Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Best Sisters in YA

SHARE

We love an epic protagonist. But you know who we really need to talk about? The underrated siblings we adore. So here are a few of our favorite sisters in YA!

 

The Girls I’ve Been by Tess Sharpe

girlsivebeen_online

Nora O’Malley’s badass big sis is someone you do NOT want to mess with.

 

The Vanishing Deep by Astrid Scholte

vanishing deep

Sometimes sibling relationships are complicated…especially when it involves bringing your sister back from the dead for 24 hours to find out what happened to your parents.

 

War Girls by Tochi Onyebuchi

war-girls-cover

Onyii and Ify’s love for each other is epic…and heartbreaking (but no spoilers!) If you’re looking for a read that showcases the unbreakable bond between sisters, look no further!

 

Seafire by Natalie C. Parker

Seafire-New-Cover

Because if this book taught us one thing, it is that sisterhood is EVERYTHING.

 

How It All Blew Up by Arvin Ahmadi

How It All Blew Up

Amir’s little sister is possibly one of the most lovable characters in the history of YA.

 

Frankly in Love by David Yoon

Frankly in Love

Can we please talk about Q’s sister, Yvonne? We need a book about Yvonne.

 

We Are the Ashes, We Are the Fire by Joy McCullough

WeAreThe_9780525556053_jkt_all_r1.indd

Em Morales’s fierce love for her sister is unforgettable, and we are here for it.

 

A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy

river of royal blood

No one said being sisters is easy…especially when you’re forced to compete for the throne, and use your magick to fight to the death.

 

The Last Confession of Autumn Casterly by Meredith Tate

TheLastConfessionofAutumnCasterly

We all need a sister like Ivy–especially Autumn.

 

Coming soon…

House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland

HouseOfHollow_BOM_0p.indd

These sisters are otherworldly, and we are OBSESSED. Get ready to meet the Hollow sisters, and step into their world…if you dare.

 

 

 

We just revealed the cover of The Diamond Keeper! Click here to check it out and read an excerpt!

#ShelfGoals

The perfect TBR for fans of enemies to lovers books!

Is enemies to lovers your trope of choice? Here are a few reads featuring hate-to-love couples we can’t help but fall for!     What’s Not to Love by Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-Broka In the game of love, there’s always room for extra creditAn enemies-to-lovers YA rom-com filled with perfect banter, nerdy drama, and … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: FLYY GIRLS #3 – Noelle: The Mean Girl by Ashley Woodfolk

The third installment in Ashley Woodfolk’s Flyy Girls series is here! There are only three things that matter to Noelle Lee: her family, school, and the cello. She doesn’t care if people see her as selfish or mean because she knows she has her priorities in order. That’s why when her dad loses his job, Noelle doesn’t … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of We Are the Ashes, We Are the Fire by Joy McCullough

From the author of the acclaimed Blood Water Paint, a new contemporary YA novel in prose and verse about a girl struggling with guilt and a desire for revenge after her sister’s rapist escapes with no prison time. Scroll down to read an excerpt of Joy McCullough’s We Are the Ashes, We Are the Fire. Content warning: this … Continued
See More

Love triangles we LOVE in YA!

Love a good love triangle? Here are a few of our recommendations if you’re looking for your next love triangle to feel deeply conflicted over!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae Perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Holly Black, The Kinder Poison is an enthralling fantasy adventure that follows a teenage girl chosen to be … Continued
See More

Start reading THE VALLEY AND THE FLOOD

Debut author Rebecca Mahoney delivers an immersive and captivating novel about magical places, found family, the power of grief and memory, and the journey toward reconciling who you think you’ve become with the person you’ve been all along. Scroll down to start reading The Valley and the Flood by Rebecca Mahoney My taillights cut a path down … Continued
See More

Magical reads to snuggle up with

Sometimes, you just need to escape into a book–and a bit of magic (or, you know, a lot) never hurts! So, here are 13 magical reads we recommend you snuggle up with.   Fireborne by Rosaria Munda Game of Thrones meets Red Rising in a debut young adult fantasy that’s full of rivalry, romance . . . and dragons. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: What’s Not to Love

Author couple #Wibbroka is back! What’s Not to Love is an enemies-to-lovers YA romcom filled with perfect banter, nerdy drama, and heart-pounding romance—perfect for fans of Morgan Matson, Emma Lord, and Sandhya Menon. Scroll down to read an excerpt! One I hold my head high, sitting up straight in the passenger seat of my mom’s SUV. Whatever happens, I … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: THE SHADOW WAR

Today we’re sharing an excerpt of Lindsay Smith’s The Shadow War! Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and thrilling tale of power, shadow, and revenge set during World War II. Scroll down to start reading! Chapter One Liam Liam staggered through the storybook village with a fistful of shadows and a mouthful of lies. The whitewashed … Continued
See More

High Stakes Thrillers That Will Keep You Guessing

If you’re looking to escape real life for a bit for some fictional thrills, these high stakes books have everything you need, from pirates to reanimated sisters to assassins! Scroll down for 17 high stakes thrillers that are sure to keep you guessing.   Rebel Sisters by Tochi Onyebuchi A deadly virus is only one … Continued
See More

Start reading THE WIDE STARLIGHT

The Hazel Wood meets The Astonishing Color of After in this dreamy, atmospheric novel that follows sixteen-year-old Eli as she tries to remember what truly happened the night her mother disappeared off a frozen fjord in Norway under the Northern Lights. Scroll down to start reading The Wide Starlight by Nicole Lesperance! I find the letter one slushy February afternoon, … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP