Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

9 YA Books to Read for #Blackathon2020

SHARE

It’s February, which means Blackathon is back! #Blackathon2020 is an Afrocentric read-a-thon challenge inspired by Black History Month. Helmed by BookTubers Jesse from Bowties & Books and Lauren from The Novel Lush, Blackathon has created fun opportunities to celebrate books and works by Black and African American authors and creators throughout the entire month of February.

Visit the Blackathon Twitter to find out how you can participate across Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube! And make sure to check out Jesse’s Blackathon announcement video:

 

You can watch Lauren’s #Blackathon2020 announcement video, too!

 

Jesse also shared why they created #Blackathon and brought the read-a-thon back for another year:

Black BookTubers/readers have been asking more people to pay attention to our stories for years, but those voices went largely unheard. Afrocentric narratives weren’t on the collective radar of BookTube. Across readers of various genres—romance, fantasy, contemporary, etc.—TBRs were full of books that had no Black faces on them and “representation” for Black characters was limited to supporting roles. Blackathon was created simply because we wanted to see the rich narratives from the black diaspora reflected in the BookTube Community we’ve come to love so entirely. We wanted to see this community full of people that we love and spend so much virtual time supporting support us back.

We created Blackathon to 1) intentionally celebrate Black narratives, 2) show the publishing industry that readers of all backgrounds are geeked about the stories Black authors have to tell and 3) combat the notion that Black stories are not vital to everyone’s shelves. Blackathon was a party last year – it was the most fun we have had on BookTube, the most “seen,” and connected we have felt to our community. Apparently others felt the same because in December, we began getting messages asking when it would return! Given how much it meant to us and clearly to the community as well—there was simply no way we wouldn’t bring it back for round 2.

 

We’re ecstatic that #Blackathon2020 is happening, and we have a few suggestions for books that you can add to your TBR for the read-a-thon!

 

War Girls by Tochi Onyebuchi

war-girls-cover

Inspired by the real-life Nigerian–Biafran War, this action-packed story of sisterhood and survival is perfect for fans of Black Panther. Set over 150 years in the future, it stars dual protagonists who are sisters—one of whom, Ify, is a tech genius at the level of Princess Shuri.

 

A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy

RiverofRoyalBlood_CV_ONLINE

Another complicated sister story, where Princess Eva must battle her older sister Isa—in a fight to the death—in order to ascend to the Queendom of Myre. It’s the perfect mashup of Three Dark Crowns meets Children of Blood and Bone.

 

Obviously by Akilah Hughes

Obviously

Perfect for fans of Tiffany Haddish’s The Last Black Unicorn, Obviously spotlights comedian and YouTuber Akilah Hughes as she takes readers on her journey from small-town Kentucky to New York City in a series of intimate and personal essays.

 

The Stars and the Blackness Between Them by Junauda Petrus

stars-and-the-blackness-between-them

16-year-old Audre has just been uprooted when her dad moved them from from Trinidad to Minneapolis, where she meets 16-year-old Mabel. When romance blossoms between them, they must find the courage to stay together in a world that seems to want to keep them apart.

 

If You Come Softly by Jacqueline Woodson

IfYouComeSoftly20_JK.indd

This star-crossed love story of two teens from different backgrounds who collide at a Manhattan prep school recently celebrated its twentieth anniversary, and it’s perfect for fans of The Hate U Give.

 

Pet by Akwaeke Emezi

Pet

A finalist for the National Book Award, Pet is a genre-defying novel that follows Jam, a young resident of the city of Lucille. When Jam meets Pet, a creature who emerges from her mother’s paintings and a drop of Jam’s blood, she must work with Pet to hunt down a monster that no one will admit exists.

 

Jackpot by Nic Stone

Jackpot

Nic Stone, the acclaimed author of Dear Martin, returns with another must-read contemporary novel, a romance that takes a critical eye toward class and privilege and explores what happens when have and have-nots collide.

 

A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell

phoenix-first-must-burn-cover

For readers who grew up with Octavia Butler, to fans of YA anthologies, A Phoenix First Must Burn is a must-read. The anthology explores the Black experience in fantasy and sci-fi, through sixteen short stories that center Black women and gender-nonconforming characters. These heroines are ones you will remember.

 

All the Days Past, All the Days to Come by Mildred D. Taylor

all-the-days-past-cover

If you loved Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry, you’ll need to add this book to your TBR because it’s the life-changing finale to the saga of the Logan family. Cassie Logan, who was only nine in Roll of Thunder, is now a young woman fresh out of college, and All the Days Past, All the Days to Come brings her family’s story to its conclusion as the Logans face historical moments in twentieth-century America.

 

 

Don’t forget to check out how you can participate in #Blackathon2020!

#WhatsTrending

What to read after watching Netflix’s TIGER KING

The show was wild from beginning to end as we followed the story of Joe Exotic (or as we all know him: The Tiger King). From insane zoo stories to questionable murder mysteries, Penguin Teen’s got the purr-fect reads after you’ve finished watching Netflix’s latest true crime series docuseries.   The Small Crimes of Tiffany … Continued
See More

We asked readers to send in their favorite quotes from books. Here’s what they said…

We asked readers to send in their favorite quotes from books. Here’s what they said! “Some infinities are bigger than other infinities” – John Green, The Fault in Our Stars     “It isn’t what we say or think that defines us, but what we do.” – Jane Austen, Sense and Sensibility  “Once there was, … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: TIME OF OUR LIVES

In case you are a fan of #Wibbroka (adorable author couple that is Austin Siegemund-Broka & Emily Wibberley) or just generally a fan of romance books that will absolutely win your heart, stick around. We’re revealing an excerpt for Wibbroka’s upcoming release Time of Our Lives! Scroll down to start reading/falling in love. FITZ When I … Continued
See More

Hey Netflix, you should probably get started on these 7 books

Already binge-watched basically everything good on Netflix at this point? Same. And it got us thinking…there are some books Netflix really needs to read, because they would be AMAZING on screen. So, here are our top 7!   The Queen’s Assassin by Melissa de la Cruz A blood oath, an assassin, and a kingdom under … Continued
See More

Do’s and Don’t for encountering a vampire: things YA taught us

Let’s face it: we all have a soft spot for the eternally damned. YA made us love vampires and we aren’t sorry about it. HOWEVER, our favorite books have ALSO taught us that there are certain things to do and not do if you encounter a handsome broody potentially blood-thirsty character. At no. 1…   1. DO … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: THE JEWEL THIEF

Excerpt alert! This week we’re reading The Jewel Thief by Jeannie Mobley, a lush, slow-burn romance set in 17th century France, and based on the history of the Hope Diamond. Scroll down to read an excerpt!   Louvre Palace, April 25, 1673   I kneel, gritting my teeth against the pain of my cracked ribs and blistered hand. … Continued
See More

7 Books To Read During Sexual Assault Awareness Month

April is Sexual Assault Awareness Month and we’re committed to helping keep the conversation going all month long. We find that books can often help us talk about difficult topics – so here are 7 books to help you start a conversation.   SHOUT by Laurie Halse Anderson Bestselling author Laurie Halse Anderson is known for … Continued
See More

8 things you DIDN’T know about Four Dead Queens

Author Astrid Scholte is here to tell you 7 things you didn’t know about Four Dead Queens! Four Dead Queens is an enthralling fast-paced royal murder mystery where competing agendas collide with deadly consequences. We hope you enjoy these special easter eggs!   7 things you didn’t know about Four Dead Queens  by Astrid Scholte   Initially there … Continued
See More

Excerpt alert: THE KINGDOM OF BACK

We really need to talk about The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu. Because, honestly? It’s not just going to steal your heart, but it’s going to take it into a mythical land that’s so magical you won’t want to take it back. IT’S THAT GOOD. But on with the excerpt. The Kingdom of Back is … Continued
See More

Try Not to Swoon Challenge: YA’s Steamiest Romances 😍

Alright, folks. Prepare to swoon. We’re counting down some of YA’s absolute swooniest romances of all time. Kicking us off…   Warcross by Marie Lu *cough* hot tub scene *cough*   Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera Juliet falling in love with a cute librarian named Kira was sort of the best. Also? Kira rides … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP