Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

7 Books to Inspire Your Halloween Costume This Year

SHARE

Halloween is quickly approaching, and we are ready! Bring on the costumes, candy, and scares! To help you get in the mood, we have some easy bookish costume suggestions that will make you Halloween ready in no time.

 

Alex & Eliza: A Love Story by Melissa de la Cruz

For a simple Eliza costume, wear a mint green empire waist dress and channel that colonial vibe with a lace shawl. Carry a few love letters from your beloved Alex and you’re all set. If you can find a couple friends to wear similar dresses in pink and yellow, you’ll really be ready to work!

 

Warcross by Marie Lu

A rainbow wig and some cool futuristic sunglasses or googles make a perfect Emika Chen costume.

 

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Channel one of our favorite John Green heroines with this easy ode to Hazel Grace Lancaster: jeans, chucks, and her classic “C’est ne pas une pipe” t-shirt. Bonus points if you make your own copy of “An Imperial Affliction”.

 

The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton

Throw a leather jacket on over a white t-shirt and jeans and stay gold in this perfect costume from The Outsiders.

 

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

Channel sharpshooter Amani with ensemble as cool as she is. Wear a long tunic over fitted brown pants. Add a colorful scarf, a Western-inspired duster or jacket, and a cowboy hat. A couple of toy pistols make you ready to get out of Dustwalk.

 

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Helene’s is one of Blackcliffe Academy’s toughest cadets, and a great bookish costume to boot. Wear all black and top off the look with a spooky silver mask.

 

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

Dress as a St Vladimir’s Academy student in a black or plaid school style skirt, a button up Oxford blouse, and a cardigan or blazer. Don’t forget the fangs!

 

 

 

Looking for some Halloween reading? Check out this list of our #WickedReads and enter to win!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#Bookish

Excerpt Alert: The Kinder Poison

The Kinder Poison is an enthralling fantasy adventure that follows a teenage girl chosen to be the human sacrifice in a deadly game between three heirs who will do anything for the crown. Also, it’s somehow magical, breathtaking, hilarious, and TERRIFYING all at once. Scroll down to read an excerpt! “The gods have woken Sabil’s knife, signaling … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in June

Here’s a sneak peek of what’s hitting shelves this June!   6/2: Jo & Laurie by Melissa de la Cruz and Margaret Stohl – Bestselling authors Margaret Stohl and Melissa de la Cruz bring us a romantic retelling of Little Women starring Jo March and her best friend, the boy next door, Theodore “Laurie” Laurence.   6/2: Beyond … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: Forged in Fire and Stars

Forged in Fire and Stars by Andrea Robertson just hit shelves and we’re sharing an excerpt! Games of Thrones meets An Ember in the Ashes in this action-packed fantasy from the internationally bestselling author of the Nightshade series. Ara has always known the legend of the Loresmith: the blacksmith who served alongside the kings and queens of Saetlund, forging legendary … Continued
See More

Books to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long!

June may be coming to an end, but we hope you remember to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long. Here are just a few reads to look forward to!     Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram – August 25 In this companion to the award-winning Darius the Great Is Not Okay, Darius suddenly has it all: … Continued
See More

Beware: these books will keep you up at night

Spooky season may not be for a little while yet, but we here at Penguin Teen are all about the year-round spooks. So if you’re looking for the next read that’s going to have you either buying a nightlight or bidding sleep adieu altogether, read on! 👻   Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall   … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of VERONA COMICS!

From the author of Hot Dog Girl comes a fresh and funny queer YA contemporary novel about two teens who fall in love in an indie comic book shop. Scroll down to read an excerpt of Verona Comics! Chapter One Jubilee “You look like you’re being tortured,” Jayla says. “This is supposed to be fun.” Easy to … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: The Boy in the Red Dress

In continuation of our #ReadPrideAndBeyond celebration, we’re sharing an excerpt from The Boy in the Red Dress by Kristin Lambert, a rollicking romp of truth, lies, and troubled pasts. New Year’s Eve, 1929. Millie is running the show at the Cloak & Dagger, a swinging speakeasy in the French Quarter, while her aunt is out of town. The new … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of They Wish They Were Us!

They Wish They Were Us is one of 2020’s hottest upcoming books and we need to talk.about.it. Imagine this: Gossip Girl + One of Us Is Lying with just a dash of The Secret History. That gives us this thrilling murder mystery set against the backdrop of an exclusive prep school on Long Island. Scroll down to read the excerpt!   Chapter … Continued
See More

Black Booktubers You Should Be Following

Here is a list of just a few of the Black booktubers you should definitely be following.   Books with Brandie Shanae Follow here   Britney, Melanin Eclectic Follow here   Ochuole, Oh She Reads Follow here   Myonna, Myonna Reads Follow here   Peta-Gay, Comfy Cozy Up Follow here   Justin, Ghost Reader Follow … Continued
See More

Read the first 4 chapters of BEYOND THE BREAK

For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, if you count her faith… and that’s where things may get complicated. Scroll down to read the excerpt! Chapter One The first time a guy felt me up was in the … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP