Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Book recs for the Greek Gods

SHARE

In case you didn’t know, Lovely War by Julie Berry is a masterpiece of the Greek Gods intervening in two sweeping love stories caught in the crossfire of World War II. There, we meet Aphrodite, on trial and defending her decision to intervene amongst the mortals in the midsts of Ares, Hephaestus, Apollo, and Hades. Although each of these grand characters (and their absolutely priceless banter) each deserve their own book, we thought we’d at least recommend some reads for everyone in Lovely War, from the ever-hopeful Aphrodite to the grimly humorous Hades.

 

Aphrodite – Frankly in Love by David Yoon

Frankly-in-Love-COVER

She’s got a thing for love stories, okay? We have ZERO doubts that this goddess had quite a hand in Frank’s troublesome love life. She just can’t resist a good love triangle.

About the book: Two friends. One fake dating scheme. What could possibly go wrong? As Frank falls in love for the very first time, he’s forced to confront the fact that while his parents sacrificed everything to raise him in the land of opportunity, their traditional expectations don’t leave a lot of room for him to be a regular American teen. Desperate to be with Brit without his parents finding out, Frank turns to family friend Joy Song. Together, they come up with a plan to help each other and keep their parents off their backs. Out September 10th!

 

Ares – A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy

RiverofRoyalBlood_CV_ONLINE

We know we got your attention with that title, Ares. A fight to the death? Yup. There’s no way Ares would miss out on a story full of quick thinking, dangerous magic, and of course, battle.

About the book: A River of Royal Blood is an enthralling debut set in a lush North African inspired fantasy world that subtly but powerfully challenges our notions of power, history, and identity. Out October 29th!

 

Hephaestus – The Afterward by E.K. Johnston

Afterward

There’s no question about it, the god of fire and metalworking would love to have a hand in the story of these fierce lady warriors.

About the book: Both girls think their paths are laid out, but the godsgem isn’t quite done with them and that new golden age isn’t a sure thing yet. In a tale both sweepingly epic and intensely personal, Kalanthe and Olsa fight to maintain their newfound independence and to find their way back to each other.

 

Apollo – Seafire by Natalie C. Parker

Seafire-New-Cover

Basically, Apollo is all about leveling up. Whether it’s knowledge, art, or medicine, his motto is to be the best of the best. That’s why he would be totally down for all things Seafire and the strong ambitions of the Mors Navis captain, Caledonia.

About the book: After her family is killed by corrupt warlord Aric Athair and his bloodthirsty army of Bullets, Caledonia Styx is left to chart her own course on the dangerous and deadly seas. She captains her ship, the Mors Navis, with a crew of girls and women just like her, who have lost their families and homes because of Aric and his men. The crew has one mission: stay alive, and take down Aric’s armed and armored fleet.

 

Hades – The Haunted by Danielle Vega

TheHaunted

Not really sure we need to explain this one, but long story short, the god of the Underworld would probably be a big fan of the scary shenanigans happening in Steele House. Tbh he might even be behind them.

About the book: Hendricks Becker-O’Malley doesn’t think the small town her parents moved her to has much to offer her in terms of excitement, until she learns that Steele House–the fixer upper her parents are so excited about–is notorious in town. Local legend says it’s haunted. Voices whisper in her ear as she lays in bed. Doors lock on their own. And, then, one night, things take a violent turn.

 

BONUS ROUND: You know what? The mortals from Lovely War deserve book recs too.

Hazel – The Downstairs Girl by Stacey Lee

TheDownstairsGirl

Hazel is noble, clever, and ambitious. She has a lot in common with the protagonist of Stacey Lee’s The Downstairs Girl.

About the book: A powerful novel about identity, betrayal, and the meaning of family. By day, seventeen-year-old Jo Kuan works as a lady’s maid for the cruel Caroline Payne, the daughter of one of the wealthiest men in Atlanta. But by night, Jo moonlights as the pseudonymous author of a newspaper advice column for “the genteel Southern lady”, using the power of the pen to address some of society’s ills, but is not prepared for the backlash that follows when her column challenges fixed ideas about race and gender. Out August 18th, 2019!

 

James – All for One by Melissa de la Cruz

AllForOne

James may be a soldier, but as we (and Aphrodite) well know, he has a soft heart, and we think he’d be a total sucker for Alex and Eliza’s romance.

About the book: In this dazzling finale to the trilogy that began with the New York Timesbestselling Alex & Eliza: A Love Story, the curtain closes on the epic romance of Alexander Hamilton and Elizabeth Schuyler

 

Collette – LOVELY. WAR. BY JULIE BERRY.

LovelyWar1

Ok, yes, we know this is the book SHE’S IN. But we just need Collette to read this so she knows the love of her life is OKAY and NOT DEAD.

 

Aubrey – Night Music by Jenn Marie Thorne

NightMusic

Aubrey lives and breathes music. Besides that, he’s a total charmer who loves to laugh. Night Music is the perfect romcom for hopeless romantic musicians!

About the book: A romantic comedy that sweeps you up with breezy writing and canny social commentary, set behind the scenes of the classical music world during one hot, anything-can-happen, New York City summer. And did we mention the stunning glimpse into the classical music scene?

 

 

 

Can’t believe it’s already July? Check out all the amazing reads hitting shelves this month!

#Bookish

Excerpt Alert: THE BEST LAID PLANS

We are already SWOONING over Cameron Lund’s debut, The Best Laid Plans. This hilarious and heartfelt story follows Keely Collins as she takes on first loves, first friends, and first times in this sweet, sex-positive rom-com for fans of Meg Cabot and Jenny Han. Let’s get to the excerpt! CHAPTER THREE “Now that I’m a woman, … Continued
See More

Your Historical Fiction TBR

If you’re always on the lookout for that special book that transports to an older world the second you turn the page, we have a few recommendations you’ll definitely want on your list! Welcome to your historical fiction TBR!   Orphan Monster Spy by Matt Killeen This is the fast-paced immersive thriller read you need to … Continued
See More

Best of Bookstagram: All the Days Past, All the Days to Come

It is only JANUARY and one thing is very clear: 2020 is raising the bar on covers across the board. Exhibit A: All the Days Past, All the Days to Come. Aside from being an incredible read and long-awaited finale to the Logan Family series, this book is just plain beautiful. Here are some of … Continued
See More

Best of Bookstagram: THE VANISHING DEEP

It’s time for Best of Bookstagram! We’ve been seeing a lot of gorgeous photos of Astrid Scholte’s new novel, The Vanishing Deep, as well as the GORGEOUS glow-up of her debut Four Dead Queens, and couldn’t help but share some of our favorites! The Vanishing Deep follows seventeen-year-old Tempe, who was born into a world of water. When the … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: SOURCES SAY by Lori Goldstein

Cover reveal time! Sources Say by Lori Goldstein is a funny, heartfelt novel about feuding exes running for class president and the scandal that makes the previously boring school election the newest trending hashtag. Two exes. One election. All the drama. At Acedia High School outside of Boston, student council has always been nothing more than a popularity contest. Nobody … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of They Wish They Were Us!

They Wish They Were Us is one of 2020’s hottest upcoming books and we need to talk.about.it. Imagine this: Gossip Girl + One of Us Is Lying with just a dash of The Secret History. That gives us this thrilling murder mystery set against the backdrop of an exclusive prep school on Long Island. Scroll down to read the excerpt!     … Continued
See More

Why THE CONFERENCE OF THE BIRDS needs to be on your shelf NOW

Hey book friends! It’s James from Penguin Teen, and I’m back to share why I picked The Conference of the Birds as my book of the month for January! Here’s our book haul for this month, in case you haven’t had a chance to watch it yet:   Where are my Peregrine fans at? This … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: THE AFTERWARD by E.K. Johnston got a glow-up!

If you fell head over heels for the romantic high fantasy The Afterward last year from E.K. Johnston, bestselling author of Star Wars: Ahsoka and Exit, Pursued by a Bear, then GET READY! Because it’s making a comeback with an all new cover and it. is. STUNNING! Are your eyeballs ready? Yes? Here you go. I KNOW RIGHT?! In … Continued
See More

Why you need to read DEVIL DARLING SPY like ASAP

Hey everyone! Joy from Penguin Teen here to talk about my favorite read of this month, Devil Darling Spy. In case you missed this month’s book haul, I’ll leave it below! ON WITH THE BOOK. In case this if the first time you’re hearing about it, Devil Darling Spy is the sequel to Orphan Monster Spy–and before you say anything, … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: FLY LIKE A GIRL

Happy #FridayReads! This week, we’re reading Fly Girl Like a Girl by Mary Jennings Hegar, the inspiring true story of a brave and determined woman who gave her all for her country, her sense of justice, and for women everywhere. Soon to be a major motion picture! Scroll down to read the excerpt. PROLOGUE I glanced out the … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP