Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

SHARE

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!

 

Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes!

The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae

The-Kinder-Poison

You will laugh. You will cry. You will find yourself seriously debating between #TeamKasta and #TeamJet.

About the book: Perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Holly Black, The Kinder Poison is an enthralling fantasy adventure that follows a teenage girl chosen to be the human sacrifice in a deadly game between three heirs who will do anything for the crown.

 

A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell

phoenix-first-must-burn-cover

If you can’t tell, we love stories here at Penguin Teen. And 16 short stories by 16 amazing authors? Obsessed.

About the book: Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic. With stories by: Elizabeth Acevedo, Amerie, Patrice Caldwell, Dhonielle Clayton, J. Marcelle Corrie, Somaiya Daud, Charlotte Nicole Davis, Justina Ireland, Alaya Dawn Johnson, Danny Lore, L. L. McKinney, Danielle Paige, Rebecca Roanhorse, Karen Strong, Ashley Woodfolk, and Ibi Zoboi.

 

Goddess in the Machine by Lora Beth Johnson

GoddessInTheMachine_ONLINE

We were obsessed with Andra from page one. Get ready for like 7 plot twists you will NOT see coming.

About the book: Andra wakes up from a cryogenic sleep 1,000 years later than she was supposed to, forcing her to team up with an exiled prince to navigate an unfamiliar planet in this smart, thrilling sci-fi adventure, perfect for fans of Renegades and Aurora Rising.

 

The Damned by Renée Ahdieh

The-Damned

One of our most HOTLY anticipated reads. Romance and vampires and New Orleans, oh my!

About the bookThe Damned, Renée’s latest installment in The Beautiful series is just as decadent, thrilling, and mysterious as her last, as she continues her most potent fantasy series yet.

 

War Girls by Tochi Onyebuchi

war-girls-cover

This one came out at the end of 2019, but is on this list because Rebel Sisters is out in just two months! If you haven’t caught up yet, now is the time.

About the book: Two sisters are torn apart by war and must fight their way back to each other in a futuristic, Black Panther-inspired Nigeria.

 

 

Rebelwing by Andrea Tang

rebelwing

Pru may be one of our favorite protagonists of 2020. Smart, sassy, kickass, and very good at flying robotic dragons.

About the book: Set in a wonderfully inventive near-future Washington, D.C., this hilarious, defiant debut sparkles with wit and wisdom, deftly exploring media consumption, personal freedoms, and the weight of one life as Pru, rather reluctantly, takes to the skies.

 

Forged in Fire and Stars by Andrea Robertson

Forged-in-Fire-and-Stars

You know that *feeling* that is picking up a new series? Like the beginning of something you KNOW you’re going to be obsessed with? This one gives us that feeling.

About the bookGames of Thrones meets An Ember in the Ashes in this action-packed fantasy from the internationally bestselling author of the Nightshade series.

 

The Vanishing Deep by Astrid Scholte

vanishing deep

Astrid Scholte stunned us with her genre-bending universe in Four Dead Queens, and she’s back with a new (VERY watery) world in which the dead can be brought back…for a price.

About the book: Tempe dives daily, scavenging the ruins of a bygone era, searching for anything of value to trade for Notes. It isn’t food or clothing that she wants to buy, but her dead sister’s life. Elysea died keeping a terrible secret, one that has ignited an unquenchable fury in Tempe: Her beloved sister was responsible for the death of their parents. Tempe wants to know why.

 

Vicious Spirits by Kat Cho

Vicious-Spirits

We fell madly in love with Miyoung and Jihoon in Wicked Fox. Now, we’re dying to know what comes next–and thankfully, we don’t have to wait long! Vicious Spirits is hitting shelves this month!

About the book: The loss of Miyoung’s fox bead in Wicked Fox has caused a tear between the world of the living and the world of the dead, and ghosts are suddenly flooding the streets of Seoul. The only way to repair the breach is to find the missing fox bead or for Miyoung to pay with her life. With few options remaining, Junu has an idea but it might require the ultimate sacrifice. In usual fashion, Somin may have a thing or two to say about that.

 

Girls Save the World in This One by Ash Parsons

girls-save-the-world-in-this-one

We’re all missing gatherings and festivals, but at least zombies hanging out at the booths aren’t a problem.

About the bookShaun of the Dead meets Clueless in this hilarious YA horror comedy set at a local zombie convention–featuring a teenage girl gang that has to save the world from a horde of actual zombies. Perfect for fans of Geekerella, Undead Girl Gang, and Anna and the Apocalypse.

 

Skywatchers by Carrie Arcos

Skywatchers-Cover

STRANGER THINGS VIBES STRANGER THINGS VIBES STRANGER THINGS VIBES.

About the book: From National Book Award Finalist Carrie Arcos comes a thrilling, genre-bending mystery about the history of the Cold War and the UFO phenomenon. Perfect for fans of In the Woods by Tana French and Netflix’s Stranger Things.

 

 

Love vampire books? Make sure to review the official guide of Do’s and Don’ts when encountering one!

#ShelfGoals

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to debut voices such as Patrice Caldwell, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic. … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

The 2020/2021 books you need to add to your TBR ASAP

Did you join us for Penguin Teen’s 2020/2021 preview show? Here are the books we talked about! Scroll down to read about some of our most anticipated reads!   They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman – July 21, 2020 Gossip Girl meets One of Us Is Lying with a dash of The Secret History in this slick, taut murder mystery … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

Middle Grade Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

  What Lane? by Torrey Maldonado “STAY IN YOUR LANE.” Stephen doesn’t want to hear that–he wants to have no lane.Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak into an abandoned building, he doesn’t think it’s his lane, but he goes. Here’s … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP