Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

A Beginner’s Guide to the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children Series

SHARE

With the sixth and final novel in the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series The Desolations of Devil’s Acre hitting shelves, we’ve created a beginner’s guide to this one-of-a-kind series to help you catch up for the finale!

Also, can we TALK ABOUT THE COVER?

Desolations of Devil's Acre

Alright, let’s dive in!

 

What is the order of the books?

It’s best to read them in this order!

  1. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children
  2. Hollow City
  3. Library of Souls
  4. A Map of Days
  5. The Conference of the Birds
  6. The Desolations of Devil’s Acre

 

What’s the set up?

16-year-old Jacob Portman grew up hearing his grandfather Abe’s stories about monsters and people with strange and amazing powers. Jacob assumed that these were just tall tales, until his grandfather is killed and Jacob sees someone or something that he can’t explain.

Haunted by Abe’s dying words, Jacob follows a set of cryptic clues to a remote island in Wales and to the orphanage where Abe spent part of his youth in the 1940’s.

The orphanage is a ruin, but, oddly, it is not empty. Jacob meets a group of children living there who claim to have known Abe as a boy.

Abe lived to be an old man but these children are still, well, children. How is this possible?

Without realizing it, Jacob has stumbled into the world of the peculiars.

 

Okay…so what is a “peculiar”?

Peculiars, or “Syndrigasts”, are individuals born with remarkable, sometimes terrifying, abilities. Maybe they can levitate, maybe they can control fire, maybe they can raise the dead.

These amazing powers have a way of drawing unwanted attention and peculiars have been feared and persecuted throughout history.

 

Why haven’t the peculiars aged? WHAT IS LOOP DAY?

For their own protection, peculiars typically live apart from the rest of society and more importantly they live outside of time.

There are hidden places around the world known as “time loops”. Within one of these loops, time resets each day. A peculiar living within a loop experiences the same day over and over, but they retain their memories with each reset. And living within a loop, a peculiar barely ages at all.

Loops are a safe haven for peculiars and they are carefully controlled and maintained by a special group of peculiars called Ymbrynes, aka female peculiars who can manipulate time and can take the form of a specific bird.

And what is the ever-so-famous day our fav peculiars are looped in? September 3rd. LOOP DAY!

 

Say what now?

Ymbrynes (pronounced IM-brins) can manipulate time fields and create temporal loops. All Ymbrynes are female, able take the form of birds, and they seek out young peculiars in need of protection and care.

The Ymbryne who cares for Jacob’s new friends and oversees their loop is a particularly gifted Ymbryne known as Miss Peregrine. We love Miss Peregrine.

 

Got it! The peculiars have super powers, they barely age, and they live safely within their loops. Sounds fun!

Well…actually there are these monsters called Hollowgasts that want to kill and eat the peculiars.

See, a while back a group of peculiars seeking eternal life tampered with a loop and they were transformed into horrible creatures. They now hunt other peculiars and, except for their shadows, Hollowgasts are completely invisible.

If a Hollowgast eats enough peculiars, they transform into a Wight. Wights have no peculiar abilities and serve as scouts for the Hallowgasts. Wights can almost pass for humans, except that their eyes have no pupils.

Hollowgasts and Wights know that peculiars live together in loops and that makes them easy prey.

 

This sounds dangerous. Maybe the peculiars should just leave their loop and take their chances in the human world?

Nice try! But no. When Peculiars step outside of a loop, they begin to age forward at an accelerated rate. The longer they have spent in a loop, the more aggressive the aging. Jacob’s new friends have been in their loop since 1940, so leaving is not an option.

 

What are they supposed to do?!?

Well, Grandpa Abe knew that the Peculiars were in danger and led Jacob there to help them.

Abe knew that his grandson was unique. He knew that Jacob was, oh what’s the right word here…peculiar?

Okay, that’s all you’re getting out of us!

 

 

Order your copy of The Desolations of Devil’s Acre here! 

 

 

 

Are you ready for the finale? These series are ending in 2021!

#Newsyoucanuse

Books Hitting Shelves in March 2021!

Prepare your TBRs! March is bringing in some HIGHLY-anticipated reads. Here’s what’s about to hit shelves!   3/2: The Queen’s Secret by Melissa de la Cruz – From #1 bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz comes the heart-pounding follow-up to The Queen’s Assassin, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Holly Black.   3/2: Singled Out by Andrew … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: So, This Is Christmas

Already missing the holiday season? We’re here with some exciting news and a holiday read to look forward to…from an actual Hallmark movie screenwriter! Yep, Tracy Andreen has written a few beloved holiday classics, including the Penguin Teen favorite The Spirit of Christmas (time-traveling hot ghost learns to love again – WATCH IT!) Sarah Dessen … Continued
See More

January Books: Here’s What’s Hitting Shelves!

New year, new books! Here’s what’s hitting shelves this January.   12/29: Fireborne by Rosaria Munda – This technically hit shelves at the end of December, but we want to make sure you don’t miss out on the GORGEOUS new paperback of one of our favorite fantasy reads! Click here to see the new cover … Continued
See More

TBR Check: make sure these romance reads are on your radar!

There are so many sweet romances hitting shelves this year, and we want to make sure you don’t miss a single one! Scroll down for just a few of our highly-anticipated swoony reads coming this year.   The Queen’s Secret by Melissa de la Cruz – Coming March 2! From #1 bestselling author Melissa de la … Continued
See More

Are you ready for the finale? These series are ending in 2021!

Series finales are always bittersweet. While it’s tough to let go of characters we’ve come to adore, we’re also dying to find out how it all ends! So, here are 8 series you’ll DEFINITELY want to make sure you’re all caught up on before the finales hit shelves this year! (Don’t worry, we tried our best … Continued
See More

5 Things We Hope to See in The Wrath and The Dawn TV series

2020 continues to give us amazing adaptation news: The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh is getting a TV series adaptation! The series will be produced by 1212 Entertainment and Pippa Lambert’s Hellcat, and we can’t wait to see how they bring to life the book TIME recently named one of the 100 Best … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: The Passing Playbook

You know those books that you LOVE! The books that you’d ride or die for and will spend the rest of your days telling everyone you ever meet to just READ IT. Well, Isaac Fitzsimon’s The Passing Playbook is about to join those ranks of BELOVED reads. With fans including Becky Albertalli, Kacen Callender, Adib Khorram, … Continued
See More

The Taking of Jake Livingston COVER REVEAL!

If you’re talking most anticipated debut novels of 2021, then clear your shelves, prepare your eyes and get ready to obsess! Ryan Douglass’ first book, The Taking of Jake Livingston is a chilling, timely ghost story that is as sharp as it is scary. And of course, an AMAZING cover must accompany such a read, but … Continued
See More

February 2021 Books: here’s what’s hitting shelves!

February is coming in with some HIGHLY-anticipated reads, and we’re here to tell you what to add to that TBR list ASAP!   2/2: A Taste for Love by Jennifer Yen – For fans of Jenny Han, Jane Austen, and The Great British Baking Show, A Taste for Love, is a delicious rom com about first love, familial … Continued
See More

Switch by A.S. King COVER REVEAL!

If you’ve read an A.S. King novel, you KNOW it is an event! And we’re so EXCITED, because 2021 brings a new genre-defying, game-changing, only-A.S.-King-could-write-this read! Switch will keep you intrigued until the very last page. And of course, the mystery continues with a truly amazing cover! But first, what can you expect from Switch: From … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP