Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Jacqueline Woodson

Jacqueline Woodson (www.jacquelinewoodson.com) is the recipient of the 2020 Hans Christian Andersen Award, the 2018 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award, and the 2018 Children’s Literature Legacy Award. She was the 2018–2019 National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature, and in 2015, she was named the Young People’s Poet Laureate by the Poetry Foundation. She received the 2014 National Book Award for her New York Times bestselling memoir Brown Girl Dreaming, which was also a recipient of the Coretta Scott King Award, a Newbery Honor, the NAACP Image Award, and a Sibert Honor. She wrote the adult books Red at the Bone, a New York Times bestseller, and Another Brooklyn, a 2016 National Book Award finalist. Born in Columbus, Ohio, Jacqueline grew up in Greenville, South Carolina, and Brooklyn, New York, and graduated from college with a B.A. in English. She is the author of dozens of award-winning books for young adults, middle graders, and children; among her many accolades, she is a four-time Newbery Honor winner, a four-time National Book Award finalist, and a two-time Coretta Scott King Award winner. Her books include New York Times bestsellers The Day You Begin and Harbor MeThe Other SideEach Kindness, Caldecott Honor book Coming On Home Soon; Newbery Honor winners FeathersShow Way, and After Tupac and D Foster; and Miracle’s Boys, which received the LA Times Book Prize and the Coretta Scott King Award. Jacqueline is also a recipient of the Margaret A. Edwards Award for lifetime achievement for her contributions to young adult literature and a two-time winner of the Jane Addams Children’s Book Award. She lives with her family in Brooklyn, New York.

Tiffany A. Bloomfield

#JacquelineWoodson

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

11 Books to Read for #Blackathon

#Blackathon is just the latest creative and exciting read-a-thon that the bookish online world has brought into our lives! Taking place from February 11th-25th, the goal is to get everyone reading books about (and by!) black and African American people. You can find all of the read-a-thon challenges on the BlackAThon Twitter, but we’ve got a few suggestions for … Continued
See More

Books by Women of Color that You Need to Read This Year

If 2017 was the year of the woman, in 2018 women are keeping that momentum going and taking the world by storm. If the Golden Globes were any indication, women are finally (and rightfully) demanding to have their voices heard. And while we continue to show support from a social and political standpoint, we are also making … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to debut voices such as Patrice Caldwell, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic. … Continued
See More

Your Cheat Sheet to Every Book that Came Out in 2018

Wait…you’re saying it’s almost 2019? ALREADY? Well, then it’s time to take a stroll down Bookish Memory Lane and make sure you haven’t missed out on any of the amazing titles 2018 gave us! via GIPHY January: Rookie on Love by Tavi Gevinson A single-subject anthology about the heart’s most powerful emotion, edited by Rookie creator, … Continued
See More

9 YA Books to Read for #Blackathon2020

It’s February, which means Blackathon is back! #Blackathon2020 is an Afrocentric read-a-thon challenge inspired by Black History Month. Helmed by BookTubers Jesse from Bowties & Books and Lauren from The Novel Lush, Blackathon has created fun opportunities to celebrate books and works by Black and African American authors and creators throughout the entire month of … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in March 2018

Ah, March. Flowers blooming, temperatures rising, and books stacking up! We have SO many great reads this month–from series enders, to tear-jerking standalones, to anniversaries of beloved novels, we’ve truly got it all for you this month!   3/6: Hero at the Fall by Alwyn Hamilton: Rebel of the Sands fans, rejoice! The breathless finale to the … Continued
See More

Artemisia Gentileschi and 8 Other Real Women to Inspire You on International Women’s Day

Today, we celebrate all of the women out there making an impact on lives, past and present. We try to always celebrate women, but today especially, the power of a woman is undeniable. That’s why we’re telling you about 9 real women–some you may know, some you may not–that have been seriously inspirational to us. From seventeenth … Continued
See More

7 Important Books to Celebrate During Black History Month

Black History Month is here, and now, more than ever, we need to celebrate the accomplishments of those who have left a mark on black history and acknowledge that there is still work (and reading!) to do. Luckily, we have a long list of books to explore. Read on for some of our favorite books that … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP