Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

A Book Lover’s 9-Step Guide to Keeping the Magic of Summer Alive

SHARE

Chances are, if you’re a book lover, the summer months are a blissful blur of reading beachside, turning pages in the extra hours of sunlight, trekking to the bookstore in flip flops, and basking in limitless possibility. Why should it all go away, just because it’s winter? We’ve put together a 9-step guide to keeping the summertime magic alive!

 

Set the scene

image

It’s key not to let your beautiful book memories fade away, but to honor them. Set up a sanctuary of summer memories in your reading nook so you’ll never forget what it looked like the time you turned the last page of that paperback under a gorgeous sunset.

 

Strategically stack your shelves

image

It’s a very special kind of book that replicates the feeling of basking in sunshine: it contains 1 part abundant romance, 1 part beach-breezy feels, and 1 part bountiful heart-warming.

Then form a support group (aka a book club)

image

You’re not alone in this. Keep that warm feeling alive by sharing a carefully-crafted list of romantic summer reads with friends, family, and acquaintances who are equally reluctant to let the season go. 

Make the sunshine permanent with the perfect playlist.

image

Make a playlist now with the songs that kept your spirit going this summer so that come January, you can take a trip back with one click. Oh and dance parties. Always dance parties.

 

Have a serious talk with your favorite bookstore/library.

image

Pending weather, you may be better off ordering your books to be delivered for a while. But that doesn’t mean you’re breaking up. You’ll be back come spring, and remember – absence makes the heart grow fonder.

Make sure your reading snacks channel summertime splendor.

image

If the best reading snacks are ones you can eat one-handed, and the most refreshing summer snack is inherently popsicles, what are you waiting for?

Make your book transportation methods an homage to summer…

image

As we all know, the optimal way to carry books is via tote bag. So stock up on ones that will safely preserve your tomes AND brighten your day a little.

…as well as your page-saving accessories.

image

So each time you pick up where you left off, you pick up a little essence of summer.

 

Above all, remember that this isn’t goodbye, it’s see you later.

image

Even though you’re going to love your fall, winter, and spring reading immensely, the glimmer of another epic summer will always be on the horizon.

 

Looking to add to your fall TBR? Check out these books you might have missed this summer!

#Bookish

Excerpt Alert: The Kinder Poison

The Kinder Poison is an enthralling fantasy adventure that follows a teenage girl chosen to be the human sacrifice in a deadly game between three heirs who will do anything for the crown. Also, it’s somehow magical, breathtaking, hilarious, and TERRIFYING all at once. Scroll down to read an excerpt! “The gods have woken Sabil’s knife, signaling … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in June

Here’s a sneak peek of what’s hitting shelves this June!   6/2: Jo & Laurie by Melissa de la Cruz and Margaret Stohl – Bestselling authors Margaret Stohl and Melissa de la Cruz bring us a romantic retelling of Little Women starring Jo March and her best friend, the boy next door, Theodore “Laurie” Laurence.   6/2: Beyond … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: Forged in Fire and Stars

Forged in Fire and Stars by Andrea Robertson just hit shelves and we’re sharing an excerpt! Games of Thrones meets An Ember in the Ashes in this action-packed fantasy from the internationally bestselling author of the Nightshade series. Ara has always known the legend of the Loresmith: the blacksmith who served alongside the kings and queens of Saetlund, forging legendary … Continued
See More

Books to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long!

June may be coming to an end, but we hope you remember to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long. Here are just a few reads to look forward to!     Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram – August 25 In this companion to the award-winning Darius the Great Is Not Okay, Darius suddenly has it all: … Continued
See More

Beware: these books will keep you up at night

Spooky season may not be for a little while yet, but we here at Penguin Teen are all about the year-round spooks. So if you’re looking for the next read that’s going to have you either buying a nightlight or bidding sleep adieu altogether, read on! 👻   Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall   … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of VERONA COMICS!

From the author of Hot Dog Girl comes a fresh and funny queer YA contemporary novel about two teens who fall in love in an indie comic book shop. Scroll down to read an excerpt of Verona Comics! Chapter One Jubilee “You look like you’re being tortured,” Jayla says. “This is supposed to be fun.” Easy to … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: The Boy in the Red Dress

In continuation of our #ReadPrideAndBeyond celebration, we’re sharing an excerpt from The Boy in the Red Dress by Kristin Lambert, a rollicking romp of truth, lies, and troubled pasts. New Year’s Eve, 1929. Millie is running the show at the Cloak & Dagger, a swinging speakeasy in the French Quarter, while her aunt is out of town. The new … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of They Wish They Were Us!

They Wish They Were Us is one of 2020’s hottest upcoming books and we need to talk.about.it. Imagine this: Gossip Girl + One of Us Is Lying with just a dash of The Secret History. That gives us this thrilling murder mystery set against the backdrop of an exclusive prep school on Long Island. Scroll down to read the excerpt!   Chapter … Continued
See More

Black Booktubers You Should Be Following

Here is a list of just a few of the Black booktubers you should definitely be following.   Books with Brandie Shanae Follow here   Britney, Melanin Eclectic Follow here   Ochuole, Oh She Reads Follow here   Myonna, Myonna Reads Follow here   Peta-Gay, Comfy Cozy Up Follow here   Justin, Ghost Reader Follow … Continued
See More

Read the first 4 chapters of BEYOND THE BREAK

For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, if you count her faith… and that’s where things may get complicated. Scroll down to read the excerpt! Chapter One The first time a guy felt me up was in the … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP