Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

9 Slow Burn Romances That Are Worth the Wait

SHARE

Usually, those of us who love our books with a heaping side of romance are happy to be feeling like

from page one. But then there are those loves that start off with great chemistry and build over time to something amazing, to the point where we’re like

And when it happens, it’s all the more amazing for having had to wait. So without further ado, here are our picks for best slow-burning romances—we promise, if you keep turning the pages, you’re going to be very, very happy with the results.

(Smoochy-spoilers ahead!)

 

1. Magnus and Cleo from the Falling Kingdoms series

Screen Shot 2018-11-30 at 10.42.09 AM

To be fair, Magnus and Cleo despise each other for the first few books of this series. They have their reasons—after all, Prince Magnus’s evil father invades Princess Cleo’s country and kills her own father, while Magnus’s dislike of Cleo is a reaction to her hatred of him and resentment of her happy, loving childhood in her happy, golden kingdom. It’s not until the two are forced together by circumstance that they really come to see and understand each other for who they are, not who they appear to be, and then…then, you guys! The sparks! The kisses! The exquisite agony of true love!

 

2. Adrian and Sydney from the Bloodlines Series

Bloodlines

When we meet our leading couple in Bloodlines (or rather, when we meet them again—they were both important characters in the Vampire Academy series), it’s clear there’s some real possibility brewing between straight-laced rule-follower Sydney and troubled, passionate Adrian. But Sydney’s been taught her whole life to steer clear of vampires, so even though Adrian’s one of the good ones she’s working so hard to protect, she doesn’t see him as a romantic interest…until book 2, that is. AND IT’S WORTH THE WAIT.

 

3. Alice and Tim from My Life Next Door and The Boy Most Likely To

MyLifeNextDoor

My Life Next Door is, of course, the love story of Samantha and Jase, but there’s another possible romance brewing in the background: the one between Jase’s older sister, Alice, and Sam’s friend, Tim. We’re not saying it’s not complicated. Tim clearly falls for Alice from the get-go, but responsible Alice knows better than to get involved with Tim, who—in spite of how funny and lovable he is—is kind of a disaster. The story continues in The Boy Most Likely To, which brings us a Tim who’s trying to be better, and an Alice who finds it hard to keep resisting his charms. Things seem to be finally working out for them…until something from Tim’s past threatens to jeopardize their new love.

 

4. Lady Helen and Lord Carlston from the Dark Days Club Series

THE DARK DAYS DECEIT

The Dark Days Club gives us plenty of hints that these two might share more than their membership in both London’s society of elites and the Dark Days Club, a shadowy organization dedicated to fighting the demons that are terrorizing the city. Slow burnyness simmers on for The Dark Days Pact. Now that The Dark Days Deceit is here? All bets are off.

 

5. Laia and Elias from the Ember in the Ashes 

An-Ember-in-the-Ashes-COVER

We know, we know—everybody has their favorite romantic pairing from this series, and for some it’s Elias/Helene. But either way, we can all agree that An Ember in the Ashes left us wondering who would end up with who, because there are a lot of feelings going around, none of which are resolved tidily in book 1. This is a revolution after all, they have a lot of other things to concern themselves with. Now we just have to wait and wait for book 4 to break our feelings again.

 

6. Jack and Charlotte from The Inventor’s Secret series

Speaking of revolution! In this new series from Nightshade author Andrea Cremer, the characters live in an alternate version of history where the American Revolution was won by the British. Again, not a ton of time for romance, what with all the freedom fighting and such, but brothers Jack and Coe both exert a pull on Charlotte’s heart. Who will she choose?

 

7. Emika and Hideo from the Warcross duology

Warcross-COVER

Granted, it’s not like instalove happens easily when one party (*cough* Hideo *cough*) is trying to take over the world, everyone’s minds, free will, etc. It’s no wonder this romance had us on the edge of our seats all the way to the end of the duology!

 

8. Emma and Jacob from the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series

AMapofDays

Sometimes it’s love at first sight. Sometimes it’s threaten his life because he looks suspicious and isn’t supposed to be in this time loop at first sight.

We’ll let you guess which is which in this series.

 

9. Adam and Mia from If I Stay and Where She Went

Where-She-Went

We’re not gonna spoil. We’re just saying you’re gonna cry.

Looking for more recommendations? Try these steamy reads!

 

#ShelfGoals

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to debut voices such as Patrice Caldwell, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic. … Continued
See More

14 Books to Read During Mental Health Awareness Month

May is Mental Health Awareness Month and we find that books can not only help us understand or sympathize, but can often help us talk about difficult topics. Here are 15 books to read this month to help start a conversation and #endthestigma.   Turtles All the Way Down by John Green Aza is trying. She is trying … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

The 2020/2021 books you need to add to your TBR ASAP

Did you join us for Penguin Teen’s 2020/2021 preview show? Here are the books we talked about! Scroll down to read about some of our most anticipated reads!   They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman – July 21, 2020 Gossip Girl meets One of Us Is Lying with a dash of The Secret History in this slick, taut murder mystery … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of THIS COVEN WON’T BREAK

This Coven Won’t Break is hitting shelves next month! We are so excited for the thrilling sequel to These Witches Don’t Burn and are sharing an excerpt in anticipation of book 2. Scroll down to read! High school. They say it’s the best time of our lives. A time of exploration and endless possibilities. We can try … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Middle Grade Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

  What Lane? by Torrey Maldonado “STAY IN YOUR LANE.” Stephen doesn’t want to hear that–he wants to have no lane.Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak into an abandoned building, he doesn’t think it’s his lane, but he goes. Here’s … Continued
See More

9 Books That Make Great Gift Ideas For Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day is right around the corner, and we know that gift lists for moms are running rampant everywhere. But the best thing about giving books is that you give an experience, too. So we rounded up some of our favorite heartfelt, historical, and humorous books that make great gift ideas for Mother’s Day.   … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP