Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

9 YA Books to Read for #Blackathon2020

SHARE

It’s February, which means Blackathon is back! #Blackathon2020 is an Afrocentric read-a-thon challenge inspired by Black History Month. Helmed by BookTubers Jesse from Bowties & Books and Lauren from The Novel Lush, Blackathon has created fun opportunities to celebrate books and works by Black and African American authors and creators throughout the entire month of February.

Visit the Blackathon Twitter to find out how you can participate across Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube! And make sure to check out Jesse’s Blackathon announcement video:

 

You can watch Lauren’s #Blackathon2020 announcement video, too!

 

Jesse also shared why they created #Blackathon and brought the read-a-thon back for another year:

Black BookTubers/readers have been asking more people to pay attention to our stories for years, but those voices went largely unheard. Afrocentric narratives weren’t on the collective radar of BookTube. Across readers of various genres—romance, fantasy, contemporary, etc.—TBRs were full of books that had no Black faces on them and “representation” for Black characters was limited to supporting roles. Blackathon was created simply because we wanted to see the rich narratives from the black diaspora reflected in the BookTube Community we’ve come to love so entirely. We wanted to see this community full of people that we love and spend so much virtual time supporting support us back.

We created Blackathon to 1) intentionally celebrate Black narratives, 2) show the publishing industry that readers of all backgrounds are geeked about the stories Black authors have to tell and 3) combat the notion that Black stories are not vital to everyone’s shelves. Blackathon was a party last year – it was the most fun we have had on BookTube, the most “seen,” and connected we have felt to our community. Apparently others felt the same because in December, we began getting messages asking when it would return! Given how much it meant to us and clearly to the community as well—there was simply no way we wouldn’t bring it back for round 2.

 

We’re ecstatic that #Blackathon2020 is happening, and we have a few suggestions for books that you can add to your TBR for the read-a-thon!

 

War Girls by Tochi Onyebuchi

war-girls-cover

Inspired by the real-life Nigerian–Biafran War, this action-packed story of sisterhood and survival is perfect for fans of Black Panther. Set over 150 years in the future, it stars dual protagonists who are sisters—one of whom, Ify, is a tech genius at the level of Princess Shuri.

 

A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy

RiverofRoyalBlood_CV_ONLINE

Another complicated sister story, where Princess Eva must battle her older sister Isa—in a fight to the death—in order to ascend to the Queendom of Myre. It’s the perfect mashup of Three Dark Crowns meets Children of Blood and Bone.

 

Obviously by Akilah Hughes

Obviously

Perfect for fans of Tiffany Haddish’s The Last Black Unicorn, Obviously spotlights comedian and YouTuber Akilah Hughes as she takes readers on her journey from small-town Kentucky to New York City in a series of intimate and personal essays.

 

The Stars and the Blackness Between Them by Junauda Petrus

stars-and-the-blackness-between-them

16-year-old Audre has just been uprooted when her dad moved them from from Trinidad to Minneapolis, where she meets 16-year-old Mabel. When romance blossoms between them, they must find the courage to stay together in a world that seems to want to keep them apart.

 

If You Come Softly by Jacqueline Woodson

IfYouComeSoftly20_JK.indd

This star-crossed love story of two teens from different backgrounds who collide at a Manhattan prep school recently celebrated its twentieth anniversary, and it’s perfect for fans of The Hate U Give.

 

Pet by Akwaeke Emezi

Pet

A finalist for the National Book Award, Pet is a genre-defying novel that follows Jam, a young resident of the city of Lucille. When Jam meets Pet, a creature who emerges from her mother’s paintings and a drop of Jam’s blood, she must work with Pet to hunt down a monster that no one will admit exists.

 

Jackpot by Nic Stone

Jackpot

Nic Stone, the acclaimed author of Dear Martin, returns with another must-read contemporary novel, a romance that takes a critical eye toward class and privilege and explores what happens when have and have-nots collide.

 

A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell

phoenix-first-must-burn-cover

For readers who grew up with Octavia Butler, to fans of YA anthologies, A Phoenix First Must Burn is a must-read. The anthology explores the Black experience in fantasy and sci-fi, through sixteen short stories that center Black women and gender-nonconforming characters. These heroines are ones you will remember.

 

All the Days Past, All the Days to Come by Mildred D. Taylor

all-the-days-past-cover

If you loved Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry, you’ll need to add this book to your TBR because it’s the life-changing finale to the saga of the Logan family. Cassie Logan, who was only nine in Roll of Thunder, is now a young woman fresh out of college, and All the Days Past, All the Days to Come brings her family’s story to its conclusion as the Logans face historical moments in twentieth-century America.

 

 

Don’t forget to check out how you can participate in #Blackathon2020!

#WhatsTrending

See the new covers for FLAMEFALL and FIREBORNE by Rosaria Munda

Today we’re revealing the cover for Flamefall by Rosaria Munda AND the brand new paperback cover for Fireborne! Fireborne absolutely took our breath away last year, and we are EAGERLY anticipating book 2, Flamefall, coming March 23, 2021! But until then, we have an excerpt and an author Q&A to hold you over while you wait for book 2 and gaze at … Continued
See More

Cover & Excerpt Reveal: THE GIRLS I’VE BEEN

Today we’re revealing the cover for Tess Sharpe’s The Girls I’ve Been, a slick, twisty YA page-turner about the daughter of a con artist who is taken hostage in a bank heist. Oh, and did we mention it’s already planned to be adapted by Netflix, starring and produced by Millie Bobby Brown?!   Scroll down to … Continued
See More

Taylor Swift’s FOLKLORE is here, and so is your ultimate book match!

Taylor Swift dropped her new album Folklore last night and not to be dramatic but we’ve had this cottagecore goodness on repeat ever since. And we have been working fast to get you your ULTIMATE Folklore book match!   Track: The No 1 Book Match: Lovely War “But it would have been fun, if you would … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: Rules for Vanishing got a glow-up!

Our favorite scary mixed-media Blair Witch Project-vibes novel just got a glow-up! Rules for Vanishing is back with a brand new paperback cover and we officially have chills. Scroll down to see the new cover and read a bit about the book! Jacket & cover design by Kristin Boyle   About Rules for Vanishing: In the faux-documentary … Continued
See More

Summer Scares: reads that will give you CHILLS

Halloween may not be for a little while yet, but we here at Penguin Teen are all about the summer scares. So if you’re looking for the next read that’s going to have you either buying a nightlight or bidding sleep adieu altogether, read on! 👻   The Companion by Katie Alender  Simply put: THIS FAMILY IS NOT … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: House of Hollow

One of our most HOTLY anticipated reads of 2021 has a cover and your eyes aren’t ready. House of Hollow by Krystal M. Sutherland is a dark, twisty modern fairytale where three sisters discover they are not exactly all that they seem and evil things really do go bump in the night, coming April 6, 2021! Iris … Continued
See More

Mysteries to pick up if you just finished Enola Holmes

Did you just finish Enola Holmes? Are you now finding yourself really sad that it isn’t a full series because we need 1000% more Millie Bobby Brown being badass? Well, us too. So, here are a few of our recommendations if you loved Enola Holmes (+ one that WILL star Millie Bobby Brown in a … Continued
See More

Do’s and Don’ts for encountering a vampire: things YA taught us

Let’s face it: we all have a soft spot for the eternally damned. YA made us love vampires and we aren’t sorry about it. HOWEVER, our favorite books have ALSO taught us that there are certain things to do and not do if you encounter a handsome broody potentially blood-thirsty character. At no. 1…   1. DO … Continued
See More

Readers are falling absolutely in love with WATCH OVER ME by Nina LaCour

Nina LaCour’s Watch Over Me just hit shelves (and also our feelings.) Readers have been sharing their own reaction and emotions while experiencing Nina’s latest novel, and here are a few of our favorites!   About Watch Over Me: Mila is used to being alone.Maybe that’s why she said yes. Yes to a second chance in this remote … Continued
See More

The thriller TBR for anyone who loved ONE OF US IS LYING

If the plot twist of One of Us Is Lying knocked your socks right off, we have a few twisty thrillers recommendations for that TBR.   They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman  Gossip Girl meets One of Us Is Lying with a dash of The Secret History in this slick, taut murder mystery set against the backdrop of an exclusive prep … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP