Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

A definitive list of YA books for Scorpios

SHARE

It’s Scorpio Season, so we made a list of books that will hopefully distract all the Scorpios from burning the world down (written by a Scorpio.)

 

The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae

The-Kinder-Poison

Just LOOK AT THE COVER. And I will fight anyone who tries to tell me Kasta isn’t a Scorpio.

About the book: Perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Holly Black, The Kinder Poison is an enthralling fantasy adventure that follows a teenage girl chosen to be the human sacrifice in a deadly game between three heirs who will do anything for the crown.

 

Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall

Rules for Vanishing

Scorpios are EASILY bored. Like, really, really easily. And when we get bored, we plot. Or hold grudges. That’s why Scorpios should read Rules for Vanishing, which may be the least boring book to ever exist.

About the book: Once a year, a road appears in the forest. And at the end of it, the ghost of Lucy Gallows beckons. Lucy’s game isn’t for the faint of heart. If you win, you escape with your life. But if you lose….

 

The Beautiful by Renée Ahdieh

The-Beautiful

Oh boy are Scorpios angsty. Indulge your angst with The Beautiful and allow your inner vampire to THRIVE.

About the book: In 1872, New Orleans is a city ruled by the dead. But to seventeen-year-old Celine Rousseau, New Orleans is a safe haven after she’s forced to flee her life as a dressmaker in Paris. Taken in by the sisters of the Ursuline convent in the middle of the carnival season, Celine is quickly enraptured by the vibrant city, from its music to its fancy soirées and even its danger. She becomes embroiled in the city’s glitzy underworld, known as La Cour des Lions, after catching the eye of the group’s enigmatic leader, Sébastien Saint Germain.
When the body of one of the girls from the convent is found in Sébastien’s own lair–the second dead girl to turn up in recent weeks–Celine battles her attraction to Sébastien and suspicions about his guilt along with the shame of her own horrible secret.
After a third murder, New Orleans becomes gripped by the terror of a serial killer on the loose–one who has now set Celine in his sights. As the murderer stalks her, Celine finally takes matters into her own hands, only to find herself caught in the midst of an age-old feud between the darkest creatures of the night, where the price of forbidden love is her life.

 

Fireborne by Rosaria Munda

Fireborne_ONLINE

Okay, so Scorpios have a bit of a reputation for being *whispers* intense. So you should really read Fireborne. It has so much conflict you’ll totally forget to spur massive arguments out of nowhere.

About the book: Annie and Lee were just children when a brutal revolution changed their world, giving everyone–even the lowborn–a chance to test into the governing class of dragonriders.
Now they are both rising stars in the new regime, despite backgrounds that couldn’t be more different. Annie’s lowborn family was executed by dragonfire, while Lee’s aristocratic family was murdered by revolutionaries. Growing up in the same orphanage forged their friendship, and seven years of training have made them rivals for the top position in the dragonriding fleet.
But everything changes when survivors from the old regime surface, bent on reclaiming the city.
With war on the horizon and his relationship with Annie changing fast, Lee must choose to kill the only family he has left or to betray everything he’s come to believe in. And Annie must decide whether to protect the boy she loves . . . or step up to be the champion her city needs.

 

Wildcard by Marie Lu 

Wildcard

Because we <3 a guy trying to takeover the world.

About the book: Emika Chen barely made it out of the Warcross Championships alive. Now that she knows the truth behind Hideo’s new NeuroLink algorithm, she can no longer trust the one person she’s always looked up to, who she once thought was on her side.
Determined to put a stop to Hideo’s grim plans, Emika and the Phoenix Riders band together, only to find a new threat lurking on the neon-lit streets of Tokyo. Someone’s put a bounty on Emika’s head, and her sole chance for survival lies with Zero and the Blackcoats, his ruthless crew. But Emika soon learns that Zero isn’t all that he seems–and his protection comes at a price.
Caught in a web of betrayal, with the future of free will at risk, just how far will Emika go to take down the man she loves?

 

A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy

river of royal blood

We don’t like our power being challenged. So a deathly sibling fight for the throne does sound a lil like something we would do…

About the book: An enthralling debut perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone set in an ancient North African-inspired fantasy world where two sisters must fight to the death to win the crown.

LovelyWar1

World War II historical fiction + the Greek Gods fighting and ruling over the mortals? Sounds pretty Scorpio to me.

About the book: They are Hazel, James, Aubrey, and Colette. A classical pianist from London, a British would-be architect-turned-soldier, a Harlem-born ragtime genius in the U.S. Army, and a Belgian orphan with a gorgeous voice and a devastating past. Their story, as told by goddess Aphrodite, who must spin the tale or face judgment on Mount Olympus, is filled with hope and heartbreak, prejudice and passion, and reveals that, though War is a formidable force, it’s no match for the transcendent power of Love.

 

 

 

Halloween is almost here! Use the SCARE-O-METER to find your perfect Halloween read! 

#ReaderLove

Books we’re so thankful for this year

2020 gave us a LOT of amazing reads, so we’re sharing just a few that we’re so thankful for this year!   The Conference of the Birds by Ransom Riggs   We are so thankful to return to the world of the peculiars, and are counting down the days to The Desolations of Devil’s Acre!   … Continued
See More

10 Years of Matched by Ally Condie

Matched by Ally Condie came out–get ready for this–ten years ago! Over those ten years, it has captured the hearts of countless readers. With the release of the Matched Deluxe Edition, we decided to share some of our favorite moments from over the years!   This book has come a long way since it’s launch party! This snapshot … Continued
See More

Latinx Bookish Creators You Need to Follow

In honor of Latinx Heritage Month, we’re spotlighting just a few of the many Latinx bookish creators who need to be on your feed! Follow + subscribe to their channels now, then engage with their content year-round.   BookTubers   Priscilla from Bookie Charm:   Natalia from Natalia Martinez:   Capri from Capri’s Book Island: … Continued
See More

Bookstagram can’t wait to read Rebel Sisters!

Rebel Sisters landed on shelves last week, and we’ve seen it in some STUNNING posts on Bookstagram. We couldn’t resist spotlighting a few of our fave posts!   “Sci-fi and fantasy weren’t genres that I seriously explored until recently, aka this year — I didn’t exactly see myself in the stories or characters. I’m thankful … Continued
See More

Series to Binge-Read If You Need an Escape

Looking for a stack of books to get totally lost in for a while? Here’s a list of a few of our favorite escape reads!   Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes If you’re looking for a long, rich fantasy series, this is a great place to start! About the books: Love, power, and magic collide … Continued
See More

Ember Read-Along: Month 2 Recap

Month 2 of our #EmberReadAlong is complete! Check out the wrap-up and highlights below! New to the #EmberReadAlong? Click here for more info!   Some of our favorite BookTube + Bookstagram posts! BookTube had lots to say about A Torch Against the Night! Add these videos to your queue once you’re caught up with reading or … Continued
See More

Best of An Ember in the Ashes: Most Romantic Moments

It would be impossible to choose our favorite romantic moment from Sabaa Tahir’s An Ember in the Ashes series. So we’ve narrowed it down to our top five! In continuation of our #EmberCountdown to A Sky Beyond the Storm, here are the most romantic moments from An Ember in the Ashes so far!   SPOILERS AHEAD for An … Continued
See More

Start reading The Grief Keeper by Alexandra Villasante!

We’ve been celebrating amazing stories by Latinx authors, and today we’re excited to share another stunning read for #LatinxHeritageMonth! The Grief Keeper is a gorgeous YA debut and a timely, heartfelt narrative about healing, faith, and freedom. Scroll down to read an excerpt! Chapter 1 We believe in luck. The good kind and the cruel. The kind that … Continued
See More

Best of An Ember in the Ashes Quartet: Our Favorite Series Quotes!

Sabaa Tahir’s An Ember in the Ashes series is notoriously full of quotes that make our hearts sing (and break) at the same time. So before A Sky Beyond the Storm hits shelves and gives us a hundred more quotes that we’ll immediately want to wallpaper every surface in sight with, here’s a recap of our favorite Ember quotes so … Continued
See More

Ember Read-Along: Month 3 Recap

The third and final month of our #EmberReadAlong has come to an end! Check out the wrap-up and highlights below!   Some of our favorite BookTube + Bookstagram posts! BookTube had lots of love for A Reaper at the Gates! Once you’ve caught up with reading or re-reading the book, be sure to add these … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP