Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Astrid Scholte

Raised on a diet of Spielberg, Lucas and Disney, Astrid Scholte knew she wanted to be surrounded by all things fantastical from a young age. She’s spent the last ten years working in film, animation and television as both an artist and a manager. Career highlights include working on James Cameron’s Avatar, Steven Spielberg’s The Adventures of Tintin and George Miller’s Happy Feet Two. She lives in Melbourne, Australia, with her fiancé and two cats, Lilo and Mickey. Her debut YA novel, Four Dead Queens, was an international bestseller.

#AstridScholte

Top Tier Tropes (and Reads to Go With Them!)

Whether you can’t resist a good chosen one trope, or enemies-to-lovers is your jam, we’ve got reads for all your top tier YA tropes! Scroll down to start stacking your TBR!   Love Decoded by Jennifer Yen A hilarious, heartfelt rom-com about the unexpected consequences of one teen’s quest to help her friends find love, perfect … Continued
See More

Love Six of Crows? Here are 6 YA books with high stakes missions to dive into!

If Six of Crows is in your pile of Re-Read Forever books, then here are a few more high stakes thrillers we think should be on your list!   League of Liars by Astrid Scholte Get ready for high stakes, a ragtag group of criminals on the run, and an INTENSE prison break. League of Liars is coming to shelves this month! … Continued
See More

Not-to-be-missed YA reads this winter!

Keep warm this winter with these not-to-be-missed YA reads coming to shelves!   Akata Woman by Nnedi Okorafor – January 18 The electrifying third book in the series that started with Akata Witch, named one of Time magazine’s “100 Best Fantasy Books of All Time” and “100 Best YA Books of All Time,” from award-winning author Nnedi Okorafor. … Continued
See More

Mind-bending reads to make your head spin

THAT. ENDING. THO. ^Love this feeling? Us too. Here are 6 reads that will totally boggle your mind!   Remember Me Gone by Stacy Stokes Lucy Miller’s family has the unique ability to remove people’s painful memories…but what happens when Lucy sees something she wasn’t supposed to? This twisty read will leave your head SPINNING. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: LEAGUE OF LIARS by Astrid Scholte

League of Liars by Astrid Scholte is coming to shelves THIS MONTH! In this fantasy thriller, four teens charged with murder and caught up with the illegal use of magic band together to devise the ultimate jailbreak. Perfect for fans of Six of Crows and How to Get Away with Murder. Ever since his mother was killed, seventeen-year-old Cayder Broduck has … Continued
See More

January 2022 Books: Here’s What’s Hitting Shelves!

It’s a new year, and that means amazing new books! Scroll down to see what’s hitting shelves in January!   1/4: Echoes and Empires by Morgan Rhodes – From the New York Times bestselling author of the Falling Kingdoms series comes the first book in a brand-new duology about forbidden magic and dangerous secrets, for readers of Victoria Aveyard and Margaret … Continued
See More

2022 Epic Fantasy Covers We’re OBSESSED With

2022 is killing it in the fantasy cover arena. Here are just a few of our favs so far! League of Liars by Astrid Scholte This cover honestly gives us chills. Echoes and Empires by Morgan Rhodes  The box. The magic. The title treatment. The everything. Akata Woman by Nnedi Okorafor We can’t get over … Continued
See More

February 2022 Books: Here’s What’s Coming to Shelves!

February is almost here, and she’s bringing books!   2/1: I Must Betray You by Ruta Sepetys – A gut-wrenching, startling window into communist Romania and the citizen spy network that devastated a nation, from the #1 New York Times bestselling, award-winning author of Salt to the Sea and Between Shades of Gray.   2/1: And We Rise by Erica Martin – A … Continued
See More

High Stakes Thrillers That Will Keep You Guessing

If you’re looking to escape real life for a bit for some fictional thrills, these high stakes books have everything you need, from royals to reanimated sisters to assassins! Scroll down for 16 high stakes thrillers that are sure to keep you guessing.   League of Liars by Astrid Scholte Four teens. Illegal magic. The … Continued
See More

YA Fantasy Books: 8 Books About Forbidden Powers

We are all about discovering a new fantasy book that sweeps you into another world…and we *might* also have a particular weakness for the forbidden powers trope (I mean, who doesn’t?!) So, if you can’t resist a story that dives deep into dangerous and forbidden powers in other worlds, scroll down for 8 reads you’ll … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP