Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

9 Important Things We Learned From Marie Lu’s Reddit AMA

SHARE

Ahead of Wildcard release (THIS TUESDAY!) Marie Lu was a guest on Reddit’s popular AMA (Ask. Me. Anything) session and fans jumped in with all KINDS of interesting questions. From Legend to The Young Elites to corgis and Hideo’s safety A LOT was covered. Some super INTERESTING questions were answered and we’ve got 9 important things to look at but you can read the entire Reddit AMA right here

 

She’s loving Seafire!

When asked what she is currently reading Marie mentioned Natalie C Parker’s Seafire as her current read along with Samantha Shannon’s The Priory of the Orange Tree.

 

Real life Warcross game?

Could it actually happen? Well not SO fast, according to Marie it would be REALLY expense to make the Warcross game a tech reality but who knows what the future might bring!

 

June and Day as parents!

When asked how June and Day of the Legend series might handle being parents, Marie’s hilarious but so true response: “I think June would spoil their kids a bit more than Day, and Day would be the overly paranoid parent always checking up on where they were.”

 

Advice for writers

“Don’t be afraid to write a bad a first draft.” So true!

 

Warcross might NOT be over!

SAY WHAT! While admitting she knew the ending when starting Warcross, and that it is a two book story, Marie also acknowledge the world is open enough to allow more  books – YAAAASSS

 

Games Marie Plays

Of course when you write a book about gaming, you’ve gotta love the #gamelife. What are Marie’s favorite games? Journey. Assassin’s Creed 2. Assassin’s Creed Origins. Inside. Monument Valley. Life Is Strange.

 

Connecting the worlds

The rumor is TRUE! Legend and Warcross exist in the same world. Of course Legend is WAYYYY in the future and Warcross is almost present day. This definitely has us wondering, is there a series in the world between? Feel free to write it Marie Lu, WE’D READ IT TOMORROW!!

 

A new book is coming

What’s next for Marie Lu, well she’s currently got a new book planned for 2020. The Kingdom of Back, a historical fantasy that sounds intriguing…

 

Inspiration Zone

A Reddit User: “One of the reasons I became an engineering student is because of your character June”

THAT IS SO BEAUTIFUL!!!!

#Newsyoucanuse

Every Book Hitting Shelves in April!

April is almost here, and she’s bringing books!   4/7: The Best Laid Plans by Cameron Lund – High school senior Keely Collins takes on firsts, lasts, and everything in between in this sweet, sex-positive rom-com for fans of Meg Cabot and Jenny Han.   4/7: Holding on to You by Ash Parsons – A gripping and … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in March!

March is making the rest of 2020 BLUSH with how amazing it is. Ready your shelves. Prepare your TBR. LET’S GO!   3/3: The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu – Two siblings. Two brilliant talents. But only one Mozart. Born with a gift for music, Nannerl Mozart has just one wish–to be remembered forever. And as Nannerl’s hope of … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: The Sky Above Us by Natalie Lund

Cover reveal time! Today we’re revealing the cover for Natalie Lund’s The Sky Above Us. After her stunning debut, We Speak in Storms, we absolutely cannot wait what she’s cooked up next. So we’re celebrating with an excerpt! Get ready for a twisty, psychological thriller about three friends searching for the truth in the aftermath of a plane … Continued
See More

A Book for Every Reader: Ebooks on Sale!

Bored at home? We’re here to help! This week on Penguin Teen, we’re featuring a book for every reader of every genre. Scroll down to see all the ebooks on sale this week, and get your copies anywhere ebooks are sold (before it ends on 3/29!)   For Horror fans… The Merciless by Danielle Vega … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: STORMBREAK by Natalie C. Parker

It’s coming. Seafire left us on the edge of our seats. Steel Tide left us with questions that NEED answers. And now, Natalie C. Parker is bringing it home with the epic finale to Caledonia’s journey in Stormbreak. In the thrilling conclusion to the Seafire trilogy, Caledonia Styx will risk everything–her heart, her crew, and even her life–to defeat Lir … Continued
See More

DIG by A.S. King is a Printz Award Winner!

Dig by A.S. King just won the Printz Award! For those of you who might be new, the Michael L. Printz Award awards the best books written for teens each year, based purely on its literary merit. Basically: it’s a big deal. Think the Oscars for books. So, we are SO excited to share that Dig by A.S. … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

Cover reveal time! We all fell MADLY in love with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox. But it also left us with questions. We need to know what’s next for Miyoung and Jihoon! We don’t have all the answers yet, but luckily, we DO have a cover to show you. And it. is. GORGEOUS. Prepare your eyeballs and scroll down … Continued
See More

Cover reveal and excerpt: EVERY BODY LOOKING by Candice Iloh

Jacqueline Woodson loves it, Nic Stone loves it, Jason Reynolds loves it! And we just know you’re going to love it too! Every Body Looking by Candice Iloh, is a that book tells the story of Ada–daughter of an immigrant father and an African American mother–and her struggle to find a place for herself in … Continued
See More

Catch Penguin Teen at NTTBF 2020!

This weekend we’re heading to Texas for NTTBF 2020! Check out what we’ve got going on this weekend, and make sure to come by the booth and say hi! Can’t make it to North Texas Teen Book Festival? Make sure you’re following along on our Instagram and Twitter at @penguinteen!   10:30am Jo & Laurie … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL & SNEAK PEEK: The Boy in the Red Dress

Cover reveal (AND excerpt) time! Get ready for The Boy in the Red Dress by Kristin Lambert hitting shelves this May, is a rollicking romp of truth, lies, and troubled pasts. It’s New Year’s Eve, 1929.Millie is running the show at the Cloak & Dagger, a swinging speakeasy in the French Quarter, while her aunt is out of town. … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP