Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

9 YA Books to Read for #Blackathon2020

SHARE

It’s February, which means Blackathon is back! #Blackathon2020 is an Afrocentric read-a-thon challenge inspired by Black History Month. Helmed by BookTubers Jesse from Bowties & Books and Lauren from The Novel Lush, Blackathon has created fun opportunities to celebrate books and works by Black and African American authors and creators throughout the entire month of February.

Visit the Blackathon Twitter to find out how you can participate across Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube! And make sure to check out Jesse’s Blackathon announcement video:

 

You can watch Lauren’s #Blackathon2020 announcement video, too!

 

Jesse also shared why they created #Blackathon and brought the read-a-thon back for another year:

Black BookTubers/readers have been asking more people to pay attention to our stories for years, but those voices went largely unheard. Afrocentric narratives weren’t on the collective radar of BookTube. Across readers of various genres—romance, fantasy, contemporary, etc.—TBRs were full of books that had no Black faces on them and “representation” for Black characters was limited to supporting roles. Blackathon was created simply because we wanted to see the rich narratives from the black diaspora reflected in the BookTube Community we’ve come to love so entirely. We wanted to see this community full of people that we love and spend so much virtual time supporting support us back.

We created Blackathon to 1) intentionally celebrate Black narratives, 2) show the publishing industry that readers of all backgrounds are geeked about the stories Black authors have to tell and 3) combat the notion that Black stories are not vital to everyone’s shelves. Blackathon was a party last year – it was the most fun we have had on BookTube, the most “seen,” and connected we have felt to our community. Apparently others felt the same because in December, we began getting messages asking when it would return! Given how much it meant to us and clearly to the community as well—there was simply no way we wouldn’t bring it back for round 2.

 

We’re ecstatic that #Blackathon2020 is happening, and we have a few suggestions for books that you can add to your TBR for the read-a-thon!

 

War Girls by Tochi Onyebuchi

war-girls-cover

Inspired by the real-life Nigerian–Biafran War, this action-packed story of sisterhood and survival is perfect for fans of Black Panther. Set over 150 years in the future, it stars dual protagonists who are sisters—one of whom, Ify, is a tech genius at the level of Princess Shuri.

 

A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy

RiverofRoyalBlood_CV_ONLINE

Another complicated sister story, where Princess Eva must battle her older sister Isa—in a fight to the death—in order to ascend to the Queendom of Myre. It’s the perfect mashup of Three Dark Crowns meets Children of Blood and Bone.

 

Obviously by Akilah Hughes

Obviously

Perfect for fans of Tiffany Haddish’s The Last Black Unicorn, Obviously spotlights comedian and YouTuber Akilah Hughes as she takes readers on her journey from small-town Kentucky to New York City in a series of intimate and personal essays.

 

The Stars and the Blackness Between Them by Junauda Petrus

stars-and-the-blackness-between-them

16-year-old Audre has just been uprooted when her dad moved them from from Trinidad to Minneapolis, where she meets 16-year-old Mabel. When romance blossoms between them, they must find the courage to stay together in a world that seems to want to keep them apart.

 

If You Come Softly by Jacqueline Woodson

IfYouComeSoftly20_JK.indd

This star-crossed love story of two teens from different backgrounds who collide at a Manhattan prep school recently celebrated its twentieth anniversary, and it’s perfect for fans of The Hate U Give.

 

Pet by Akwaeke Emezi

Pet

A finalist for the National Book Award, Pet is a genre-defying novel that follows Jam, a young resident of the city of Lucille. When Jam meets Pet, a creature who emerges from her mother’s paintings and a drop of Jam’s blood, she must work with Pet to hunt down a monster that no one will admit exists.

 

Jackpot by Nic Stone

Jackpot

Nic Stone, the acclaimed author of Dear Martin, returns with another must-read contemporary novel, a romance that takes a critical eye toward class and privilege and explores what happens when have and have-nots collide.

 

A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell

phoenix-first-must-burn-cover

For readers who grew up with Octavia Butler, to fans of YA anthologies, A Phoenix First Must Burn is a must-read. The anthology explores the Black experience in fantasy and sci-fi, through sixteen short stories that center Black women and gender-nonconforming characters. These heroines are ones you will remember.

 

All the Days Past, All the Days to Come by Mildred D. Taylor

all-the-days-past-cover

If you loved Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry, you’ll need to add this book to your TBR because it’s the life-changing finale to the saga of the Logan family. Cassie Logan, who was only nine in Roll of Thunder, is now a young woman fresh out of college, and All the Days Past, All the Days to Come brings her family’s story to its conclusion as the Logans face historical moments in twentieth-century America.

 

 

Don’t forget to check out how you can participate in #Blackathon2020!

#WhatsTrending

SUPER FAKE LOVE SONG by David Yoon is coming!!

CAN YOU TELL WE’RE EXCITED? We (and pretty much everyone else) fell MADLY in love with David Yoon’s incredible debut Frankly in Love last year and have been EAGERLY awaiting what David is writing next. Well, now we know! Get ready for Super Fake Love Song and your new obsession. Here are your hints: YA rom com … Continued
See More

Excerpt alert: THE KINGDOM OF BACK

We really need to talk about The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu. Because, honestly? It’s not just going to steal your heart, but it’s going to take it into a mythical land that’s so magical you won’t want to take it back. IT’S THAT GOOD. But on with the excerpt. The Kingdom of Back is … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: BEYOND THE BREAK

It’s COVER REVEAL TIME! We’re revealing the cover of Heather Buchta’s Beyond the Break, a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, if you count her faith… and that’s where things may get complicated. Scroll down to see the cover AND read an excerpt below!   Chapter One The first time … Continued
See More

P.S. I Still Love You: the recap by Cameron Lund!

P.S. I Still Love You just hit Netflix and P.S. WE LOVE IT. But we’re not the only ones. Cameron Lund, author of The Best Laid Plans, is a HUGE TATBILB fan herself, so here’s the recap in case you need to catch up!   P.S. I Still Love You: the Recap by Cameron Lund   To … Continued
See More

2020 YA Sneak Peek!

Hello and WELCOME to the 2020 YA sneak peek! We’re talking all early info on upcoming 2020 books we cannot WAIT for!   All the Days Past, All the Days to Come by Mildred D. Taylor – January 7, 2020 The saga of the Logan family–made famous in the Newbery Medal-winning Roll of Thunder, Hear My … Continued
See More

Biggest Books of the Decade: 2018

Yanny or Laurel?? Welcome to your 2018 blast from the past!   Biggest Books of 2018! A Map of Days by Ransom Riggs Laia is a slave. Elias is a soldier. Neither is free.Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Those who do not vow their blood and bodies to the Emperor risk the execution … Continued
See More

Missing Marie Lu’s Legend series? Here are 5 books you should read!

It’s been a hot second since Legend by Marie Lu first hit shelves. (We still can’t believe it came out almost a decade ago…) Who can forget the first time they fell in love with June Iparis and Daniel Wing, better known as “Day”? If you’re looking for another pair of star-crossed-lovers in sci-fi, or … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of THE VANISHING DEEP

After Four Dead Queens left us SHOCKED with the killer plot twist of 2019, we have been eagerly awaiting to see what Astrid Scholte has next! Luckily, we don’t have to wait long. The Vanishing Deep is hitting shelves THIS. MARCH. But we have an excerpt, so you can start reading it today! The Vanishing Deep follows seventeen-year-old Tempe, who … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: THE VALLEY AND THE FLOOD

Cover reveal time! Today we’re revealing the cover of The Valley and the Flood by Rebecca Mahoney, an immersive novel about magical places, found family, the power of grief and memory, and the journey toward reconciling who you think you’ve become with the person you’ve been all along. Rose Colter is almost home, but she can’t go … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: THE COMPANION

Get ready for the eeriest read of this summer. Today, we’re revealing the cover of Katie Alender’s twisty new novel, The Companion. And this cover.is.CHILLING. The Companion follows Margot. The other orphans claim she’s lucky. Lucky to survive the horrible accident that killed her family. Lucky to have her own room because she wakes up screaming every night. And finally, … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP