling who you think you’ve become with the person you’ve been all along. Scroll down to start reading The Valley and the Flood by Rebecca Mahoney My taillights cut a path down … Continued
See More

Best Sisters in YA

We love an epic protagonist. But you know who we really need to talk about? The underrated siblings we adore. So here are a few of our favorite sisters in YA!   The Girls I’ve Been by Tess Sharpe Nora O’Malley’s badass big sis is someone you do NOT want to mess with.   The … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: What’s Not to Love

Author couple #Wibbroka is back! What’s Not to Love is an enemies-to-lovers YA romcom filled with perfect banter, nerdy drama, and heart-pounding romance—perfect for fans of Morgan Matson, Emma Lord, and Sandhya Menon. Scroll down to read an excerpt! One I hold my head high, sitting up straight in the passenger seat of my mom’s SUV. Whatever happens, I … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: THE SHADOW WAR

Today we’re sharing an excerpt of Lindsay Smith’s The Shadow War! Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and thrilling tale of power, shadow, and revenge set during World War II. Scroll down to start reading! Chapter One Liam Liam staggered through the storybook village with a fistful of shadows and a mouthful of lies. The whitewashed … Continued
See More

High Stakes Thrillers That Will Keep You Guessing

If you’re looking to escape real life for a bit for some fictional thrills, these high stakes books have everything you need, from pirates to reanimated sisters to assassins! Scroll down for 17 high stakes thrillers that are sure to keep you guessing.   Rebel Sisters by Tochi Onyebuchi A deadly virus is only one … Continued
See More

Start reading THE WIDE STARLIGHT

The Hazel Wood meets The Astonishing Color of After in this dreamy, atmospheric novel that follows sixteen-year-old Eli as she tries to remember what truly happened the night her mother disappeared off a frozen fjord in Norway under the Northern Lights. Scroll down to start reading The Wide Starlight by Nicole Lesperance! I find the letter one slushy February afternoon, … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP